We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant stay...quiet and within easy reach of the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
Ranked #46 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A most pleasant stay...quiet and within easy reach of the city.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived Salzburg by train from Vienna. Getting to this hotel is easy ...just take the No:1 bus from the railway station and the bus stop just infront of the hotel. It easy to get around Salzburg by tram bus from here too. The room are well done and wifi works efficiently too. They serve a good breakfast in the morning too.
The receptionist speaks good English and helpful too. Even arrange free hotel pick-up for our group to the nearby Salzburg casino. Located within short walking distance is the Stiegel BranWelt brewery/museum and the Redbull Hangar 7 display centre.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a good quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    86
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
73
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor after spending a lot of time searching for hotels in Salzburg. It was time well spent as beyond getting an excellent deal on a room for 3 nights the hotel and its staff were excellent.

It is part of a small chain of boutique hotels in Austria which are family run and it shows, the staff were all very helpful and welcoming and spoke English very well making communication that much easier as my German is somewhat limited.

My room was very comfortable and clean and well maintained with very few signs of wear and tear. It was spacious and well lit and had a relaxing view of the gardens in the private homes behind the hotel.

The hotel is about 5 minutes by bus (during off peak times) to Hofstallgasse bus stop which is right in the historical section of the city from where you can access most of the main attractions. There are a number of very good traditional Austrian restaurants in the surrounding streets which are well worth a visit and reception staff are only too happy to give you the run down on them.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone considering Salzburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, these are quieter as the road at the front (Maxglaner Haupt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Considered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Comfortable room, warm and cosy, plenty of hot water. We had the room away from the main building, which was nice as it gave us extra privacy. The hotel was very clean and efficient, but also had a very friendly family feel. While we were there it snowed lots, and it was cute to watch the proprietor as he swept the paths clear, with his small son following behind with a smaller broom 'helping'. The breakfast was fantastic, loads of organic local produce, eat as much as you want, attentive service but not overbearing, plenty of good coffee bought swiftly to the table.
The location was excellent, as it is right on a bus route, the buses arrive promptly, they are clean and inexpensive and drop you right in the town centre. Many times I walked instead though, it took around a half hour, but I enjoyed looking in shop windows and seeing all the pretty houses covered in snow on the way.

Room Tip: Our room was in the annexe which is further back from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamcommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and walking distance to the Aldstadt section of Salzburg. The service was friendly and very helpful and they provided a lovely breakfast for the guests. The woman at the front desk was very knowledgeable about the area and various attractions, and her English was great, which was very helpful to us.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building, as opposed to the off-site rooms, which are not quite as nice.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Due to need not to walk up stairs we elected to stay in the Villa Ceconi. That was a mistake, the noise from traffic made it difficult to sleep. The room was clean. However to get breakfast you had to walk to the main hotel. The staff was pleasent and friendly, they did arrange a tour of Salzburg. The breakfast however is not worth the price of $12 E. Probaly half the cost would be reasonable. It is somewhat a distance from the city centre.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Villa stay away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hotel zur Post is a small hotel on the outskirts of central Salzburg. One can easily reach the center using tram No 1 which stops in front of the hotel. The hotel room was clean, receptionists were polite and could communicate well in English, breakfast was enjoyable. The only setback was the free wifi from the room which wasn't working at all. This was very annoying for us as we plan the holiday day by day through searching the internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaetano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at Hotel zur Post this past weekend while visiting Salzburg alone. The reception was extremely courteous (English) and I found my room to be as advertised in this forum-- clean, comfortable, and quiet. The bathroom was spotless and included a spacious shower. The room was of adequate size with a closet, flatscreen TV, free wireless internet, and a DVD player. As an American, I would've loved an A/C unit but I've become used to being without it while in Europe and the windows opened overnight provided enough cool air to remain comfortable. There is no subway but the bus system is easy to use and a stop is across the street from the hotel. The breakfasts were included and were excellent-- breads, danishes, fruit, cold meats, juice, etc. As I mentioned, every time I visited the reception desk for assistance, clear English was spoken and directions were provided with much courtesy. As a reasonably-priced family-owned Bed & Breakfast located 10 minutes from the altstadt, this hotel is an excellent choice. I would recommend this hotel to colleagues and I would stay there again with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ward015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Turnerwirt
Hotel Turnerwirt
#60 of 132 in Salzburg
376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
832 reviews
1.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post

Property: Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Hotel zur Post)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zur Post
Zur Post Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing