We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Steinerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Steinerhof
Ranked #82 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Marvelous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent two night in this old and charming place in September 2012.
Norbert, the owner, is a very pleasant gentleman, friendly and hospitable.
The hotel is an old farm typical of the region.
The rooms are not fancy, but they are well kept and clean. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our family of 3 really enjoyed our stay at Gaesthaus Steinerhof. Norbert added a single bed to our room for our son, which worked well. The guest house is located in a suburb of Salzburg. There are a few houses in front and to the side of the guesthouse, but only fields and a view of the mountains to the rear, so you feel like you are in the countryside. The gardens and regular landscaping are very nice. Our room only had one small window with a few of the barn. Our room and the entire guesthouse were very clean. Our host, Norbert, was very friendly. His English is limited, but a whole lot better than my German. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. We ate twice at one of them, the Reiterhof. I am going to review it on TA as well. Breakfast was fine. The only negative is that you have to take the bus into Salzburg, which was not difficult. We paid 80 Euros per night for 3 people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandHeidi392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We appreciated staying in a quiet residential area with efficient and direct bus service into the city rather than battling the traffic. Our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony with a view of the mountains and the lovely, meticulously manicured gardens below. The flowers, inside and outside, were gorgeous. Herr Haslauer speaks only a little English, but his enthusiasm and warmth made us feel quite welcome. Breakfast was nicely laid out on our table, rather than buffet style. We had a great biergarten dinner at Pflegerbrucke, a few miles away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escambian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hohenems, Vorarlberg, Austria
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The rooms were quite old, but it did have some flair too. Breakfast was alright, nothing special, but we were satisfied. If we had stayed a bit longer, it would have been more of a problem. In the end my girlfriend and I had a nice trip to Salzburg. The owner is a very nice fellow and highly motivated.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_JBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This guesthouse was very nice - lots of intricate wood carvings in the house and very Austrian feel! The room was very big, clean, and comfortable. We had a full, wrap-around deck, a couch, and a foyer with a refrigerator. We loved the guesthouse and the location was great - 10 minute drive into Salzburg, but also very close to the surrounding mountains. The included breakfast was outstanding as well.

If you plan to stay here, beware that this is a guesthouse, not a hotel! We were a bit surprised that there was no internet (which was a pain), no shampoo, and only hand soap. The owner was very friendly, but other than during check in and breakfast, we never saw him. So without internet or staff to help, we had a bit of difficulty navigating Salzburg.

One last note, a previous review from 2006 (the only bad review) said the place is in need of renovations. This must have been completed, because it was in great condition when we stayed in 2012.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, the view of the mountains is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwells_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Steinerhof. Situated in a residential neighborhood, but set back off the road surrounded by farmland, it is the perfect place to stay. It is beaufully decorated with Alpine furnishings. Our host, Herr Hausler, couldn't be friendlier and greeted us at breakfast each morning. If you are relying on public transportation you can catch the #21 bus a few houses down at the bus stop. If you are coming back after dark, its a good idea to have a flashlight because the tree lined gravel lane to the house is quite dark. Breakfast was fabulous and I looked forward to coming back to the house after touring the city. It was the perfect place to stay and it would be the only place I would stay if I ever have the chance to go back.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sioux64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the Steinerhof house for 3 nights. It is such a beautiful place with loads of flowers and a nice pond. It really is the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The room was nice, clean and big. Their breakfast is the traditional meats and cheese and it was really good. Mr Steinerhof I guess that is him, it is really nice eventhough he doesn't speak english and we didn't speak german! He let my husband parked his new car in the garage (the reason for the trip was to pick his brand new BMW). You can get to Salzburg by taking a bus right by the guesthouse. We drove to Eagle's nest maybe about 15 minutes from here.
Staying here was a wonderful experience and I highly recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sglw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
5.0 mi away
Romantik Gersberg Alm
Romantik Gersberg Alm
#41 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mostwastl
Mostwastl
#90 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Brandstaetter
Hotel Brandstaetter
#69 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
2.3 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#47 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
#56 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steinerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinerhof

Property: Steinerhof
Address: Moosstrasse 138, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Steinerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing