We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect European experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The perfect European experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I knew this was going to be a favorite hotel of mine the moment I saw chocolate shampoo, conditioner and products! This is a gorgeous hotel in a gorgeous city. Their chocolate torte is amazing and we enjoyed dining in their restaurant. The walls are a little thin because around 9pm we received a call from the neighbor in the adjacent room nicely asking us to turn down the volume on the television, which was already very low. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staciamiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    268
    69
    31
    22
See reviews for
258
713
48
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This Hotel was spectacular! We arrived late and the hotel was waiting for us. We had drinks in the lounge by the river and it was outstanding! Alexander at the at the bar was most helpful! He even gave us great restaurant suggestions! Loved the staff even though our check in person was a bit gruff and uninviting!

We also had the hotel line up a sound of music tour with Ditmer and that was most informative on the wonderful city/area of Salzburg!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank smiletex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location that is impeccably managed. Our room, and the public areas, were enchanting. The staff were consistently helpful and friendly. We hated to leave, and would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We booked online using the hotel's web site, paid in advance and got a very reasonable rate. I...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jaywvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This is a lovley hotel. A classic property located in front of the river, 5min walk from the peasant street and old Salzburg.
As an old building, you can see that the years have past through it. But the everything works just fine.
We did, however, have a problem with the air conditioning which couldn't be fixed on our first night and we had to have a fan on our room. The problem was solved for the second day and the hotel staff was very cooperative and nice. And even though we were offered a new room, we declined the offer for it was only one night and the problem was fixed.
The hotel has 5 restaurants. We only experienced the main one for breakfast and it was excellent. With great service.
I'd definitely go back to this hotel while in Salzburg.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MoishePod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Reviewer!

Thank you very much indeed for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your time to give us a positive review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and it is very nice to learn that you enjoyed your stay in general as well as that we could convince you with highest service quality. Of course we will pass your very motivating feedback to the entire Sacher Team who will be certainly encouraged by your remarks. On the other hand we are very sorry about the problem with the air conditioning and we will kindly apology for that.

Dear Reviewer, thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us. We are really looking forward that your travel plans bring you back soon to Salzburg and that we have at this time the opportunity to welcoming you again at Hotel Sacher Salzburg to serve you once more with our highest attentiveness and quality.

Kind regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent three days in wonderful Salzburg and Hotel Salzburg. A perfect hotel from the moment the doorman opened our taxi door and took care of our suitcases, till he loaded the same suitcases in our taxi three days later. It’s a typical grand European hotel from the turn of the century. Beautiful lobby with a helpful concierge, and a wonderful terrace overlooking the wild Salah river.
The room was large with lots of spaces to put things away (appreciated by my wife). Nice bathroom with a shower in the bathtub (the only minus I can think of – I prefer freestanding shower stalls), nice beds, and of course minibar and safe.
The location is great, in the middle of everything, and a short walk from the old city.
The breakfast was plenty enough, lots of all kinds of food and fruits. And of course sparkling wine free of charge (very unusual for a Norwegian traveler). We had one dinner had at the terrace. Tasty and good.
All in all a very pleasant stay. Not cheap off course, but you got what you paid for. Compared with Hotel Sachet in Wien it’s really cheap!
Next time I happen to come to Salzburg, Sachet will be my natural choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Sacher Salzburg. During the same trip we also spend three nights at the Sacher Vienna.

Both are world class and have impeccable service.

Although the rooms were not large they were extremely well appointed and top quality.

Both have a terrific location and the hotel staff at each were extremely helpful.

The Sacher Vienna was more expensive and eventhough both were expensive, I considered both hotels to be worth the cost.

We hope to return to both hotels in the future.

Room Tip: Our room on the river facing side of the Sacher Salzburg had just been remodeled. We were on third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg after visiting Vienna in 2011 and falling in love with the Sacher Torte and the cafe Sacher and the whole Sacher concept. It was a lovely hotel in a very beautiful, calm, romantic and cultural city...staff was very welcoming and helpfull, food was excellent!!! Would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vera m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 131 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Property: Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing