We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and nice”
Review of Hotel Wolf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wolf
Ranked #79 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well located and nice”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nice clean hotel in the center of Salzburg. Room was clean the and staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Location is perfect, driving is a pain, however the work with you. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    45
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
37
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Altstadt location but in a quiet street. Friendly staff who were very helpful. Breakfast was a delight. Small, cosy room perfect for single occupancy. Everything we wanted to visit was on the doorstep. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 11 perfect for single occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The location in the middle of the Altstadt is the key to this hotel. The prices are good value for Salzburg, and the rooms are clean if small-ish but more than adequate. The coffee at breakfast was good, and aside from a decent muesli the breakfast offering was limited. That said, there's a large variety of food offerings nearby. The staff is accomodating.
No problem recommending this to people there to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newfoundlander709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
419 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Walk out the front door and begin your exploration of this amazing pedestrian friendly city. Car traffic is limited to before 11am daily, only cabs can enter to drop off of pick up riders. Which makes walking around and gazing into the many beautiful storefronts a dream.This hotel is very conveniently located, very clean & we had a nice room. I did feel they fell short on breakfast however. Not much to say as there wasn't much out daily as compared to the various other Romantik Hotels we stayed at during this trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghent, new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Good hotel, not the greatest but many good things to report. Although the hotel is in the center of the action but it's pretty quiet on Kaigasse in May. The large windows open to allow for fresh air, there is a small flat screen TV, we did not turn it on however. Our double room was small but one does not go to Salzburg to hang around the room. Hotel amenities were limited (soaps, wash clothes etc.) The hotel/pension is clean. The breakfast was good with many fine items presented. Good coffee and plenty of it. The hotel itself is quiet, prices are very reasonable for Salzburg. Norbert at reception turned us on to great dining 50 meters away at Zirkelwirt, inside or outside tables. Fresh items and service was exceptional. Walk out the front door and you are in the center of things, Salzburg never really changes but it never abuses it's visitors, it feels like home only better. Salzburg card is sold at the hotel which is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordykathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon last spring, and we had a fantastic time. The pros: the location of Hotel Wolf is totally ideal. It is in the charming old town with no cars, pedestrians only, so it is authentic and quiet. It's right near the Mozartplatz, with views of the castle and easy walking distance to all the best spots. The hotel is small, charming, and beautiful. The breakfast buffet was great, the staff very helpful, and there's even a cute live-in Dachshund doggie who can be seen wandering around the lobby area. The only potential downsides: the rooms are small (didn't bother me), the bathroom was not very private because the door/walls were frosted glass and an open ceiling leading to the rest of the room so you can hear everything (also didn't bother me, but would have if I had been staying with anyone else). Also, because it is in a pedestrian only zone, be VERY careful when planning to arrive by car. We had a rental car and GPS, but I didn't plan ahead to check on the parking and arrival situation, which led to our GPS leading us on a wild goosechase disaster situation where we drove in circles around and around the city, trying to find the entrance. There is a password code entry to be allowed to park in front of the hotel, unload baggage, and then drive back around to the parking garage. It took us forever to figure this out, and after much frustration I had to call the front desk of the hotel, nearly in tears, and decipher their directions. Thank goodness for their help, we finally found the right street and from then on everything was fine. But don't do like I did -- plan ahead with a detailed map and instructions. Other than that our stay here was ideal and the price was good. I would definitely stay at the Hotel Wolf again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our trip to Salzburg was made even better by the choice of Hotel Wolf. It is right in the middle of Alstadt (Old Town), and the atmosphere was just great. The hotel is steps from the museum and good Austrian food. It was quite economical and easy to get to via bus from the train station. The room itself had a nice table for workspace or snacks, and the bathroom was modern and clean. The managers Norbert and Wolfgang were very helpful in getting us tickets, maps and advice for our visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
#93 of 132 in Salzburg
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf

Property: Hotel Wolf
Address: Kaigasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing