We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location,location,location”
Review of Hotel Wolf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wolf
Ranked #80 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“location,location,location”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Nice, little place perfectly situated in Salzburg. You walk right out into the middle of everything. The place is small but really satisfactory by all measures for a couple. Clean and in excellent repair despite being 600 years old! Wifi only in the breakfast room and lobby. Breakfast quite good. The desk help could have been a little bit more attentive but that was easy to overlook. We would recommend this as a good value and a convenient stay in Salzburg.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank patnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    45
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
37
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our family of 6 felt very lucky to stay in 2 of this lovely, super clean boutique hotel's 16 rooms last month! We added extra beds to each of our 2 rooms, which naturally made the rooms feel a little tight. We didn't mind, though, because we were out seeing the sights of Salzburg continuously!The warm local owner and front desk staff were engaging, helpful, kind and patient.

This charming, unique hotel is perfectly located in oldtown (Alstadt) Salzburg. It's about 60 paces from Mozart Square, across the street from an acclaimed, small modern modern art museum and within an easy walk to restaurants (such as 220, which has fabulous coffee, great breakfast and lunch). Healthy and fresh breakfast self-served at the Hotel Wolf til 10, crisp white tablecloths, and the owner himself serves rich, freshly brewed coffee, tea and cocoa with a warm smile. The beds were comfortable, our rooms a little small (the hotel was built around 1362), bathrooms updated.

One feature we really appreciated is that the hotel closes their front door at 9 pm, thus entry only by room key thereafter.(The owner lives on site, so in case of emergency he will awaken to answer the door after 9.)

If you like dogs, you're also sure to love "Wolf" whom we only discovered as we were leaving. Wolf (the owner's small dog) played easily with the kids as we were checking out.)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMarie88_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A clean and comfortable hotel just around the corner from Mozart Square. Only a couple of grouses. The windows were difficult to open until we were shown the trick. The bathroom was good, with the strange exception of the mirror - the magnifying portion was curiously positioned over the toilet, and therefore not very useful. Apart from these minor points, all was well. Nice breakfast, catering for all tastes. Platters were constantly refilled. The staff were extremely helpful, even providing a flask of coffee for my husband when he had a very early start. Taxis were ordered and were punctual. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You can see the castle (just) from room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVWA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in June, had a great location for exploring the old town and the quad room really worked well for us. The staff was friendly and helpful, only one small error on a local laundry mat but that was not really their fault. Breakfast was great and we thought the variety was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in room 30 at the front of the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right in the old Salzburg area and near a bus stop for public transportation. Also, our Sound of Music tour company picked us up almost at the front door. The staff person who greeted us was very friendly and even confirmed our reservations with the tour company! The breakfast was continental style, but offered a nice variety. I wish we stayed longer here, and if we ever come back this way, we will definitely stay at Hotel Wolf.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DV52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nice clean hotel in the center of Salzburg. Room was clean the and staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Location is perfect, driving is a pain, however the work with you. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Altstadt location but in a quiet street. Friendly staff who were very helpful. Breakfast was a delight. Small, cosy room perfect for single occupancy. Everything we wanted to visit was on the doorstep. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 11 perfect for single occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
#94 of 132 in Salzburg
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf

Property: Hotel Wolf
Address: Kaigasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altstadthotel Wolf in the Heart of Salzburg The oldest parts of the building date back to around 1429, the first documentary mention of this town house. After a wide variety of owners, the building came into the possession of the current owner's family in 1899, when Erentraut Rottensteiner's grandparents bought the house for 24.000.- Gulden. The hotel started out as an inn and tavern, and has since been continually restored and modernized, while always carefully maintaining the historical fabric of the heritage-listed building. A lift and modern bathrooms were added, and each room individually and comfortably furnished to create a very special atmosphere to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing