We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Grossglockner Glacier - Highest Mountain in Austria - Private Tour from Salzburg
1

Book in advance
from
£500.53
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Grossglockner
from £500.53
More Info
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
320
61
8
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
320
61
8
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyable day out. We were so lucky with the weather. It was crystal clear skies and we had such amazing views all along the alpine road and the highest peak. We walked to the bottom of the glacier which is quite a hard walk and saw lots of marmots!

We stopped off at one of the restaurant for a spot of lunch which was quite expensive but good. Quite a few handy souvenir shops aswell.

P.s. I definitely recommend wearing proper walking shoes as we were completely gob smacked at the amount of people trying to walk up/down a mountain in flip flops!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank 427vickim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2016

It is indeed one of the finest roads I've ever crossed. At the entrance to the road which is a toll road (35 euro for a car and 25 euro for a motorcycle) there is a lovely center with a wildpark, children playground, restaurant and tourist shops. The road itself is 48 km long and has a lot of atractions on the way including: Pasterze Glacier, Kaiser Franz Josef Hohe, Grosglockner mountain and Heiligenblut lovely village.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Meir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Take this road to heaven going through beautiful landscapes, fresh air, snow, cows, ice, mountains and above all...nature !

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank giln1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I have to review the cafe we visited on this site as im unable to find the cafe itself in tripadvisor my apologies.
We arrived at this Café after a wonderful drive up, the Café was run by a couple that I can only describe as very strange, I asked the lady if she spoke English she just shrugged ! I then asked if she had sandwiches ? she went into a cupboard behind her and produced two white buns one cheese one ham she then said " cheese or ham ok ?"
I asked if she had brown bread, she then huffed and talking to herself in German I can only guess a translation as " she wants brown bread now !" I felt very uneasy.
While she was making a sort of brown bread cheese thing others were arriving by bus and she looked horrified and they were all coming into the café ! hello you are a café !
Meanwhile a gentleman was behind the counter just standing and staring at people including me, he then came from behind the counter and was hovering around the tables making me feel very uneasy indeed, but I soon figured out he was stopping the people from using the toilet unless they had 50 cents !!! he was bouncing change in his hand and pointing to a sign near a turnstile which stated WC 50cents. An elderly gentleman could not understand at first then he shook his head clearly not happy and walked away from the WC entrance with a turnstile ( yes a turnstile )
Whilst I understand the lanugauge barrier on both sides was there realy any need to act like this !
I felt uneasy, unwelcome and annoyed and for what is a superb place to visit and the views are to die for this café is a rip off for tourists and I had to mention this for visitors in the future.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank CalPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2016

When we first arrived at the toll, we were told to wait for 30 minutes as the road was closed to motorbikes.

Once allowed through we made our way to the top, riding through clouds along the way. The roads were wet, but no snow - plenty at the sides though - 7ft in places.

Visibility was very poor in places, so we didn't get to experience the great views on the way up or down the mountain.

Visited both cafe/parking areas but didn't stop too long due to the bad weather. We did get some decent views despite the low cloud, would like to do the road again in the summer.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews