We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Grossglockner Glacier - Highest Mountain in Austria - Private Tour from Salzburg
1

Book in advance
from
£500.53
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Grossglockner
from £500.53
More Info
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
320
61
8
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
320
61
8
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We had to visit the Grossglockner and soak up the scenery and the fresh air. The scenery is simply breathtaking and you won't find any better. As you travel up the pass the topology changes with every turn. The view from the top.....stunning!

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Passp0rtAlwaysReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2016

For advanced skiers only, do not take it lightly. Wide and fast slopes, frequent snow storms, can become very challenging

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2016

It is very nice to drive through Grossglockner High Alpine Road. It's a funny winding road, plenty of bends where you will find so beautiful spots to stop and take nice shots. Grossglockner is huge and have a nice glacier. You will love this driving and the mountains.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

The view is truly amazing, hard to get a grip of it. Stay for a while and grab something to eat at the peak.
If your in Austria, you have to see this!

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank linusk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Looks like most people here review the Grossglockner road, not the mountain itself. Hopefully I am not misplacing my review in an attempt to talk about actual mountain.
It is a highest mountain in Austria and as such is a magnet for crowds in summer. Nonetheless it is a must to visit when you have a chance. There are many different mountain huts (you can find some pretty tasty mountain dishes there) and you can easily reserve few if you are doing a multi-day tour around the mountain. I've climbed this mountain multiple times and every time was amazed by it's prominence, beauty and, when you are up close, the sheer exposure of the almost vertical walls. Hiring a bergfuhrer is not that expensive and highly recommended for people simply looking to "just get there". There is a non-technical way up to the top and is possible for people with normal physical abilities.

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews