We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Treatment at the Sacher Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This by far is one of the most elegant hotels in Europe. Chocolates were waiting for me in the room- they knew!!! I was greeted by name the whole time, my cocktails were always waiting for me once I got to the bar. Chocolate body products in the room. Comfortable bed, with sumptuous sheets. Breakfast Buffet consisted of fresh baked breads and pastries, all types of fresh juices, cheeses and fish. Nothing to complain about at all. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sacher Salzburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a wonderful old charm hotel this is, it may look like a very old and traditional 5 star hotel, but it's a very slick and very customer focused hotel, from the time you arrive from the airport, which is a lovely regional airport, and about 15 to 30 mins from the city, to check in and during the whole stay, I could not fault the staff at any time.
We wanted to see everything whilst here, and the concierge was fantastic, he got us tickets for any trips we wanted, and a Mozart concert, which we were told was full...he managed to get us wonderful seats.

We had a suite facing the river, which over looks the old city and the Beutiful old fortress oppersite, what a view, the room was extremely well decorated, and furnished, with a lovely balcony, where we ate breakfast every morning, I've never stayed in such a luxurious hotel room, and the views were unforgettable.

You can spend days just walking over the bridge into the old city, and see different shops, and architecture, it's a very walking friendly city, clean, and felt extremely safe, even late in the evening.
Restaurants and cafes are all of very good qaulitly, and extremely lively at weekends.

We felt we had stayed in the best hotel in the city, great location, and you must try the bars and restaurants within the hotel, most have river views over to the old city.

Room Tip: Always push the budget and go for a river view room. Also go for the higher floor levels to get the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had gorgeous river facing newly renovated rooms. Our room was a bit small but that of my kids was spacious. The view from the balcony is awesome. Location is fantastic. The food in its cafe and restaurant is very good. The concierge was helpful though i do recall one of the receptionists being a bit rude once. I would recommend this Hotel. One thing that I do remember that we would ask for a jug of hot water and a espresso every morning and it would be delivered in 5 minutes flat every time.

Room Tip: Take the renovated and river facing rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was very impressed and pleased with out stay at the Sacher. Our room was very nice, although not very large, but well appointed and very clean. The hotel is gorgeous and has a beautiful bar with an outdoor patio with a view of the river and the old town. The staff was accommodating and friendly. I only gave it four stars because they did charge my credit card for the room even though I had paid for it with Chase Ultimate Rewards points. I'm still fighting that battle, a huge hassle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsEllie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much indeed for your recent stay at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your effort to give us a feedback about your visit here on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy about your positive feedback regarding the location of the hotel as well as that you loved your guest room and our beautiful Sacher Bar & Restaurant area with an outstanding view to the old town and the Salzach River. We are also glad to hear that our employees could make your stay as comfortable as possible. With pleasure we will pass your feedback to the entire Sacher Team who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. We are very sorry if there was any issue regarding credit card charge, we will allow us to come up personally to you.

Dear Guest, thank you again for staying with us and for your review. We really hope that we have the possibility to welcome you one day back to Salzburg and Hotel Sacher Salzburg to serve you again with highest quality and attentiveness.

Best regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

All you have to do is read the vast majority of reviews to see that the Sacher is considered one of the finest hotels in Salzburg. It is located in the new portion of the city and is a close walk to the various sites of interest. We had two beautifully appointed rooms with very modern, comfortably sized bathrooms. I don't know when the rooms may have been renovated but they were in excellent condition. We had no trouble with things like a/c. We faced the street, not the river, so we did not have the best views. NOTE to those traveling soon: There is EXSTENSIVE construction along the entire street in front of the hotel, which is noisy, dirty, and very unattractive. The double paned windows at the hotel did block out the noise, but the construction killed the views and made it more difficult to navigate the area around the hotel entrance. The level of service one would expect from this caliber of hotel did not disappoint. Housekeeping, turn-down service, a fruit plate in the room every day--all the little touches that made the stay more luxurious. However, the attitude of front desk staff ranged from friendly and helpful to rude and condescending. Would I stay here again? I don't know. Other than the rude staff it was pretty close to perfect, but it is not fun to dread dealing with the front desk. I might try a different highly rated hotel next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Family!

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for your invested time to tell us here on TripAdvisor about your recent visit.

It was with great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel. We are very proud to learn that you liked the location in general with our beautiful appointed rooms as well as all the little touches to make your visit as luxurious and comfortable as possible. Please kindly allow us to apology if there was any issue with our front desk staff. You can be assured that rudeness is absolute not our common thinking of highest service quality and we will definitely follow up on this point of constructive review because friendliness and hospitality have to be self-evident for all of our staff members. Regarding the construction works along the street, they will be finished latest next week.

Dear Family, we will thank you once more for your feedback and your stay at Hotel Sacher Salzburg. We are looking forward that you will give us despite your intention another change to better serve you in the future with highest quality and hospitality. For any reservation please contact me at any time to show you my personal attention.


Kind regards,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at this property. The location is outstanding and couldn't have expected anything better than this. However, we were given old rooms. Most of the time and in rooms aircons didn't work. They accepted that the aircons do have problems but that was all about it. It was on the third night (out of total four nights) that they gave a renovated room with good aircon.

On asking for a tea kettle and iron the answer was that "you are staying a Five star Hotel". The staff was arrogant, rude and appeared to us as being kind of racist in approach.

The only warm person in their team was the lady hotel manager/Incharge (do not remember the name). She tried to help in every possible way which was possible in her purview.

Will definitely never go again and stay in this property.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms and ones facing the river.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankur_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagingDirect0r, Manager at Hotel Sacher Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest!

First of all we would like to thank you for staying at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for taking the time to tell us about your visit. It was with great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you rated the location as outstanding.

On the other hand we are very sorry that we could not meet completely your satisfaction as well as that you did not liked your in traditional style provided rooms. Please kindly allow us to apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced. It is with big regret that there was an issue with the air-condition as well as that the behavior of the staff was not as friendly as it must be self-evident for a five star hotel. Please be assured that we will follow up very carefully on each point of your remarks, because guest satisfaction is one of our most important targets.
Regarding tea kettle and iron in room, please allow us to mention that we have a very strict fire- and insurance policy, therefore it is not allowed in the room, but we offer 24/7 room service.

Dear Guest, thank you once more for staying with us and for giving us a review. We really ask you to give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future and show you that excellent service that Hotel Sacher Salzburg is known for.

Yours sincerely,

Elfi Kammerhofer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just spent 5 nights here on our first visit to Salzburg, marking a significant anniversary. The whole experience was perfect. We were upgraded to a superior room which had just been renovated and which had a superb view of the river and the fortress (south east corner room 231). The staff were excellent from the time of arrival. The room was beautifully decorated and the staff highly attentive throughout. We can recommend Lakes and Mountain tour, Visit to Schloss Hellbrunn and a trip ( if clear weather ) up cable car at Untersberg.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gibbo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Address: Schwarzstrasse 5 - 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £245 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg epitomizes Sacher's unique mix of world charm and modern comfort: tradition hand in hand with innovations. As in Vienna, music has always been an important part of the hotel and in the city of Mozart's birth we regularly host the world's finest musicians alongside royalty, international statesmen, business people, artists and global celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sacher Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing