We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
arthotel Blaue Gans
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Tx.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“loved the vibe”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Loved the vibe of this hotel. The decor is fabulous, the rooms are cool.

The only thing that wasn't perfect is that one of our windows did not have drapes and the lights from outside (signs) shown brightly in our room. I may not have noticed, but I had not yet shaken off the jet lag and I wasn't sleeping as heavily as normal. The second night did not bother me as much.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and they made reservations for us on top of the Modern Musuem der Morderne. Loved! The view was amazing!

It's an art hotel! Take time to browse the art. I wish we had had more time in Salzburg...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgrigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
... probably the next time.
we do change the artworks from time to time. so there is always something new to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    157
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
112
278
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband, two children (10 and 7) and I recently spent 3 nights here. We stayed in the family suite (without kitchen). It was very large with a separate master bedroom with king size bed, a single bedroom and a single bed was put into the living room. There was more than ample space. The bathroom was very large with a separate toilet room and the water pressure in the shower was excellent. The toiletries and hair dryer were good. The room was beautiful and more space than we had expected. The weather was cool while we were there so no need to sleep with the windows open and it was quiet. There is a cooling unit in the living room that we did not have to us. The staff was very helpful and friendly and helped us with dinner reservations at other restaurants (highly recommend dinner at the K&K hotel). Breakfast was very good with specialty eggs and coffees to order as well as a buffet. The location was fantastic, on the main pedestrian shopping street. Parking garage was in the mountain, right across the road. We absolutely loved Salzburg and would definitely stay in this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissi914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
many thanks to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This very conveniently located hotel -- a quiet corner of bustling touristy Salzburg -- is an experience in itself. This visit is my second one here. The hotel is located in a building which dates back to the 14th century, which was renovated as a boutique hotel with an emphasis on art and culture. Each room is designed differently and uniquely, modern and interesting. There is a library with a wide assortment of interesting books where one can relax, drink tea, eat fruit or have cookies supplied by the hotel (usually there is a shortage of cups or they need to come to fill up the hot water, but nevertheless....). The breakfast is unusual in its variety (roast beef? among the usual items) and very aesthetically presented. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank Mark für den Hinweis, daß unsere Tee-Bar gut angenommen wird und wir hier öfter nach dem Rechten schauen sollten.
Wir freuen uns schon auf Ihr 3. Mal.
Liebe Grüsse
das Team vom arthotel Blaue Gans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Splendid location in the Old Town of Salzburg yet a bit from the crowds, thus nice and really quiet.
I had a not too spacious but perfectly adequate and rather charming room under the roof. Good facilities and nice touches like the little rubber duck mentioned by others.
Excellent breakfast. Very helpful staff. I can´t think of anything to complain about, and with such a charming place why should I?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nihilnisibene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
you are charming as well.
thank you very, very much.
greetings from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A 666 year old hotel, tastefully renovated, in the old part of town with very attentive staff and delicious food in restaurant: I'll be back, and soon !

Location: outstanding

Rooms: varying sizes, renovated as far as heritage guide lines allow. Clean, modern comfy,soundproof & warm

Restaurant: only had breakfast which was very good

Staff: attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schalk Willem v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
thank you so much.
i am sure our goose found a wonderful new home in Signapore.
greetings from Austria
the arthotel Blaue Gans team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Perfect location for this little hotel! Loved the wooden flooring, modern bathroom, minimalist feel and bright colours of the room! And the little touch of the cute little blue rubber ducky which we were invited it take home :) That was most adorable. Extremely clean.
Staff were attentive and most helpful. Both the check in and out were quick and efficient.
The location was a huge benefit. Right at the old city. Walking distance to many of the historical sites. Lots of cafés, restaurants, shops etc at the doorstep.
Breakfast was okay. Could have been better. Restaurant may have been a tad understaffed, but they were still cheerful and obliging.
The outdoor restaurant, Blaue Gans, was excellent for dinner. The food was of high standard and the al fresco setting was pretty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyn1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
and we love you for your warm words.
MANY THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

First time in Salzburg and a great choice as it's a really funky boutique designer establishment in the best location. The hotel walls are bedecked with art works and facilities include a restaurant, outdoor bar and a guest library/sitting room with interesting cultural reading. Went for a larger room which had an incredible wooden ceiling (rustic and heavily beamed). This created a great view from the comfy superking 2 mattress / 2 duvet bed (highly recommend if you share a bed with a duvet snatcher). It was hot during our 3 night stay (late 20's celsius) and the hotel was like a small furnace so we left the air con on 24/7. I expect it's exceptionally cosy in winter though. The outdoor bar behind the hotel was very comfortable and served food in the evening. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty (grated carrot seemed very popular with guests....go figure that one). We borrowed the hotel's folding bikes twice and rode all over town including the cycle paths beside the river. A highlight of our stay was dinner in the restaurant as the food and service was just exceptional.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Circe_Sorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthotelBlaueGans, Leiter Front Office at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
thank you for your positive sentences.
did you miss the carrots already at home?
best regards
the arthotel Blaue Gans team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to arthotel Blaue Gans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about arthotel Blaue Gans

Property: arthotel Blaue Gans
Address: Getreidegasse 41-43, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — arthotel Blaue Gans 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaue Gans, whose tradition dates back 660 years, is the oldest inn in the city of salzburg. It boasts a prime location opposite the festival hall and in the heart of the historic centre, which has been declared a world cultural heritage site, and is only a short walk from mozart's birthplace.We have carefully combined the historic walls of this inn, which is steeped in tradition, with a modern design and contemporary art. The result is a place that exudes a natural feel, a venue for people who like to pursue their own way. we are pleased to accompany you along a part of this way.artHOTEL: more than just a Designhotel, synonymous with the personal freedom for an individual lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your arthotel Blaue Gans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Blaue Gans Salzburg
Arthotel Blaue Gans Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing