We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer inside than out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena City Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #98 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nicer inside than out”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were on a bicycling vacation through Austria. We arrived hours before check-in, but our room was ready...GREAT NEWS. The had an underground parking lot where we conveniently stored our bicycles. Once inside the hotel you will immediately notice the inside is nicer than the outside. A lovely spiral staircase dominates the interior. Once in our rooms, we found the space to be clean, neat, and well maintained. This is a wonderful 3-star hotel. Buffet breakfast in the morning was adequate with eggs and such plus lots of fruit and the typical cheese and luncheon meat.

The location is a bit out of the old city, It would be a very long walk or a simple bicycle ride. We chose a taxi for 8 Euros since we had just rode 5 hours on our bikes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zauski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    66
    69
    30
    18
See reviews for
37
49
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok. The rooms are ok and they are clean but a little dated. I wouldn't stay here again, only because there is NOTHING to do around this hotel. The Salzburg Arena sits next door. There is about a 15-20 commute into town by cab. This hotel is boring, to say the least.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Late check in was the reason for which we chose this hotel in Salzburg. We found a helpful staff but a tired hotel. The room is big enough but four stars is a bit over rated. We stayed here just one night. For transit it's ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralucasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights after arriving from Vienna by train. Once we got off the train we walked outside of the railway station to the buses which were outside and the bus we took delivered us virtually to the front door of the hotel after about a 10 minute bus ride. What a wonderful surprise to find a great hotel in a quiet location, within easy access to the centrum by buses. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was sensational and amongst the best we have experienced anywhere for the money. Staff were very friendly and helfpul. Although a little distance away from the city centrum, it was not such an issue for us. Public transport is great and very convenient. Keep this one on your list if you are looking for reasonable priced and great accommodation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manfred346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed in several hotels during our trip in Europe last August, and though I like Salzburg a lot, this hotel is the worst hotel we stayed in. The air-conditioner didn't work, and the wifi worked only occasionally. Breakfast was awful: maybe it is because we were an Asian group, we were isolated in a function room for breakfast and the food provided to us was really pathetic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed there for 3 nights. We came from Vienna by train and bus no 1 from Salzburg bahnhof takes you to the hotel and takes about 10 minutes. The frequency of the buses is good and you need to get down at Aribonenstrabe just near the hotel.
Hotel room was spacious and comfortable. Cleanliness was maintained. Breakfast was very good and had many choices.
Staff was very good and helpful. They helped us by arranging our sightseeing tours. Room has a nice view.
Overall great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cp_0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a great hotel, very clean spacious room with friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is situated out of the city center so I'd recommend it to travelers traveling by car. There is parking on the premises. Also if one is in Salzburg on the weekend parking anywhere on the public roads in the city is free of charge so there is no need to park in the paid parking areas which can be rather expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_CapeTown_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Salzburg Mitte
1.5 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#52 of 132 in Salzburg
743 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Amedia Art Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neutor
Hotel Neutor
#117 of 132 in Salzburg
334 reviews
2.6 mi away
ARCOTEL Castellani
ARCOTEL Castellani
#39 of 132 in Salzburg
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena City Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena City Hotel Salzburg

Property: Arena City Hotel Salzburg
Address: Am Messezentrum 2, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena City Hotel Salzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location for city centre and fairgrounds. Easy access car park safety inclusive. Homely atmosphere with restaurant bar & cafe, conference facilities (600 persons), sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Arena City Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cd Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing