We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Der Salzburger Hof(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Salzburg City(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,672)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveller rating
1,192
310
93
41
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,192
310
93
41
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssacher tortethe riverpillow menuold townbeautiful hotelturn down servicepedestrian bridgeold world charmfresh fruitclassic hotelrenovated roompiano barpublic areasfive star hotelbeautiful roomjunior suiterooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel is in the best location in Salzburg and the staff are really helpful, they are currently undergoing a refurbishment which is a little noises at times however good to see the ongoing improvement to such a beautiful hotel. Overall a great stay, rooms are large and really clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janew926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A friend and I spent a few nights at this grand and elegant hotel! When we first checked into our room we were greeted with a tray of delightful sweets. The location is perfect...right on the river and a short walk to many of the Salzburg sites. The hotel staff were very attentive and helpful and they had a lovely turn down service (with a chocolate) every night. The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable, and quiet. This hotel has a cute cafe with delicious desserts. This is also the hotel where the actors from 'The Sound of Music' stayed. The one downside to the hotel is that though they offered free wifi throughout the hotel it barely worked in the rooms and it didn't require a password. Most of the time when I needed to use it I ended up sitting out in the hallway in order to get it to work. Outside of that...staying at this hotel was a very exciting and wonderful experience. I would say if you are traveling to Salzburg staying at this hotel is a must!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location, on the riverside opposite the old town with a convenient footbridge, is ideal. The building is lovely - especially at Christmas-time (we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary). The staff are very professional, friendly and attentive.

However, having booked a room with a river view, we were disappointed to be given a room overlooking the busy street. We were moved on our second day to another room with a river view - but a shower only, no bath. Finally, we moved on to a lovely, if small, room with a beautiful bathroom and shower - and a river view. This was all achieved through the personal intervention of the Assistant Manager, to whom we are most grateful.

We had several meals in three different restaurants within the hotel. The menu in each is essentially the same, so our tip would be to opt for the best value and 'buzz' in the Cafe Sacher rather than the main restaurant or the Grill. The general standard is good but easily surpassed elsewhere. The cuisine is Austrian – which, sadly is not very exciting – and we feel the Chef and management should consider a new menu which would appeal to their local and international clientele.

Breakfasts were very acceptable, with the usual range of hot and cold buffets.

It’s very pleasant to sit in the lounge with a drink or a coffee, listening to the piano. But the lounge is next to the bar where smoking is allowed, and the smell of smoke wafts through.

So, overall a good hotel - but not great. However, the management and staff are so welcoming and considerate that we would certainly want to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest!

First of all we will thank you very much indeed for celebrating your 25th wedding anniversary at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your time to tell us about your recent visit here on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and we will also thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our employees and the location in general. Of course we will pass your very motivating feedback to the entire Sacher Team who will be certainly encouraged by your remarks.

On the other hand we are very sorry about your first impression of the room and that you had to change several times. Please kindly allow us to apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Thank you very much for your remarks regarding our restaurants and our Sacher Bar. We will follow up very carefully on them and we will definitely discuss this internal with our team.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your feedback and your time. We are really looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and serve you once more with our highest attentiveness and quality.

Yours sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

"Treated like royalty" puts it best. The Salzburg location of this well established and estimable Vienna hotel is no less elegant and posh, and is sort of like the charming country cousin to its larger city location. Really elegant and tasteful, you just can't beat the service, atmosphere, location and accommodations overall. Great attention to detail and so quiet and comfortable for the entire stay. You'd pay huge bucks for a hotel like this in most major metropolitan cities, but the Sacher Salzburg is quite reasonable by comparison. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg with my daughter and we loved every minute. From the moment we pulled up to the entrance we were treated like royalty. Everyone was so pleasant. Our room was large and comfortable. My daughter loved the chocolate scented bath products. We were even greeted will little sacher tortes in the room. The restaurant was one of the best we had encountered on our trip through Germany and Austria. It is in the perfect place for exploring the city. I would very much love to return with my husband. I can't stop talking about it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkletoes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews