We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Great, But Convenient & Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airporthotel Salzburg

Airporthotel Salzburg
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airporthotel Salzburg
Ranked #103 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not Great, But Convenient & Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night prior to an early morning flight out of Salzburg Airport. I had read several negative reviews on Trip Advisor, and debated changing my plans. In the end, I am glad we stayed here.

First the good:

If being close to the airport is important to you, then you cannot do any better than this. It takes about 3 minutes to walk from the hotel's front door to the check in counter in the terminal.
The room we were in was clean, and quite large. The furnishings were quite plain, but I was not really expecting much. The bed was a little firmer than I am used to, but the room was quiet and we slept quite well. The hotel and rooms were also quite clean.
The young woman who manned the reception desk when we checked in was friendly and helpful. When we asked about suggestions for dinner, her suggestions included trying one of the restaurants at a nearby shopping centre (about a 10 minute walk from the hotel), and we ended up eating at a tapas bar in said shopping centre. When we checked out in the morning, the older woman on the desk spoke neither English nor French, but through many gestures and rapid fire German punctuated by the occasional "OK?" managed to convey the information necessary.
I found it was much cheaper to rent a car at the airport than in town, and planning around car rental returns is much easier if you are staying near the airport.
The breakfast buffet, included with the room, is fine - yoghurt, lots of bread, pastries, meats, eggs & cheeses - and the diningroom where the breakfast is served is warm and comfortable.

The Not So Good:
The room rates are rather high for what one gets, and the three day prior cancellation policy is mystifying, if not downright stupid. That said, I doubt this hotel is ever full up, and one could probably call the day before to book a room without too much trouble.
While conveniently located for the airport and one shopping mall, the hotel is not conveniently located for anything else.

In the end, this is an airport hotel. For me, and as with any airport hotel, anywhere in the world, convenience, sleep quality and cleanliness are of primary importance. In these, the Airporthotel Salzburg delivers. I would not stay here as a base for a visit to the area, but for a one night stay, consider this:

Salzburg airport is small. We had a 6:30am flight from Salzburg. We were able to check out, walk over to the airport and check in for our flight at 5:00, then return to the hotel by 5:15 and have a relaxed breakfast. It took 3 minutes to walk back to the terminal, 5 minutes to clear security and about 30 seconds to walk to the gate. We waited about 10 minutes before our flight boarded. This was a far better option than taking a train or car back to Munich for the onward flight.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    10
    7
    17
See reviews for
10
10
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We arrived to Salzburg airport in the early Evening - after a charter trip - and wanted to do some sightseeing in Salzburg the next day, before continuing home to Vienna, and booked two rooms at the, allegedly, four-star Airporthotel Salzburg. Although, admittedly within walking distance from the terminal, we expected a ****-hotel, which was the stated rating,but got an Austrian Fawlty Towers for the price of 118 Euros per room.

The receptionist was not exactly welcoming; the rooms were of the kind that you normally pay 35-45 Euros for in Austria or Germany; the shampoo came in a thin paper bag and the towels looked like they came from a fleamarket; a baby cot was a further 20-25 Euros; the food was very poorly presented and the goulash contained 4-5 small pieces of meat; while the thin walls allowed you to enjoy all the activities and conversations of your neighbours.

Admittedly, the hotel is close to the airport, the parking was free and the breakfast good, as was the very interesting display of some 50 teddybears. Nevertheless, we expected and paid for a good hotel and got a very poor B&B. Stay well away!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before driving down to Hallstatt. You can't beat it for convenience, when you want to stay close to the airport (but central Salzburg is only a 12€ taxi away). The rooms are clean and comfortable, but the front desk is a bit arrogant and to charge for wifi (18€ for 12 hours) on top of a relatively expensive room is a bit much. Next time I'll stay in the city or next door at Pension Huttner for half the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stopped for one night on our way to Salzkammergut. An hour after we landed, after 10pm, we already relaxed in hotel, which is located only few minutes walking from the terminal.
Cozy, rustic atmosphere, accessible and convenient, great room and excellent breakfast .
Fitness room and a swiming pool, to relax before hitting the road ....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahuvaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Booked this hotel for two nights, two rooms because of its location. Due to a flight delay out of the United States, we had to cancel our reservation, but couldn't do so but 49 minutes past the hotel's deadline of three days (which was actually 85 hours prior to check in). They charged the full price as cancellation fee. They were not even willing to apply the reservation for the rooms for three days later, when we would be able to arrive in Salzburg.
I hope many people will read these reviews and think twice before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Modymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is located only 5 minutes walking from check-in desks at the airport. The rooms are Ok and breakfast is fine. Only, I have been here a few times now and never saw the restaurant being open for dinner. Nevertheless, I can hardly believe why this hotel does not have more visitors because of the convenient location and very acceptable pricing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wortelboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel in October 2010 with work and the rooms were horrendous. I was given the key to the room and the bed was not made, rubbish in the bin and not what you would expect from a hotel!

The rooms were small and reminded me of a hostel bedsit.

DO NOT VISIT!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Salzburg West
2.7 mi away
Hotel Brandstaetter
Hotel Brandstaetter
#69 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Salzburg
#108 of 131 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himmelreich
Hotel Himmelreich
#1 of 10 in Wals
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#51 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airporthotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airporthotel Salzburg

Property: Airporthotel Salzburg
Address: Dr.-Matthias-Laireiter-Strasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Airporthotel Salzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Airporthotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airporthotel Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing