We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English speaking hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel zur Post
Ranked #48 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“English speaking hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked late in the evening and were lucky to get a room. English speaking desk help was welcoming. Room was clean, reasonably priced and they really made you feel like they were glad you were there. Maps helpful, morning breakfast on the outside patio was one of the best we had. Checkout painless and the staff was helpful in planning our day. Two thumbs up. Good parking adjacent to the building. Much better than we expected.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    80
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
67
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

If this hotel had air conditioning it would have been perfect! (They did loan us fans, but we had the only one available). Breakfast is great. Girls at Reception were very helpful. You can get a cheap day pass at the Reception for the bus that stops right across the street to take you on the short ride into the Old City (We walked this a couple of times). Very clean!

Room Tip: Ask them how to fully open the windows if you don't know how. We did not realize until we were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very good, but had not allocated disabled room initially..also room needed additional cleaning. Food very good, staff attentive, near wheelchair accessible bus route into city, shower accessible also.

Room Tip: Ask for confirmation of disabled booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnieAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived Salzburg by train from Vienna. Getting to this hotel is easy ...just take the No:1 bus from the railway station and the bus stop just infront of the hotel. It easy to get around Salzburg by tram bus from here too. The room are well done and wifi works efficiently too. They serve a good breakfast in the morning too.
The receptionist speaks good English and helpful too. Even arrange free hotel pick-up for our group to the nearby Salzburg casino. Located within short walking distance is the Stiegel BranWelt brewery/museum and the Redbull Hangar 7 display centre.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a good quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chanykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor after spending a lot of time searching for hotels in Salzburg. It was time well spent as beyond getting an excellent deal on a room for 3 nights the hotel and its staff were excellent.

It is part of a small chain of boutique hotels in Austria which are family run and it shows, the staff were all very helpful and welcoming and spoke English very well making communication that much easier as my German is somewhat limited.

My room was very comfortable and clean and well maintained with very few signs of wear and tear. It was spacious and well lit and had a relaxing view of the gardens in the private homes behind the hotel.

The hotel is about 5 minutes by bus (during off peak times) to Hofstallgasse bus stop which is right in the historical section of the city from where you can access most of the main attractions. There are a number of very good traditional Austrian restaurants in the surrounding streets which are well worth a visit and reception staff are only too happy to give you the run down on them.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone considering Salzburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, these are quieter as the road at the front (Maxglaner Haupt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Considered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Comfortable room, warm and cosy, plenty of hot water. We had the room away from the main building, which was nice as it gave us extra privacy. The hotel was very clean and efficient, but also had a very friendly family feel. While we were there it snowed lots, and it was cute to watch the proprietor as he swept the paths clear, with his small son following behind with a smaller broom 'helping'. The breakfast was fantastic, loads of organic local produce, eat as much as you want, attentive service but not overbearing, plenty of good coffee bought swiftly to the table.
The location was excellent, as it is right on a bus route, the buses arrive promptly, they are clean and inexpensive and drop you right in the town centre. Many times I walked instead though, it took around a half hour, but I enjoyed looking in shop windows and seeing all the pretty houses covered in snow on the way.

Room Tip: Our room was in the annexe which is further back from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamcommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and walking distance to the Aldstadt section of Salzburg. The service was friendly and very helpful and they provided a lovely breakfast for the guests. The woman at the front desk was very knowledgeable about the area and various attractions, and her English was great, which was very helpful to us.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building, as opposed to the off-site rooms, which are not quite as nice.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#50 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.4 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#54 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ceconi
Villa Ceconi
#74 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zur Post

Property: Hotel zur Post
Address: Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing