We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Directly in Altstadt”
Review of Altstadthotel Wolf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altstadthotel Wolf
Ranked #69 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Good hotel, not the greatest but many good things to report. Although the hotel is in the center of the action but it's pretty quiet on Kaigasse in May. The large windows open to allow for fresh air, there is a small flat screen TV, we did not turn it on however. Our double room was small but one does not go to Salzburg to hang around the room. Hotel amenities were limited (soaps, wash clothes etc.) The hotel/pension is clean. The breakfast was good with many fine items presented. Good coffee and plenty of it. The hotel itself is quiet, prices are very reasonable for Salzburg. Norbert at reception turned us on to great dining 50 meters away at Zirkelwirt, inside or outside tables. Fresh items and service was exceptional. Walk out the front door and you are in the center of things, Salzburg never really changes but it never abuses it's visitors, it feels like home only better. Salzburg card is sold at the hotel which is very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordykathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon last spring, and we had a fantastic time. The pros: the location of Hotel Wolf is totally ideal. It is in the charming old town with no cars, pedestrians only, so it is authentic and quiet. It's right near the Mozartplatz, with views of the castle and easy walking distance to all the best spots. The hotel is small, charming, and beautiful. The breakfast buffet was great, the staff very helpful, and there's even a cute live-in Dachshund doggie who can be seen wandering around the lobby area. The only potential downsides: the rooms are small (didn't bother me), the bathroom was not very private because the door/walls were frosted glass and an open ceiling leading to the rest of the room so you can hear everything (also didn't bother me, but would have if I had been staying with anyone else). Also, because it is in a pedestrian only zone, be VERY careful when planning to arrive by car. We had a rental car and GPS, but I didn't plan ahead to check on the parking and arrival situation, which led to our GPS leading us on a wild goosechase disaster situation where we drove in circles around and around the city, trying to find the entrance. There is a password code entry to be allowed to park in front of the hotel, unload baggage, and then drive back around to the parking garage. It took us forever to figure this out, and after much frustration I had to call the front desk of the hotel, nearly in tears, and decipher their directions. Thank goodness for their help, we finally found the right street and from then on everything was fine. But don't do like I did -- plan ahead with a detailed map and instructions. Other than that our stay here was ideal and the price was good. I would definitely stay at the Hotel Wolf again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allyneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our trip to Salzburg was made even better by the choice of Hotel Wolf. It is right in the middle of Alstadt (Old Town), and the atmosphere was just great. The hotel is steps from the museum and good Austrian food. It was quite economical and easy to get to via bus from the train station. The room itself had a nice table for workspace or snacks, and the bathroom was modern and clean. The managers Norbert and Wolfgang were very helpful in getting us tickets, maps and advice for our visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This charming hotel is located right in the historic center of Slazburg. Our double room was simple but lovely with a view onto the quiet street. The bathroom was impressive - one of the largest of all our European hotels, with a large shower and a beautiful tile mosaic mural. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the main train station, but easy to navigate if you don't have luggage with you. If I make it back to Salzburg we're staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andriana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I actually really enjoyed this hotel. Norbert was a gem as well as the owner. However the wife was a bit cold but I was able to overlook that until two guests on my final day told me about an incident. Poor Donna, the hotel mascot (dachshund), was having seizures. Apparently these two ladies witnessed the wife abusing Donna and were afaid to report her peeing in the foyer. I was personaly horrified and as a result could never return to this quaint hotel. As a pet owner myself, I cannot overlook the incident.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Well-located and clean, the family run Hotel Wolf was a perfect base for our trip to Salzburg. It is basic but friendly and there is a pleasant atmosphere in the historic building. The beds were comfortable. A carafe of tap water was left in our room each day. The continental breakfast was good. The hotel has a lift. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa21605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Wolf and we enjoyed it again. We had not been there since 2001 and were concerned if maybe the hotel would have changed hands or not been up to the standards we enjoyed previously. We were not disappointed. The bathrooms in our rooms (we traveled with another couple) had been renovated recently. I wanted to take the shower head home with us. The staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. The location of the hotel cannot be beat; on a quiet street one-half block from Mozart Square. Everything (except the train station) is within walking distance. The train station is a short cab ride - about 7 Euro. Lots of nice restaurants within 2-3 blocks.

Room Tip: The shower in room number 30 (I think) is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuditMan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#33 of 132 in Salzburg
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Wolf

Address: Kaigasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £110 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Wolf 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altstadthotel Wolf in the Heart of Salzburg The oldest parts of the building date back to around 1429, the first documentary mention of this town house. After a wide variety of owners, the building came into the possession of the current owner's family in 1899, when Erentraut Rottensteiner's grandparents bought the house for 24.000.- Gulden. The hotel started out as an inn and tavern, and has since been continually restored and modernized, while always carefully maintaining the historical fabric of the heritage-listed building. A lift and modern bathrooms were added, and each room individually and comfortably furnished to create a very special atmosphere to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Altstadthotel Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing