We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadians abroad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Youth & Family Guesthouse
Nova Scotia CANADA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Canadians abroad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

This was our 3rd hostel in a month long journey around Germany and surrounding countries. I found it to be on the same level as the ones in Germany. Great booking system and great prices.

Pros:
Location to Alte Stadt, view from front price and free parking (a real rarity in Europe)
Beds were one the best that we slept in


Cons:
Food was a little limited
Getting to the hostel from Munich is so time consuming within the city. Lots of one ways and weird lights

Noise level- this seemed to be the rowdiest location of all hostels we tried in a one month period.

Regardless this is a great deal with the location and price

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellieh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
1
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

The place/room is neat, clean and everything is very efficient. Bfast included, which is with abundant choice. Lunch and dinner are not included but you can still order from the cafeteria with low cost. Wifi everywhere and the staffs in the reception were very helpful. What else could you ask from a hostel?

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

Centrally located. Only 15-20 minutes away from the train station by bus. The bus stop is just a couple of minutes walk away from the hostel and most of the buses to monuments stop here. The hostel had people from many countries staying there and had a great outdoor sitting. The rooms were basic with clean sheets & towels given at the time of check in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The complementary "hearty" breakfast was great. Every evening there is a screening of sound of music (the movie). Also, there is free internet access. There are free lockers for your belongings. The only con was that the common bathrooms did not have hot water at times and the shower stalls did not have any doors but only shower curtain.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Shower stalls & shower facilities
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UVed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manipal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

Good for students and friends in a group who dont mind staying in dorm and sharing common toilets

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Breakfast could have been better
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank entdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

With very little research, my friends and I selected this hostel for the next leg of our trip. The hostel was centrally located, immaculate, and staffed with helpful people.

The three of us were able to stay in a room with three bunks with a bathroom/shower inside the room for around 20 euros a night. Definitely a great deal.

Super clean, no frills, would definitely recommend.

Free parking!

OH! And the Sound of Music Tour Bus leaves from the hostel every morning! Who could resist? ;)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperPaigey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights with 7 friends.

It was a great hostel - very clean and friendly. there was a massive common area, and free wireless - the breakfast was also really great.

It doesnt have anywhere to party - so dont think you will get a bar or anything - you will get daily screenings of the sound of music though! realistically salzberg isnt really a party city - so this hostel perfectly fits the vibe

other than that the rooms had very little space - no where to put bags if they didnt fit in lockers other than in the coridoor next to the beds.

  • Liked — Location & the hostel itself
  • Disliked — No place to party
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

The location of this hostel is great: in the old part of town within walking distance to all the sites and shops and my room had a great view of the Hohensalzburg Fortress. If you want to go further out there is a bus stop at the end of the road.

I was travelling alone and stayed for two nights. The hostel is very impersonal because it's so large - it's more like a hotel really - but I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and got chatting to people that way.

Discounted tours can be booked from the front desk and the tour companies pick you up from the door which was great.

Desk staff were not particularly friendly but they did give out useful information if you really asked.

I would avoid the food. Breakfast was ok and it is convenient to eat in the hostel before going out for the day but I would definitely not buy the meal voucher for dinner. On the first day I thought this would be the easy option but the portions served up were very small and the dessert buffet was almost empty even though I was quite early. For not much more money you can enjoy a lovely relaxing meal at one of the many pavement cafes.

The rooms and bathrooms do need updating. A lot of the wooden bunks had graffiti all over them and the showers a bit hit and miss. However the place was clean and the bedding was spotless.

It was pretty expensive for what you got but then so is everywhere in this city so I would probably stay there again because of the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cost of everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samfan121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
Townhouse Weisses Kreuz
#94 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wolf
Hotel Wolf
#79 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Schwarzes Rossl
Schwarzes Rossl
#88 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Pension am Eschenbach
#32 of 60 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth & Family Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth & Family Guesthouse

Property: Youth & Family Guesthouse
Address: Josef-Preis-Allee 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Salzburg
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Youth & Family Guesthouse Hotel Salzburg
Youth And Family Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing