We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer, apple strudel and the sound of music”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoho International Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beer, apple strudel and the sound of music”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great hostel, clean, good price, nice bar and food. After a few drinks watching the sound of music in the hostel (shown every night) was quite fun, but if you do not fancy it then there is a lounge and internet, book swap and free wifi. Not quite in the centre but not far plus about 10 mins walk from train station (tops) and an easy walk you can do it with a suitcase on wheels. Staff v good and knowledgable

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangemonkey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    321
    100
    25
    19
See reviews for
22
96
241
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Decent hostel. It is in a good location and they give you a great map of the city. The rooms are small and do not have bathrooms attached. There is a decently large lounge area and computer room where you can meet new friends. They play The Sound of Music 24 hours a day in the lobby if that's one of your favorite things.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I am not an experienced visitor of hostels, so it might be a bit difficult to write an objective review. I stayed with my boyfriend, um and sister in a 4-bed room with private shower.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. You could watch a DVD and read books downstairs. The coffe from the machine was awful! We also had breakfast in the morning which was very worth the money of 3,50:-. Overall we had a pleasant stay even though hostels always makes me feel like Im on a childrens camp.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelie_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights after a conference to explore Salzburg. Really great, clean and friendly hostel with superb facilities.

A particular highlight was the card swipe lockers - very spacious and secure. The cheap bar was great for meeting people before exploring the city.

Very centrally located and a good map is available for free at reception. Dorms are priced very reasonably and are quite spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurasaurus_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The place is quite easy to locate. It is in a quiet location which can help avoid the drone of vehicles. Although in the winters, it might be easier to stay somewhere closer to the train stations(to avoid walking). I stayed in the 6-bed female dorm. It was very clean, safe (something I was very conscious about as a solo female traveller). I was lucky to not have snoring room-mates :) and enjoyed a good night's sleep. This place is great to meet a bunch of travellers from different countries.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayzee_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Good location close from the station in a quiet street but far from the old city by foot. With the Salzburg Card and free buses, it won't be a trouble. 4 beds room was just enough large when luggages were too bigs for lockers but new and clean. Some noise from people running in the stairs. Good traditional breakfast. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close from stairs and common lavatories which are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hostel was clean and close to the train station, though a decent walk from the old city. The bed in the dorm was fine, though there weren't a ton of plugs and it took a little while to figure out the locker. My dorm room had the in-room bathroom and shower, and they were really nice. The breakfast (costs extra) was nice. The bar downstairs also serves dinner. Again, it was extra, but it was cheaper than other stuff around and it was good and convenient with a number of options. The kitchen was a little sketchy, so I wouldn't plan on trying to cook. I also liked watching the sound of music, which they show every evening. A little cheesy, but fun and a nice way to meet people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#45 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.1 mi away
JUFA Hotel Salzburg City
JUFA Hotel Salzburg City
#2 of 37 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoho International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho International Youth Hostel

Property: Yoho International Youth Hostel
Address: Paracelsusstrasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Yoho International Youth Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing