We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well located hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Hotel is ideally located to explore the attractions of Salzburg, Hochensalzburg and the shopping and dining street Getriedegasse. Breakfast is good at the hotel but is charged extra and not included in the room tariff. Front desk personnel are friendly but not speak much English.
The rooms are comfortable and most attractions within Salzburg are not far. Highly recommended for leisure travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalgudiRaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    352
    92
    18
    3
See reviews for
169
255
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is clean but basic. If you have a choice, try for a room on the first floor or in the annex as the elevator is small and very slow. The annex is up one flight of stairs, so not good if one is mobility impaired. The hotel is within easy walking distance of restaurants and old Salzburg.

Room Tip: Annex is in the rear and quiet, but up one flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bres130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent two nights here. As reported before, the hotel is much cheaper than old town prices. It is just a short walk through the tunnel. We felt very safe coming and going at all hours. The room is tight but clean. We did not do the breakfast but ate at the nearby farmers market! It has a wonderful collection of fruits and items. Easy bus connection to the train station.

We would definitely stay again based on a price comparison, location and quality.

Lastly, there is a nice italian garden restaurant a few blocks away (on the left ...walking down the street away from the tunnel). It was packed with locals having drinks and light meals.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaPot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Sytayed here for 2 nights in July with 2 adults and 2 children. Hotel is superbly located, just 5 minutes walk from the Old Town and the amazing sights and directly accesible from the train station by the number 1 bus which stops right accross the road. Location is great for families as its just far enough from the main drag to be quiet yet a short walk brings you into the heart of Salzburg.

Staff at reception absolutely lovely, very helpful and patient even though we were tired and eager to get to the room after a long journey. They even organised a bus tour for us despite the late notice. The room was spacious, basic in furnishings but absolutely spotless with comfortable beds, crisp linen and an amazing power shower. Breakfast was a buffet and there was plenty for everyone.

This hotel came in at a fraction of the cost of others we had looked at near the river, but delivered just as well in every area. Could not recommend it more highly, especially for those who would be sightseeing all day as we were and simply look forward to a clean fresh and comfy bed to return to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina Maria E, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest ,
thank you very much for the very beautyful words you wrote about us and our hotel .
We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying here with us and we are hoping to see you very soon again here in our hotel .
Until the next time I`m sending you my very best regards from Salzburg
Cristina Maria Ehim
Reception
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Good location and free wifi but very uncomfortable bed and poor air conditioning. Mosquitoes were unwelcome visitors when the window was open. This probably was the narrowest room I have ever stayed in, and I had to walk sideways through the tiny gap at the end of the bed. The scuff marks on the wall were evidence that everyone else had the same problem. After three days this become very tedious and I couldn't wait to leave! Only tried breakfast once and it was a poor selection of food poorly presented in an overcrowded room. Never again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Salzburg is a city built around a river and a hill. The river Salzach flows right through it. Along the southern side of the Salzach and running parallel to it, is a hill called Monchsberg, which hosts the famous Hohensalzburg Fortress. The old town of Salzburg is nestled neatly between the Salzach and Monchsberg. The northern side of the city across the Salzach is home to many of beautiful hotels which afford a stunning view of the Salzach and the Hohensalzburg fortress. Across the Monchsberg, on the side away from the Salzach, towards the south, are newer parts of the town including the W.A Mozart International Airport. There is a convenient tunnel dug through Monchsberg to allow easy vehicular and pedestrian access.

It is here that the Star Inn Salzburg Zentrum is located. It's about 5 minutes walking from the old town to the hotel. At the same time, since we're not in old town or along the Salzach, the prices are quite affordable here. This is a budget, no frills hotel. Those looking for a lavish pampering, walk away!

The hotel is very easily accessible from the HBF by bus. It's walking distance through the tunnel in the Monchsberg to the Old Town and many of it's attractions. Old town: 3-5 minutes. Monchsbergaufzug (Monchsberg Lift): 7 minutes, Hohensalzburg Funicular: 10 minutes.

In the hotel itself, the rooms nice and clean with an LCD TV and a balcony too. The only concern for me was the size of the room. Granted, we'd gone for the cheapest category of rooms, but I felt it was rather small. Two of us couldnt walk about without bumping into our luggage or something else. However at the price we paid for it, I can't really complain.

Folks arriving from the Airport, this hotel is closer to the airport than the old town or the other hotels bordering the Salzach. This hotel is also closer to Schloss Leopoldskron than other parts of Salzburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanmay_Joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in July with family for 4 nights.
The location is excellent & is 3-5 minutes walking distance to Old Town. Bus stop is bang opposite the hotel for ride to train station (Bus no 1).
The room was spacious, neat & clean.
The staff at reception are very helpful (Ms Nguyen & another lady whose name I can't recall).
The Wifi can be slow sometimes but most times it was pretty fast.
There is a very good Italian restaurant further up the road & a SPAR supermarket as well.
I strongly recommend this hotel & it is very good value in overpriced beautiful Salzburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pacificparsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
1.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#26 of 132 in Salzburg
1,557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort

Property: Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Address: Hildmannplatz 5 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is located right in the heart of the city of Mozart, only 300 m from the Playhouse and the famous Getreidegasse. Here the birthplace of the musical child genius is situated. Easily reached from any direction, our hotel offers you the ideal starting point for conducting your business. Or for an unforgettable weekend stay: A wondrous environment, a city centre with incomparable atmosphere and culinary delights at every turn are waiting for you there. The hotel has 61 covered parking spaces available, and the two large public garages under the Monchsberg offer many more only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Salzburg Zentrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing