We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vienna's Sophisticated Sibling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Vienna's Sophisticated Sibling”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wonderful experiences at Vienna's Sacher Hotel convinced me to stay at the Sacher when we visited Salzburg last month, even though it was significantly more expensive than the comparably rated Bristol. Happily, we were not disappointed. The same courteous, old-world charm that distinguishes the Sacher Vienna is present at the Sacher Salzburg. The property has an ideal location across the river from the bustle of the old town and next to the Mirabel Gardens. The building is stunning, particularly the glorious staircase that we often chose to take to our fourth floor room. Service was excellent. We were upgraded to a superb room with great views of the Fort across the river - the Papageno suite - with ample room for my wife, our daughter and myself. We were there over the weekend and, were it not for the scaffolding on the hotel, would not have had any idea that there was ongoing construction at the hotel.

Three potential areas for improvement: as another tripadvisor has commented, the wifi in the room was terrible - my wife spent much of her waking time in the room sitting next to the door trying to get a signal; the basement spa is rudimentary, not even close to the Vienna property's; and smoke from cigarettes at an adjacent table drove me from the bar long before I would have liked to have left - perhaps there's a way to segregate non-smokers and smokers? Even so, I would not hesitate to stay at the Sacher when we return to Salzburg.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much indeed for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your time to give us a review about your stay with us here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and we are very happy that we could make your stay as memorable and pleasant as possible and that our employees could convince you with highest service and attention. On behalf of them we will thank you very much for your very kind and motivating feedback. Of course we will pass your comments to the entire Sacher Team who will be certainly encourage by your remarks.

On the other hand we are very sorry that we did not meet your satisfaction completely. Please kindly allow us to apologize for any inconvenience you might have had experienced. We will definitely follow up very carefully on your remarks to improve the standard for our guests because guest satisfaction is most important for us.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your time to share your feedback with us. We will really looking forward that your traveler plans bring you back soon to Salzburg and that we could welcome you again at Hotel Sacher Salzburg.

Kindest regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    273
    70
    31
    23
See reviews for
264
732
50
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed in Sacher Salzburg last month for a couple of days. What an absolutely fantastic hotel!

From the moment we checked in, we were treated like royalty and were given all the necessary information regarding breakfast and hotel services.

We were shown to our room promptly and found out we had been allocated the room next to the lift shaft that was having extensive work done to it. The Duty Manager rung up to the room, asking us if we minded and gave us a time frame of when the contractors were due to finish. The room also included a letter from Hotel Management and complimentary nibbles apologising for the disruption and urged guests to speak to reception should there be any problems with noise. I cannot praise the Hotel Manager more for the way they dealt with this and strongly believe the comments regarding renovations below are a little dramatic.

The food is to die for, service is exceptional and the hotel is spotless.

I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to visit Salzburg and am looking at staying at Sacher in Vienna next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel is in the best location in Salzburg and the staff are really helpful, they are currently undergoing a refurbishment which is a little noises at times however good to see the ongoing improvement to such a beautiful hotel. Overall a great stay, rooms are large and really clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janew926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A friend and I spent a few nights at this grand and elegant hotel! When we first checked into our room we were greeted with a tray of delightful sweets. The location is perfect...right on the river and a short walk to many of the Salzburg sites. The hotel staff were very attentive and helpful and they had a lovely turn down service (with a chocolate) every night. The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable, and quiet. This hotel has a cute cafe with delicious desserts. This is also the hotel where the actors from 'The Sound of Music' stayed. The one downside to the hotel is that though they offered free wifi throughout the hotel it barely worked in the rooms and it didn't require a password. Most of the time when I needed to use it I ended up sitting out in the hallway in order to get it to work. Outside of that...staying at this hotel was a very exciting and wonderful experience. I would say if you are traveling to Salzburg staying at this hotel is a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location, on the riverside opposite the old town with a convenient footbridge, is ideal. The building is lovely - especially at Christmas-time (we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary). The staff are very professional, friendly and attentive.

However, having booked a room with a river view, we were disappointed to be given a room overlooking the busy street. We were moved on our second day to another room with a river view - but a shower only, no bath. Finally, we moved on to a lovely, if small, room with a beautiful bathroom and shower - and a river view. This was all achieved through the personal intervention of the Assistant Manager, to whom we are most grateful.

We had several meals in three different restaurants within the hotel. The menu in each is essentially the same, so our tip would be to opt for the best value and 'buzz' in the Cafe Sacher rather than the main restaurant or the Grill. The general standard is good but easily surpassed elsewhere. The cuisine is Austrian – which, sadly is not very exciting – and we feel the Chef and management should consider a new menu which would appeal to their local and international clientele.

Breakfasts were very acceptable, with the usual range of hot and cold buffets.

It’s very pleasant to sit in the lounge with a drink or a coffee, listening to the piano. But the lounge is next to the bar where smoking is allowed, and the smell of smoke wafts through.

So, overall a good hotel - but not great. However, the management and staff are so welcoming and considerate that we would certainly want to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest!

First of all we will thank you very much indeed for celebrating your 25th wedding anniversary at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your time to tell us about your recent visit here on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and we will also thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our employees and the location in general. Of course we will pass your very motivating feedback to the entire Sacher Team who will be certainly encouraged by your remarks.

On the other hand we are very sorry about your first impression of the room and that you had to change several times. Please kindly allow us to apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Thank you very much for your remarks regarding our restaurants and our Sacher Bar. We will follow up very carefully on them and we will definitely discuss this internal with our team.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your feedback and your time. We are really looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and serve you once more with our highest attentiveness and quality.

Yours sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

"Treated like royalty" puts it best. The Salzburg location of this well established and estimable Vienna hotel is no less elegant and posh, and is sort of like the charming country cousin to its larger city location. Really elegant and tasteful, you just can't beat the service, atmosphere, location and accommodations overall. Great attention to detail and so quiet and comfortable for the entire stay. You'd pay huge bucks for a hotel like this in most major metropolitan cities, but the Sacher Salzburg is quite reasonable by comparison. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg with my daughter and we loved every minute. From the moment we pulled up to the entrance we were treated like royalty. Everyone was so pleasant. Our room was large and comfortable. My daughter loved the chocolate scented bath products. We were even greeted will little sacher tortes in the room. The restaurant was one of the best we had encountered on our trip through Germany and Austria. It is in the perfect place for exploring the city. I would very much love to return with my husband. I can't stop talking about it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkletoes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Property: Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing