We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School: hair-shirt carpeting and chocolate cake soap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Old School: hair-shirt carpeting and chocolate cake soap”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I hate paying exorbitant prices unless the hotel has something exorbitant to offer, like the bed where Ann Boleyn slept before her wedding night or a private beach where you can swim with clownfish or a view of Machu Picchu at dawn. What the Sacher in Salzburg has to offer is a kind of chocolate truffle cake the secret recipe of which was enough to catapult the humble Herr Sacher to the position of one of the great hoteliers of the world.
So they have sacher torte at breakfast, lunch and dinner and even the soap is chocolate-cake infused.
Everything is pretty impeccable and it must take a lot of effort to keep all those trimmings up to scratch, although I noticed that the trim on one of our chairs was starting to come unstuck tut tut..
On the other hand for some unaccountable reason as if to provide an antidote to all the dowager trappings, they have chosen to carpet the bedrooms in the coarsest kind of fibre matting. It was actually unpleasant to walk on the floor barefoot if not downright painful and although they provided dressing gowns and slippers, these were, as one has come to expect, designed for creatures of an extremely petite stature and foot size... so unusable.
Apart from the floor-covering there was nothing actually wrong with the place, except the jaw-dropping bill, and I came to like Sacher Torte for breakfast. But I wouldn't recommend this place for anyone under the age of 80.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bin-Derdundhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    277
    72
    33
    24
See reviews for
275
749
54
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here June 25, 2013, just recently. I heavily rely on reviews from Trip Advisor and did so when booking this hotel but unfortunately I do not agree with most reviews like I usually find that I do. I travel alot so I've come to find that most of the time the reviews are spot on but not so in this case. While the location was good, the exterior and lobby were very impressive, the room did not meet the same standards. While the bed was comfortable, the room was outdated. Approaching the room, once leaving the lobby, I smelled very musty smells and viewed stained, worn carpet. It was a little warm in the room and it was raining outside so we did not open the window however, there was air conditioning. We turned it on and went to bed but it was either not working or insufficient. We did however, have a river view but for us, that did not compensate for the other issues. The breakfast buffet was very good. We ate in the dinner restaurant once and found it to be quite overpriced compared to other restaurants in the area and the food was underwhelming. In summary, we would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone because there are many other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your effort to tell us about your visit here on TripAdvisor.
As a Leading Hotel of the World, direct guest-feedback is much importuned for us to improve continuously guest’s needs and expectations.

I´m very sorry that we did not meet completely your satisfaction with your provided guest room. Please allow me to express my sincerely apologize. Unfortunately we did not know about your dissatisfaction during your stay as we are always aimed to meet guest expectations at any time and make there stay as convenient as possible. However I will follow up on your remarks very carefully as well as with highest attentiveness to prevent any future occurrence.

Dear Guest, thank you again for telling us about your recent stay and your time. We are really hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future and to assure you that our quality of hard- & software matches highest standards as well as that you can agree with the huge positive comments here on TripAdvisor!

Sincerely

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have been three times to Salzburg in the last four years and this time, last month we stayed at the Sacher. The right decision, we had a charming room with a balcony and a view of the river (through the trees). Although not a suite the sitting and sleeping areas were separate. with two chairs and and easy chair together with footstool and a large table. A great marble bathroom. The complimentary fruit was a nice touch.

There was a wide selection at the buffet breakfasts and you can order fried eggs sunny side up on toast with ham or bacon, poached eggs on toast and omelets with various ingredients, all cooked specially for you, not prepared beforehand to lie around getting cold! I liked the porridge

To be honest, although the food at dinner was generally good to excellent, we found some of the dishes not to our liking. That may have been a case of choosing the wrong dish. We had some of our evening meals in the Cafe Sacher which were less formal but nevertheless enjoyable.

The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly, attentive and professional. Any minor problem was quickly addressed.

Unfortunately, unlike our previous visits the weather was very wet with only a couple of days when it was dry enough to walk around without an umbrella (provided by the hotel).

The public rooms are magnificent.

Would certainly recommend the Hotel Sacher.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggiessupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Sacher is most famous hotel of Austria. however Sacher vienna is very expensive. here is more cheaper. hotel is at a good location, on the the band of river, very close to the garden and Mozart birth place. service is good, all staff are very friendly. the only disappointed thing is hotel always full, even I request river view when i made reservation, I cannot get a river view room when I check in. however, you can enjoy the river view in the breakfast restaurant, remember go there as early as possible, or all the river view desk will be full... don't try sacher cake anywhere anytime but breakfast here, it's offered everyday.

Room Tip: river view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_Ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Positive
Great Location
Excellent Service
Good restaurant

Negative
Old bathrooms
Room needs more light
Rooms need update
Some employees don't speak or understand english

The Sacher is the best in Salzburg!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Reviewer!

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for taking the time to give us a review regarding your recent stay here on Tripadvisor. Direct guest feedback is most important for us to improve continuously guest needs and expectations.

It is very nice to learn, that you liked the great location of our hotel as well as that you enjoyed our in style and culinary different in-house restaurants. With great pleasure I well pass your very kind feedback to the well trained entire Sacher Team.
On the other hand I am really sorry that we did not meet completely your satisfaction with your guest room. Most of our guest rooms and public areas are already renovated and we are on an ongoing process to refurbish in the nearest future again guest rooms to improve the standard for you, our guests.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for staying at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. We would be very grateful if you are willing to give us another opportunity to show you that we have done a lot of refurbishments already and provide you again with excellent service and hospitality.

Kindest regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in may. Great river view. Very clean classic room. Good service. Tiny bathroom. Enjoyed sacher cake in the cafe. Will be back for the location but will try the modern renovated room. Didn't like the two tiny douvets on the king bed

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adorable79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

It's a fancy 5 star hotel. But if you get a room on the street side (which is what I paid for with the internet price, $318 non refundable), it's very noisy, because it sits on the busiest street. To move to the quiet, view side (facing the river), the price will almost double. So we got stuck... The good news: location is good.

Room Tip: Don't book on the internet, if you can avoid it. Drive arround the city and find your hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nianchen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Reviewer!

Thank you very much for your open feedback to tell us about your recent stay here on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry that we did not meet completely your satisfaction regarding noise from the street at your guest room. As a city hotel it is self-evident that all of our guest rooms are provided with soundproofing windows. However it is correct, the absolutely quite side of the hotel is to the river side. For your next stay please let us know you preferences in advance to make sure that your stay will be as comfortable as possible.

Dear reviewer thank you once more for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you another time at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Property: Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing