We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you are on a budget!”
Review of Pension Jahn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Jahn
Ranked #49 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great if you are on a budget!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Service was pleasant and the room had everything I needed for just the one night but I would be happy to stay for longer. Location was convenient as I needed an easy trip between the bus station and the airport - town was accessible on foot. I liked the fact that a continental breakfast was included in the price! Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmmmmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    95
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
40
69
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We chose this pension because it was close to the bus and train stations (1 minute walk but not the best area) and because it was priced quite cheaply for bed and breakfast. We were pleased with the location (10-15 min walk to the old town), the size of the room, the cleanliness of the place and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. However we found the rest of our stay could be summed up in one word-basic. The decor and furniture reminded us of a youth hostel, the pillows were inadequate, there was no tv (this was not a massive issue for us-why do you need a tv when you are in beautiful Salzburg? but it would be a problem for some so thought I would mention it), no hair dryer (ask at reception they do have some but this is not made clear) and the breakfast was really very poor-bad quality meat, cheese and coffee (undrinkable) but the bread and spreads were ok-we only ate it once. Overall I think we would look to stay elsewhere if we were to return but not terrible for the money.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Loricase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

First, understand what we were doing. My wife and I decided to do what my friends did 30 years ago, take a small backpack and a Eurail pass to travel around part of Europe in a simple fashion. We looked for decent, basic hotels within walking distance (or an easy bus or tram ride) from the train station and/or from the main attractions. We usually spent one night in each place and moved on. We did not spend much time in the hotels, so we required only a decent place to sleep, bathe, and wash out some clothes in the sink. If breakfast was included, all the better.

Given our parameters, Pension Jahn was fine for sleeping at night, not a place for spending time in itself. The Chinese owners (wife from China and husband from Taiwan) were friendly and helpful. Mrs. Lin speaks English well. It is close to the train station but a decent walk to the main attractions, so it is good to buy the Salzburg Pass (at the hotel) and figure out how to use the buses right away. The breakfast was basic but sufficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trottermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed 5 nights in early feb 2013. my room was spotlessly clean. No traffic noise (back of house). Substantial breakfast. Obliging and friendly family running the Pension. Free Wi-Fi. I would stay again. My only warning- there is no lift, so if you find stairs difficult, make sure you ask for a low-down floor. For the price you will not beat this place.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
12 Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

While Jahn is close to the train station, it's not very close to the centre of town. Our room was quite pokey and featureless.
Overall, not horrible, but very uninspiring. I would not recommend Jahn to a friend, but, if you do book here, you could probably rely on an okay stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here in December 2012.

Location
Pension Jahn is well-located near to the main train and bus station, which means it is easy to get around Salzburg from the inn.

It is also situated near a shopping mall, macdonalds, supermarket as well as a self-service laundry shop.

Facilities
Pension Jahn is indeed a little old but otherwise it is clean and tidy. Wifi connection is very fast and not restricted to any amount of devices. The bathroom is quite big but the toilet is really small.

Breakfast provided was buffet style and quite a number of items to choose from.

Service
The hotel owners are quite friendly and speak mainly Deutsch and Chinese. If you have some small request, they are also more than willing to oblige. They also like to greet you when you come back to the Pension.

Summary
This hotel is recommended for anyone looking for a reasonably priced lodging with good location to stay. Especially useful for travelers who only speak Chinese.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JunJieL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

After doing a lot of research into hotels in Salzburg we stayed at pension jahn and it was wonderful. It was very close to the station and easy to find, and although it wasn't as close to the old quarter of town it was still within walking distance. It was clean and friendly, provided a good breakfast which was amazing for the price of the hotel. This was a fantastic budget hotel and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MaeveAndDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Jahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Jahn

Property: Pension Jahn
Address: Elisabethstrasse 31, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Jahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Jahn Hotel Salzburg
Jahn Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing