We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel in central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

With this hotel you get what you pay for. Budget hotel. Clean. Good sized room. I found the bed hard, but that's my personal opinion. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment.
It's location is it's selling point. Only 5 minutes walk to central Salzburg. Parking underneath was easy and convenient. Also had free wifi but you had to re-login every 20 minutes. This is still better than the more expensive hotels that charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback!

I'm glad to inform you, that we changed the wi-fi system in our hotel. Now our guests are connected for 24 hours and the procedure to connect is much easier.

We would be very happy to welcome you again and send lovely greetings from Salzburg

Vanessa Rosenmayer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

While hard to find and having to park your car a few blocks away, it is well worth it. Very modern and clean. Looks rather new. We really liked it and the location is superb. They need to inform you that to drive to the hotel you need a passcode to lower a pole in the narrow street to enter the area and that there is only one of the few that you can use. It was very confusing.

Room Tip: Talk or email the hotel to get instructions on how to get by the pole to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashevilleguy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your great feedback!
I am happy to read, that you had a well stay in our Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbräu. Obviously you mixed up our two locations in the town. Star Inn Hotel Salzburg ZENTRUM is outside oft the pole area of Salzburg. Always accessibly by car without any traffic restrictions and we are able to offer our guest 45 private parking lots at additional cost of 15 Euro.

I will forward for commend to my colleagues from Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Gablerbräu. We will work on it to inform our guest in advance about the car access and parking possibility.

I m looking forward to welcoming you again in Star Inn Hotels.
Christian Doppelhofer, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We've just spent a long weekend at this hotel. For the rate we paid we really couldn't fault the room or location. Just a short walk throught the tunnel beneath the mountain and we were in the wonderful old town. The room was very clean but could really benefit from air conditioning. There is a fan in the room but the weather was quite humid and this made the room unbearably hot. Our rating would be much higher except there was a trainee on reception called Tatijana who was so rude - not just to us but to several other guests too. I suggest whoever is training her needs to monitor her more closely as she has a lot to learn about customer service. She was abrupt and never said please or thank you and did not smile despite wearing her 'smiley' badge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaidenheadCocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest!
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for the time you spent to give me feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear your stay wasn’t as pleasant you expected it to be. Normally our air conditioning works better, but we had hidden problems. After a thorough check-up last week all the problems are now fixed.

Mrs Tatijaner is a student apprentice and still has a lot to learn. This does not, of course, justify her behavior and I truly apologize for her rudeness. I will see to it that this will never happen again. Your feedback is, however, very valuable for it will force her to think about and reflect upon her behavior and her attitude towards our guests. I assure you that we will handle this matter in a correct and constructive way with her and thank you again for your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Star Inn Salzburg Zentrum is just a 5 minutes foot walk away from the city center of Salzburg. You will find many Hotels in this city but just a few in this location and for this price. If you book short before your arrival the Hotel will always tell you that they have no more Standard rooms available but only business rooms. This only means that there is a leather chair in the room which the standard room doesn't have. But selling a business room they will charge you EUR 10,00 to 20,00 more than the standard room. Whenever I booked this hotel, the standard rate was never available but even the business room rate is OK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelllllerSalzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa R, Manager at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your feedback!
On our website or triadvisor you can always find good offers. Of course our standard rooms are the first sold out.

I am welcoming you again in Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

we stayed for 3 nights and it was good. very good location, just a few minutes to the city center. 2 bus stations in front of the hotel. nice room and nice service staff. i can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Florian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you yery much for your feedback and recommendation. At the trolly bus station in front of the hotel stop the bus line 1, 4 and 10. There are direct connections to train stadion or airport.

Best regards from Salzburg

Christian Doppelhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is not a luxury hotel by any definition. It is strictly functional. BUT it is VERY functional. The rooms are small but very warm (this is a very rare feature in hotels in Europe in the winter). The heating is fabulous. And the staff really friendly. The bathrooms are small but good. The hotel is BRILLIANTLY located. And there is a bus from the station that drops you right at the hotel entrance. The breakfast is also very good - one of the best we had in 2 months in Europe. It is not an inexpensive hotel but given how convenient it is, I will surely book here again - particularly if I am in Salzburg in the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InfiniteOceanFilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your through and through lovely and good rating.

We are very pleased to read that you have a comfortable time with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Advent this year.

We send greetings from sunny Salzburg and are looking forward to a reunion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The hotel is definitely not a luxury hotel but a good, clean and functional hotel. The rooms were ideal though the beds were a tad bit hard. The wifi interner was super fast but the only catch was the loggin in very half an hour or so. The breakfast did not have a lavish spread and had the basic essentials like cereals, bread, cold meat and eggs.
The location however was very good. Its a few minutes walk to the old town and the other attractions.We were visiting during Christmas and the whole area seemed very dead. There was a Chinese restaurant bang opposite the hotel which we enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterShadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa R, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. Nice that you felt well with us.

I'm happy to announce that we have fully equipped our hotel with new and thicker mattresses in September. This makes your sleep even more comfortable!

In Salzburg there are many excellent restaurant. Let our staff at the reception give you a recommondation for your dinner in Salzburg .

We would be delighted to welcome you back with us and remain with kind regards from the city of Mozart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
929 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#41 of 132 in Salzburg
675 reviews
1.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#15 of 132 in Salzburg
897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort

Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £82 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing