We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good accomodation, good location”

Strawberry Youth Hostels Salzburg
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strawberry Youth Hostels Salzburg
Hobart
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service, good accomodation, good location”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Located along the Danube, it is a pleasant 15min stroll from the old town along the river. We came during the Salzburg Festival which was a very busy time of the year. The staff are very nice and accomodating and try really hard.

The rooms are basic at most. A bed, table and bathroom. The sheets are a very thin and the pillow is more like a cushion, however if you ask reception for another pillow, if they have one they will accomodate it. They are very helpful. Also dont expect to find top sheets anywhere in Europe, but if you ask for another sheet this will help you get by in summer.

There is a kitchen and guest rooms downstairs and wifi in the common areas. The wifi did tend to play up, but if its not working just tell reception and they are very good at assisting. There is S-Bahn station right next door too. Some of the rooms look over the river too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The location is good, between the train station and the old town and right on the river. The rooms were clean. The beds were very crammed in the 4 person rooms. The staff were polite and helpful. The kitchen is really nice with lots of space and two cooking stations. This is one of the nicer hostels that I have every stayed in...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainActive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The location wins hearts everyday. Just by the river, 10 mins stroll to Old Town, 2 min from a station and 15 min from the main station. Stayed 2 nights, The Hungarian staff are amazingly resourceful and kind, especially Kristy was really helpful. Kitchen is large with every possible amenities, wifi works on the lobby. Price for a private room was a bit steep but he this is Salzburg, what can you do ? Would recommend any day.

Room Tip: get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idealistmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A nice place.Rooms were basic, faciities are good and staff nice too. Good location for exploring the city. Located just on river beside bike path. My advice is to rent a bike for the day and explore city and then to relax cycle 10k south along river salzach until you get to a place called wallbad beside hydro station. A cool lake hang out spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17travelbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The hostel is in a lovely-looking building, although the inside is a little sparse.
Relatively well priced, for a private room anyway, and the location is semi-close (walking distance), with nice views of the river.

Free wifi is provided, but only in the lobby, which was a let-down for us, but there are some other good facilities available (washer/dryer, etc).

What really let us down was the experience with the young female receptionist.
We had not booked a room, but had been at an internet cafe down the road and noticed there were several vacancies - so we strolled down thinking booking a private double room would be a piece of cake.
The receptionist greeted us pleasantly, then went on to explain that she wasn't technically sure how to book our room for us - we needed to use to computers downstairs to make an online booking. Considering we had a fair bit of cash on us and didn't want to pay a online fee (international bank transactions add up quickly), this was an inconvenience.

We, however, tried, and found that the hotel website itself claimed there was no availability. We researched a few other booking agents, and found there was a vast discrepancy between the prices. Our patience gone by this point, we again asked the receptionist if she would figure out how to do her one job; making a room available for us.

She again claimed she didn't know how without an online booking, so we demanded she call someone who did. After a few eye-rolls on her part, and about 20 minutes of hushed phone conversations, she finally understood how to write our names down in the book, have us fill out a form, and check our passports.

Everyone is entitled to learn, and as a customer service worker myself I know how difficult it can be. However when you're miles away from home and have had a difficult day travelling, having to encounter inexperienced and, frankly, incompetent, staff member is completely unacceptable. May I add there was no apology or reason.

Also, towels cost 10 Euros which is utterly ridiculous for a private room that costs 80 Euros a night, hostel-setting or not.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazlefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This place made our stay in Salzburg so enjoyable. The staff was very helpful and the room was outstanding. It was huge, clean and wonderfully furnished. It was super quiet, breakfast was good, and the shared kitched had everything you could ask for. The hostel was on the river and within walking distance from the train station and the old city. The only thing we could complain about is the daily showing of " The Sound of Music" in the lobby, which I'm sure many people may have enjoyed. Couldn't have asked for a better place, if we come back we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Pros: good location (10 minutes from centre), good staff, free internet, good breakfast.

Cons: rooms are dirty, bathroom is terrible, towel costs 10 euro, internet only in looby (no wi-fi), computer comes from the end of 90-s, very noisy.

Ordinary youth cheap hostel but price is too big.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boris_sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.4 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.5 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#26 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scherer Hotel
Scherer Hotel
#100 of 132 in Salzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.6 mi away
A&O Salzburg Hauptbahnhof
A&O Salzburg Hauptbahnhof
#7 of 37 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Youth Hostels Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Youth Hostels Salzburg

Property: Strawberry Youth Hostels Salzburg
Address: Strubergasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Strawberry Youth Hostels Salzburg 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strawberry Youth Hostel Salzburg lies close to the Old Town and it takes only 10 minutes to get to the Downtown. The building lies right next to the river Salzach, in a wonderful location. A separate road for travellers on bicycle and on foot takes visitors to the Downtown along the river bank of Salzach. We offer rooms for 1, 2, 3 and 4 people, in each room there is a toilet and a shower. You can also have breakfast in the restaurant in our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Strawberry Youth Hostels Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing