We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Salzburg”
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

After we arrived, the friendly hotel manager told us that our room was across the street in another building. That was strange, because the hotel has an entire floor in an appartement building, where other people do live in the above floors. However, after entering a door with a keycard, there was a corridor that looks like every other hotel around the world.
The rooms were good except for the lack of air conditioned and the shower nozzle/ water barrier need improvement. If you like to sleep under warm water, you will awake with a flooded bathroom.

The breakfast is very good, with a wide range of choices. The staff is friendly, especially Veronika. The Internet is paid, but it's fast. Near the train station, but a 30 min walk from the old town centre.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SpikeBlck82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at 'Der Salzburger Hof' in Salzburg, Austria, from 19.8.12 to 23.8.12 (4 nights). We were two adults and two children at the ages of 2 and 4. The room that we got was very big with two double beds and was more than enough for us. According to our prior request, the hotel management arranged for us a room on the ground floor so it will be easy for us with our little children. The bathroom was big, with bath and was separated from the toilets (which is an advantage IMHO). Although the room was on the ground floor, it was very quiet and all of us could have a good night's sleep after an exhausting day of traveling. The room has no air condition, but there are fans which are sufficient, given the fact that in Austria there may be rain even in august.
The location of the hotel is two minutes walking from the Salzburg central bus station, and from there almost every bus brings you to the old town within 15 minutes.
Breakfast was rich and included diversity of foods, and gave us energy to begin our daily tours.
Reception is manned 24 hours a day, and always ready to help.
We came to Salzburg with a rental car, so the fact that parking is free was very important for us.
All in all, we have had a good time at 'Der Salzburger Hof' and we recommend it wholeheartedly.

Chen and Chanoch Shemesh, Israel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chen_Shemesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel is clean, close to the train station and the staff is nice. That being said, it is really far from any of the sights that we wanted to see in Salzburg. The shower was miserable (we had two rooms and both showers were awful). The rooms are stark. There are no real restaurant choices close by. Its not a terrible place, and is not expensive (comparatively) but I wouldn't return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Small but clean and comfortable hotel located near the train station and a mall far from downtown Salzburg. Mix neighborhood is not representative of Salzburg but there are bus stops nearby and the river is close by. Breakfast is rich with a great latte, expresso machine. Staff is good and friendly. Downside is that the hotel charges for Internet but it is a small amount.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REBECA Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was one of our favourite cities on the trip. Be aware when you get a room here, that there is a main building, and an annex. We were in the annex. I can't comment on the main part of the hotel. Here's what we thought:
pros: good breakfast, only five minute walk to the river, and then a nice stroll (20 minutes or so) to the old town, close to the train station and transit, clean room, tub/shower combo, mini fridge and safe, very helpful staff who were pleasant

cons: annex was a little dull- not dirty, just a little bland in the decorating, no air-conditioning, and the road was quite noisy (I don't care too much about air conditioning, but if the windows are open, you get quite a bit of traffic noise)...keep in mind, I don't know what the main part is like, but the annex was across the street from the hotel, and you had to cross the road for the service desk and breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main hotel, they look much nicer from what I've seen on-line, and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disneygroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Der Salzburger wasn't our first choice for a hotel in Salzburg - but in the end we were happy to have stayed in this family run hotel. The staff is simply amazing, they couldn't do enough for us, and that made our stay enjoyable. It is a good 20 minute walk to the old town, the hotel provides umbrellas for rainy days/evenings. The hotel is close to the rail station. The breakfast is fine, again the staff try their best to accommodate individual tastes. The themed rooms are simply wallpaper on one wall. The only irritating thing was the bathroom taps - they shut on/off automatically and that made hand washing and brushing your teeth a challenge. We used the bathtub. They do charge a small fee for the internet.
The dining room is privately run in the evening, nothing special better to dine in the Old Town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in a quad room for 2 nights and everything was very good. Room was fine for 2 adults and 2 kids and bathroom was modern and clean. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were great with giving us advice. The walk along the river to the old city was very nice and it was easy to get the buses back as the hotel is near the main station.
Lovely restaurants in the old town and we had very hot days with balmy evenings.
Salzburg was great for short break. Highlight for us was the cable car to the peak overlooking the city. The Salzburg card was great value as we used it for the zoo, the cable car, the river trip and all buses.
We then took the train to Vienna and got great advice at the station from a traveller who told us to use the Westbahn trains and not the national OBB trains and we paid 100 euro instead of 180 for 4 people and the journey took the same 2hrs 45 mins.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank acs2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,059 reviews
1.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £75 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing