We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outright Blackmail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kolpinghaus Salzburg
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outright Blackmail”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We book 4 beds and asked to be placed in the same 4-bed room. The person who was replying our emails, Franziska [--], was rude, unaccommodating, and had a poor grasp of Englih. She tried to blackmail us into paying more, and failed to comprehend and address our arguments.

We did a search of the other hostel booking websites, and we found that booking.com has 'private' rooms for cheaper than what we payed for the so-called shared rooms on hostelworld. Most unfair. Besides, all the other hostels in the Austria, Germany, and the Czech Republic did not have issues with our request.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arvedui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolpinghaus-salzburg, Leiter Front Office at Kolpinghaus Salzburg, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Hongjie Chen,

thanks a lot for your comment.
I had a closer look at the E-Mail conversation you have had with my colleague and to be honest it is difficult for me to understand your point of view. We are definitely not trying to blackmail you - we just gave you the option to book a bed in our dormitory or as an alternative a private quadruple room for all four of you. When you book a bed in a dormitory there is no guarantee for lying together - that is the reason why the price is cheaper than in a private room. In the dormitory category it is possible to deposit the wish lying together and we have answered you that we are doing our best to fulfill your wish – but we just cannot guarantee it. I hope that you understand our point of view and we are looking forward finding a suitable solution for all of us.

With best wishes from Salzburg,
Your Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    36
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
34
18
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The distance between and the train station is 2 Km and that between the hostel and the old town area is more than 3 Km. The hostel is integated with the educational/ study/ activities/ events camp center for the local citizens, students and kids. It is a huge building complex including soccer field/ sports courts, function rooms, games rooms, roof-top terrence, lounge, cafe and patio.

It has a 3-star hotel management and is furishing well. There are more than 100 dorm rooms. Each room has 2-3 bunk beds. Fully furnishing in the room including large closets, desk, TV, telephone, book rack, bed-side drawers and a piece of carpet . The beds are fresh and nice. The attached bathroom has all the required facilities eventhough a heating unit..

The down side is far from the attractions. It is located in the nortn end of the residential area. Not easy to find a conveniece store. If you don't mind the inconvenience of far from the city center, diffinily this ts the best choice for the budget tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hostel is 35 min walking from the old city and poor indicated. We booked a 4-bed dorm and when we get there, they had squeezed a fifth bed in the room (the only explanation they gave is that they were overbooked) and we barely had space. Anyway, the rooms are clean and the bathrooms too. They have a luggage storage room with locker so thats pretty nice to leave your stuff before check-in ir after check-out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover_aeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends in a 4 bed dorm. Impressed with how clean the room was and the shared bathroom (although no-on else seemed to use the bathroom so was practically private!). Room was of a decent size and had 4 individual lockers (free of charge). The hostel was about 20 minutes from the centre of Salzburg but very easy to find by walking straight along the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_obrien91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Kolpinghaus Salzburg was a little bit cheaper than other hostels we had looked into, but was very far from the main train station and not the easiest to find. After asking locals for directions several times and not having any luck, we called Kolpinghaus to see if they could give us basic directions. The receptionist, confusingly, told us that he was unable to help us because we had not yet checked in to the hostel (can't check in if we can't get there...)

We again had some trouble dealing with reception to pay for the room, but the place itself is large, clean, and simple. My friends and I had a room with 2 bunk beds, a desk, and our own bathroom. There was no kitchen to cook, but if you make your own (cold) meals anyway there is quite a nice patio on the 4th or 5th floor with views of the mountains and Hohensalzburg Castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

1. My experience here had been bad from the moment I arrived. It is not hard to find, but it is far. Finally I reached around 1:30. In the booking site where I'd booked from, they said check in time was between 2pm-10pm. My travel time had been long and I couldnt wait to get to my room. I told the person in the reception that I was checking in and she told me the rooms werent ready and to wait. I waited until 2:30 then I asked another receptionist again and she said it still wasnt ready. I was sitting RIGHT IN FRONT of them. Literally. I asked her to let me know when it was ready so that I could go in. I asked the other girl that too. I waited and waited until it was 3:30 and I was getting frustrated by the minute. Finally I couldnt bear it any longer and asked at the reception again if my room was ready. Apparently both the girls had forgotton about me (there werent many people checking in during that time anyway) and the room had already been ready way back. They murmured a half hearted apology and led me to the room. (later I checked other websites too, and some had 2:00pm check in time and others had 3:00 pm check in time.. this needs to be straightened up).

2. I was VERY disappointed when I saw the room. It was in the basement and was very dingy looking and was apparent that it was not cleaned properly. There were dead insects all over the floor and the table and a few other alive ones were walking on the floor and found one also on the bed. There was no washroom in the room also and I was not told where it was during check-in, nor was I told where the kitchen was or anything else that I had heard them reciting to the other ppl who checked in.

3. I finally found the washroom and that was dirty as well. I found it difficult to put my stuff anywhere because it looked so dirty. Parts of the shower had molds in them and again, the washbasins and its surrounding area hadnt been cleaned properly, if not At all ! When I got back to the room to hang my towel, I encountered moths. Again, getting more and more disappointed.

4. There are only 2 kitchens, on the 1st and 3rd floor for the whole hostel (which is quite big). the kitchens are not big anyways, maybe because no one uses them since there are no dishes to cook with. You need to have all your own dishes if u wish to make anything. Also, the fridges have lockers inside them and you need a key from the reception if you want to keep anything in the fridge.

5. The only advantage that I can think of, of this place is that you can hire bicycles directly from this place, as in Salzburg everyone seemed to ride a bike around town. But again, its only a plus point to people who actually use the facility.

6. The wifi is only available in the lobby, whereas it was advertised as "Wifi available in all areas". That was a big disappointment too.

7. There is no common room/ area where people go to mingle (maybe like a bar). There is a cafeteria which closes by 10 and thats it.

8. When I awoke the next day, there were bites all over my thighs... maybe the bugs on the bed had something to do with those.

9. It is definitely NOT like your usual hostel even though there are dorms here. If you are looking for a fun place to stay with lots of young people and to have fun, I definitely DO NOT RECOMMEND this place to you. It seems this is mostly for older people with families who come with cars and kids and their own dishes to cook with.

Room Tip: I stayed at Meninger in Salzburg before this and it was excellent. definitely recommend that over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank med_ktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My friend and I stayed here whilst interrailing. We were split up into different rooms (which never happened at any other hostel we stayed in in Europe) and though the reception staff were reasonably friendly, it didn't help when I was in the basement and he was on the fourth floor. Everything was clean and fine and perfectly nice but it felt very clinical and business-like.

Also the woman taking tickets at breakfast was completely rude and disgusting, yelling at us about payment when we had already paid, she just hadn't been there to take the ticket. Not cool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.6 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.7 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#66 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
2.1 mi away
JUFA Hotel Salzburg City
JUFA Hotel Salzburg City
#2 of 37 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolpinghaus Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolpinghaus Salzburg

Property: Kolpinghaus Salzburg
Address: Adolf-Kolping-Strasse 10, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kolpinghaus Salzburg 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kolping Hostel Salzburg is the perfect basis to discover the city of Salzburg or the countryside. Comfort, almost like in a hotel, awaits you to attractive prices. You can choose from one- to four-bed rooms, which are equipped in a modern way. There is a Cook & Chill Area, a Lounge & Info Corner, where there is free WiFi, and a laundry & drying room also awaits you. There are lots of activities you can explore. Either you choose to use the sports areas from the hotel or you go into the city of Salzburg and enjoy the Austrian culture. Also you must not miss the beautiful landscape of Land Salzburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Kolpinghaus Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing