We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hills are Alive with praise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The Hills are Alive with praise”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We are staying in Salzburg for a couple of days, and picked the Sacher. This was the right choice, it is not cheap, but it is excellent value, from its elegant rooms, fine food and wonderful,service. We have a river view, and get one if you can. The old town is just across the river and right bank sites are immediately available.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, and plushly fitted out.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    277
    72
    33
    24
See reviews for
277
750
54
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I had 3 nights at this excellent hotel in Salzburg. Its location is perfect for wondering around the main tourist sights and situated right on the river with great views of the old side of the city. (Short taxi ride from train station, 7mins?) The staff were all very nice, friendly and helpful. I got the feeling they had a good 'want to help' attitude & the answer would be 'yes' to reasonable requests. We had a wonderful room/suite on the top floor, it had great views over the river, lots of windows, was nice and bright, good sized bathroom and excellent comfortable bed and linens. The weather was nice enough on the first evening to eat, Sacher torte and drink coffee on the terrace cafe outside, right in front of the river. (was a good plan as weather pretty cold next few days). It was lovely spot but be warned there can be quite a few smokers in Europe and sitting outside can allow smoke to drift across whilst you are eating. The hotel inside is decorated very well and the restaurants were inviting. I know people will argue 'you get what you pay for' but believe me that is not always the case! Hotel Sacher Salzburg & the wonderful staff there deserve to be in the LHW/5 star category and we had a happy time. I will review Salzburg in a separate review but it is a lovely city in wonderful Austria!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spangle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guests!

Thank you very much indeed for your recent stay at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your effort to give us such a kind feedback about your visit here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at our hotel and we highly appreciate your positive comments. We are more then delighted to learn that you liked the wonderful suite overlooking the old town of Salzburg, the interior of our hotel as well as that you enjoyed our Original Sacher- Torte and Sacher Café at on of our outside terraces.
We are also very happy to learn that our staff could make your stay as memorable as possible and that you have had a happy time at Hotel Sacher Salzburg. Of course, I will pass your very motivating feedback to the entire Sacher Team who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Dear Guests, thank you again for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your review. As a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet guests needs and expectations, therefore your feedback is most important to us.
We really hope that your travel plans bring you back soon to Salzburg and the Hotel Sacher Salzburg to show you once more the excellent quality of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a quick vacation in Salzburg and surroundings, stayed at this beautiful property, we couldn't ask for more, service above expectations, rooms total luxury and modern, loved the balcony and view. Location is ideal between old and new town, walking distance everywhere, very charming. Highly recommend if you want a base for southern Austria and Germany.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oscar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Sacher for a couple of days and the room was lovely and spacious. Upon arrival to our room, we had a personal welcome note and complimentary miniature sacher tortes for my husband and I which was a special touch.There was also a turn down service every evening with chocolates which was lovely. We felt well looked after and cared for here. The breakfast selection was good and the bar had old world charm and made some amazing cocktails.The concierge was very informative about the various sights and events around Salzburg, and the location of this hotel was perfect for us as we could walk to all the main sights.

We also had the opportunity to dine in both restaurants however we found the food to be rather dull. The choice for vegetarians was highly limited. We felt that the restaurant ought to expand its menu selection and cater food to a more varied taste (not just Austrian cuisine).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ozzing old school charm. Well-appointed rooms. Good bar. Efficient staff. Fantastic location next to the Salzach river, provides ample opportunity for visiting Salzburg's many attractions. The Wintergarten room in particular is ideal for group functions, or enjoying a piece of delicious Sacher Torte whilst viewing the river. Definately recommended for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayorofstockbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wonderful experiences at Vienna's Sacher Hotel convinced me to stay at the Sacher when we visited Salzburg last month, even though it was significantly more expensive than the comparably rated Bristol. Happily, we were not disappointed. The same courteous, old-world charm that distinguishes the Sacher Vienna is present at the Sacher Salzburg. The property has an ideal location across the river from the bustle of the old town and next to the Mirabel Gardens. The building is stunning, particularly the glorious staircase that we often chose to take to our fourth floor room. Service was excellent. We were upgraded to a superb room with great views of the Fort across the river - the Papageno suite - with ample room for my wife, our daughter and myself. We were there over the weekend and, were it not for the scaffolding on the hotel, would not have had any idea that there was ongoing construction at the hotel.

Three potential areas for improvement: as another tripadvisor has commented, the wifi in the room was terrible - my wife spent much of her waking time in the room sitting next to the door trying to get a signal; the basement spa is rudimentary, not even close to the Vienna property's; and smoke from cigarettes at an adjacent table drove me from the bar long before I would have liked to have left - perhaps there's a way to segregate non-smokers and smokers? Even so, I would not hesitate to stay at the Sacher when we return to Salzburg.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much indeed for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your time to give us a review about your stay with us here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and we are very happy that we could make your stay as memorable and pleasant as possible and that our employees could convince you with highest service and attention. On behalf of them we will thank you very much for your very kind and motivating feedback. Of course we will pass your comments to the entire Sacher Team who will be certainly encourage by your remarks.

On the other hand we are very sorry that we did not meet your satisfaction completely. Please kindly allow us to apologize for any inconvenience you might have had experienced. We will definitely follow up very carefully on your remarks to improve the standard for our guests because guest satisfaction is most important for us.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your time to share your feedback with us. We will really looking forward that your traveler plans bring you back soon to Salzburg and that we could welcome you again at Hotel Sacher Salzburg.

Kindest regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed in Sacher Salzburg last month for a couple of days. What an absolutely fantastic hotel!

From the moment we checked in, we were treated like royalty and were given all the necessary information regarding breakfast and hotel services.

We were shown to our room promptly and found out we had been allocated the room next to the lift shaft that was having extensive work done to it. The Duty Manager rung up to the room, asking us if we minded and gave us a time frame of when the contractors were due to finish. The room also included a letter from Hotel Management and complimentary nibbles apologising for the disruption and urged guests to speak to reception should there be any problems with noise. I cannot praise the Hotel Manager more for the way they dealt with this and strongly believe the comments regarding renovations below are a little dramatic.

The food is to die for, service is exceptional and the hotel is spotless.

I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to visit Salzburg and am looking at staying at Sacher in Vienna next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Property: Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing