We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Salzburg and surrounding area”
Review of Altstadthotel Wolf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altstadthotel Wolf
Ranked #75 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Well-located and clean, the family run Hotel Wolf was a perfect base for our trip to Salzburg. It is basic but friendly and there is a pleasant atmosphere in the historic building. The beds were comfortable. A carafe of tap water was left in our room each day. The continental breakfast was good. The hotel has a lift. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa21605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Wolf and we enjoyed it again. We had not been there since 2001 and were concerned if maybe the hotel would have changed hands or not been up to the standards we enjoyed previously. We were not disappointed. The bathrooms in our rooms (we traveled with another couple) had been renovated recently. I wanted to take the shower head home with us. The staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. The location of the hotel cannot be beat; on a quiet street one-half block from Mozart Square. Everything (except the train station) is within walking distance. The train station is a short cab ride - about 7 Euro. Lots of nice restaurants within 2-3 blocks.

Room Tip: The shower in room number 30 (I think) is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuditMan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Boring unfriendly place.
Not helpful. No mini bar. No hotel feeling.
And 1 hour later checkout was not possible.
Don't go there!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fmfm1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Wolf in Salzburg for 3 nights in mid Dec. 2011 and we could not have found a more quaint and charming hotel for our vacation.
Hotel Wolf is in Old Town Salzburg or Allstadt, and was literally located 3 minutes from the main Christmas market in MozartPlaztz and only 5 minutes walk from a charming alleyway that went on and on and had hundreds of shops and dining establishments.
The location was perfect!
Privately owned and meticulously kept by the owners, an older couple, who set out a very generous breakfast each morning and personally brought us a pot of coffee and cups to our table. Very nice!
The hotel is in a building that was originally built in 1077 AD and converted to commericial use as a hotel in the 1940's. The rooms were very very nice and clean. The cleaning staff was invisible but got the job done every day.
Hotel Wolf is an excellent choice if you want to be in the heart of old Salzburg.
We can't wait to go back and would stay in Hotel Wolf again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hipspanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I had a lovely stay here. The room was tiny but was very clean and ok for what I needed. My only complaint about the room was that the bathroom was extraordinarily small. On the flip side the staff were just lovely and quite helpful - the breakfast was great and the lady serving at breakfast (I'm sorry not to remember her name but she was an older lady if I can be forgiven for saying that) was absolutely beautiful! So kind and very attentive! Thank you :)
It was a good location once I got my bearings and not too far to catch a bus - and very easy to go and wander the streets shopping and looking for some dinner. The best thing was it was definitely value for money - one of the cheaper rates I had in Europe which I was surprised included the breakfast. The icing on the cake was the lovely lady I mentioned who I asked if I may buy some mineral water to take on my Sound of Music tour - and she couldn't have tried to help more - bless her heart she came running back with a huge bottle of sparkling mineral water knowing it was what I preferred!
Whilst there was no wifi (adding this would be a fabulous bonus) I was able to use the computer in the breakfast/lounge area at the front of the hotel up until they closed the office at around 9 each night.
Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle_Ame_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Small hotel with lots of charm and helpful staff. Great location, wonderful breakfast. Quaint feeling public spaces with modern sleeping rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A very clean and central place to stay in Salzburg. Close to the tourist office in the main square and choice of shops and restaurants. Stayed only one night but enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. Free internet and simple and nutritious breakfast.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Guru57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#33 of 132 in Salzburg
1,047 reviews
0.4 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neutor
Hotel Neutor
#117 of 132 in Salzburg
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Wolf

Address: Kaigasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £111 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Wolf 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altstadthotel Wolf in the Heart of Salzburg The oldest parts of the building date back to around 1429, the first documentary mention of this town house. After a wide variety of owners, the building came into the possession of the current owner's family in 1899, when Erentraut Rottensteiner's grandparents bought the house for 24.000.- Gulden. The hotel started out as an inn and tavern, and has since been continually restored and modernized, while always carefully maintaining the historical fabric of the heritage-listed building. A lift and modern bathrooms were added, and each room individually and comfortably furnished to create a very special atmosphere to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Altstadthotel Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing