We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like very traditional hotels, this is a great address”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in the Hotel SAcher for a company event - it probably wouldn't be my choice privately.

- the check in was excellent and the valet parking worked extremely well
- the hotel staff were really efficient at all times as well as friendly
- WLAN worked perfectly in my room, although some colleagues complained about bad reception - I expect this is to do with thick walls in old buildings etc
- my room was huge: the traditional /old fashioned style is not really my taste but I know a lot of people like this. Everything in teh bathroom worked and was very clean
- great breakfast buffet although sometimes the service was little bit slow (we were a big group though)
- location is ideal for visiting the old city

Room Tip: If possible, go for one of the corner rooms as these seem to be much bigger and have more windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cavey_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just a swift stopover on return from skiing and so loved the Sacher for it's old school elegance. Yes there is work/refurbishment happening, but we didn't hear or have any impact from it - well other than the lovely pieces of cake and chocolates in our room for the inconvenience - a lovely touch.
The staff were so helpful with helping me book somewhere for dinner - cocktail bar was fab, and best of all was breakfast! Outstanding setup and attention to detail. So wish I had taken some pics of the buffet :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuffinManMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

You simply cannot go wrong with the Sacher when in Salzburg. Smoky wood fires, live piano music, gilt-edged ceilings, sumptuous wall hangings, plush furniture, exemplary food, exotic malts and fine champagnes... all set right on the banks of the Salzach River, in the very heart of Salzburg (within walking distance from the charming old town market and main museums).

The rooms are all cozy and comfy and utterly traditional – no generic chrome fittings or modernistic flourishes here. There are fine parquet floors, specially made savonnerie rugs, antiques, precious paintings, designer wallpaper, rich fabrics and state-of-the-art technology. The top rooms offer marble bathrooms and private sitting areas, while the river-facing ones (available at a premium) provide some of Salzburg's most idyllic views.

And while all the restaurants are lovely in an old world manner (which means you really, really need to dress up for a meal!) top points go to the Café Sacher, where you can enjoy the original Sacher-Torte in a typical Austrian coffee house atmosphere.

Oh! And you HAVE to drop by and say hello to Gerhard Reinisch, Chief Concierge, who regularly accomplishes the seemingly impossible. Looking for that elusively rare souvenir, want to book a seat at a packed concert or seeking advise on a path less trodden? He's your guy!

Actually, the entire staff is superb. Eventually, it's the old world graciousness of this hotel that keeps you going back for more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anubhacharan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed an extra night rather than return to Vienna because we loved Salzburg and the hotel. The staff are friendly, jolly and unpretentious. This is definitely not a low cost stay, the rooms are small but wonderful and the atmosphere is first class. Breakfast is very good but also very expensive...So eat a lot and skip lunch.The location is really good and it is simple to access the old town. The bar is atmospheric, though we had to listen to an arrogant unpleasant young brit pretending to be something he wasn't at full volume!
The ONLY thing I want to complain about is the smoking in the public areas of bars and restaurants. This is everywhere in Austria but is particularly unpleasant in very expensive hotel restaurants and bars, it even drifts up the central atrium and is the first smell of the morning, definitely not pleasant and should be stopped as in the rest of Europe!

Room Tip: try to ask for a room overlooking the river as the road can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on the final leg of our European tour before heading back to Sydney. We arrived into Salzburg via train from Dusseldorf and taxi to the hotel which was about 10-15 mins. Hotel is in a great location, short walk to the old city where you can find lots of places to eat, drink and shop. The castle is a great place to go just for the view over the city...perfect. The hotel room was very nice and clean. Bathroom shower was a little awkward because my partner 6'3" but it was ok..Staff very friendly and the restaurant is superb as was the service. and of course this is the place of the original Sacher Torte, a must to try for anyone staying at the hotel. I also like the fact that if you have dogs you can take your pet as well for a daily rate. When we left the hotel we took a taxi to the airport for our flight to London, also a short journey. I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to stay in this beautiful city..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It is very well located next to the river in Salzburg, the hotel is old and very cozy, the rooms are small, but really nice, with an old flavor as well, definetely you feel like you are in Austria, I was here on business, so I did not have time to use the Spa which everyone was recommending, breakfast was fabulous, a lot to choose from the buffet and also extra-items that are not in the buffet but you can order a la carte, the staff was friendly and efficient, a really nice hotel and highly recommendable. if you want a quick tour of the city just contact the front desk and they will help you book it, the price for this tour is really inexpensive, around 40 Euros with a refreshment included.

Try to get a room with the river view, also if you can try their chocolate cake, is really good, all the experience was really good, the hotel is highly recommendable.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Despite the renovations being done to the hotel, we found it a wonderful place to stay. The location is perfect for walking around the city. It was my husbands special birthday and we were treated to a bottle of champagne, chocolates and fruit delivered to our room. Although we couldn't have a room with a river view, the view from the back was still lovely. I had requested a quiet room and they gave us the top floor which was perfect. The breakfast is amazing too. It is not a cheap hotel but for a special treat, it really is well worth the money. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £242 - £853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing