We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay..”
Review of Haus Ballwein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus Ballwein
Ranked #14 of 62 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights... We enjoyed it very much! Very beautiful and warm place.. clean and well maintained. Ample parking space if you are driving. Our host is a very friendly lady, who even offered to prepare early breakfast for us because we wanted to start the day earlier than their usual breakfast timing. What service! :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from May 19 to May 22. We were welcomed by Frau Ballwein and were taken to our room. I enjoyed her enthusiasm and willingness to help out where she could. The customer service prior to arriving was excellent. The breakfast selection provided many options. Felt very much at home in Salzburg.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mtbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This Bed and Breakfast was very comfortable, clean, and our hostess was very helpful. The breakfast was delicious! We had to leave early the second morning and our hostess put together some sandwiches and fruit for us to take with us since we would not be there for breakfast. The bus stop is quite convenient. Our family enjoyed our stay here very much and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcomeau2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I am an Austrian American and visit my elderly Mother twice a year in Austria. On my last visit in Nov. 2013 I stayed 2 days at Haus Ballwein, because I liked the online site and it was also recommended by Rick Steve whose advise I often follow.The room was charming, the breakfast excellent and the Lady of the House kind and helpful. I would highly recommend it.
H. Paulin, Florida

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Haus Ballwein and would recommend it to anyone. The house is located just outside of the Altstadt (old city) area and has incredible views of the surrounding meadows and mountains. The room was clean and spacious, with a great deck and hot shower. Our hosts were extremely friendly and a delicious breakfast was served between 8am and 10am. The bus that takes you into town stops right outside of the house, so it could not be easier to get around.

If you are looking for a beautiful location with a personal touch, then this is a great choice and an excellent value at only 60 euros per night. If we ever go back to Salzburg, we will be staying at Haus Ballwein again. What a great find! The only possible drawback was that our hosts were fairly busy and did not offer an kind of orientation to the city. So if you insist on staying at a B and B where the owners sit down with you and map out your day, this might not be your place. That being said, everything else was superb and the staff was super friendly. Totally worth it!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank livelycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a very nice B&B to stay at. We liked it because it was away from the packed city with ample parking for our car. The bus stops right in front of the house and it gets you to all points in city in about 10-15 minutes with 24 hour pass. Breakfast was great and varied. Host helped with directions and advice. This is a farm house so best used as a comfortable place to stay and tour out of. Highly recommend you check it out and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dav711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this quaint B&B in Sept/Oct 2013. We had stayed in hotels/hostels throughout our travels that were right in the city center and this was a sweet escape from the noise/business that we had encountered. We had a very pleasant stay! The family that owned the B&B were extremely welcoming; it felt like home as soon as you arrived. Bus stop is right outside the place, comes frequently, and gets you to main attractions within approx. 15-20 minutes; very convenient! The room itself was spotless, had great wifi, and had a great view! Breakfast each morning was more than a person could ask for with great assortments of fresh homemade bread, meats, cheeses, cereals, etc.; very tasty. Was also conveniently located near the Stiegl brewery about a 5 minute bus ride and short walk (for those of you interested).

I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a relaxing, welcoming stay. We were wishing we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
2.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
910 reviews
2.3 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Haus Steiner
Haus Steiner
#6 of 62 in Salzburg
284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Weisse Taube
Hotel Weisse Taube
#5 of 62 in Salzburg
614 reviews
0 mi away
Pension Ballwein
Pension Ballwein
#12 of 62 in Salzburg
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Ballwein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Ballwein

Address: Moosstrasse 69/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range: £66 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haus Ballwein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing