We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great no-frills stay close to everything in Innsbruck!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basic Hotel Innsbruck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Basic Hotel Innsbruck
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great no-frills stay close to everything in Innsbruck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is, as the name implies, a basic hotel. But that being said, it doesn't disappoint. The room was spacious and came with a balcony. Though not exactly overlooking the Inn river, we were still close enough to hear its roar. If you take a room facing the opposite side from the reception, you face the rear side of some warehouses. That's just in front. Look further and you can see the colorful houses of Innsbruck hugging the mountain behind them. At night you can see the lights of Hungerberg, Seegrube and Hafelekar faintly. In all our stays, this hotel gave us the best view. The room itself was modern in decor and came with an LCD TV and all the usual 3 star creature comforts. The staff was exceptionally helpful.

From a location standpoint, this hotel is about a 10 minute bus ride from Innsbruck HBF. It's 3-4 minutes walking from the Altstadt and Maria Theresien Strasse (the main shopping and nightlife district) about 7-8 minutes walking from the Innsbruck Congress stop on the Hungerberg Funicular. From the Congress Stop, you also get to catch 'The Sightseer' bus. All in all, it's pretty much in the center of everything, very convenient for a tourist.

Go for it, you wouldn't regret this place!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the opposite side of the reception and as high a floor as possible. It has good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanmay_Joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    187
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
119
121
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Basic Hotel was a great place to stay! We were traveling on a budget and chose Basic Hotel for its cost and convenience to Innsbruck's old town centre. It was a great hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and answered any question we had; the rooms were spacious (including the bathroom!) and had a spectacular view of the mountains. Its location could not be beat. A few minutes walking distance to Innsbruck's old town centre and many restaurants around to choose from. It sits next door to Stefan's--a delicious bakery with the best pastries and that delicious European coffee. Everyone at Stefan's and Basic Hotel were super friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a basic hotel, ie no frills, but absolutely fine for a couple of nights for us. Good location for Innsbruck centre. Clean and convenient. You need to book parking on reservation otherwise there is an underground public park nearby but this is quite expensive. Note hotel parking is limited and there is a charge. Breakfast is in the adjacent cafe which is good quality and offers a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAST20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I give this hotel 5 stars because the front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. We booked the family room. Small with balcony and view of the mountains. No noise from the construction on front side of building. Beds were comfortable, bathroom had all we needed. Staff answered all our questions, let us check out an hour late, and let us store our luggage as our train did not leave until 2:30. Post office across the street was convenient for mailing home 3 weeks of stuff we had accumulated. The Subway next door quieted vegetarian teens who were in need of some American food. I highly recommend this hotel to families.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LabsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Basic Hotel in Innsbruck is located just outside the old city, within a short walk of most of the main attractions in Innsbruck. We were a family of four staying for two nights and enjoyed the spacious room with a beautiful view of the Nordkette.

The room was enormous by European standards and the view with a small enclosed porch overlooking the mountains beyond the Inn was breathtaking. Another highlight of this place was the huge bathroom and excellent walk-in shower.

There is parking in the back if you need it, but you should reserve it before arriving so it is available for you.

The young men working at the front desk were enormously helpful and spoke excellent English. They were even patient with me as I worked on my German with them.

The hotel caters to the "clever" traveler and focuses on getting the basics right: nice bed, good bathroom, space for clothing, and good WiFi - the things a "clever" traveler would expect. There are a few small things missing that clever travelers would appreciate. Why not have a hot water pot in the room with teas and instant coffee? There is an automatic coffee machine in the lobby, but having something in the room would be simple and convenient.

The WiFi should allow unlimited devices, and not just four. (The front desk provided us with a few extras, but there is no need to limit it.) Many people travel with multiple devices that need a WiFi connection, so the limit of four can be constraining. The WiFi should be stronger too, as it lost connection periodically. Finally, while the bakery next door is great, hotel guests should get some discount on the food purchased there as there is no breakfast included with the rooms.

In all, the Basic is a great place to stay and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Room 24 was great. You want a room looking out toward the mountain and as high as possible. (There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cplong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really liked my staying here. The rooms were big and clean, it was closed to the university and many touristic places and just beside the river. The internet was connection was goods and local market just on the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you need to do the checkout very early in the morning you should ask in the reception what to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValescaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We couldn't imagine that such a nice place was behind that small entrance! Our room was nice and clean. The bath room was big and the beds were very good. The weather in Innsbruck was very hot during our visit, but there is no air conditioning in the hotel. We had to close the windows, because there was a football screen/ bar village near the hotel and it was noisy. So it was quite warm, but ok. Boys in the reception were very friendly and helpful. A nice parking for our motorcycle was behind the hotel, so that was nice. We could see our bike from the balcony of our room. The location by the river and near the old town was ideal! We could admire the Alps from the balcony, too! Breath taking view!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annukka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.4 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mondschein
Hotel Mondschein
#9 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#3 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Innsbruck
Ibis Innsbruck
#12 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basic Hotel Innsbruck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Innsbruck

Property: Basic Hotel Innsbruck
Address: Innrain 16 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Basic Hotel Innsbruck 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one hand you can find simple solutions in the Basic Hotel: centrally located in the heart of Innsbruck at Innrain 16, only one minute walking distance to the historical old town with it's famous "golden roof", parking possibilities in two multi-story car parks next to the hotel and 24-hour self check-in at our service point. On the other hand 23 totally renovated guest & bath rooms with all comfort of a 3 star city hotel and the breakfast à la carte possibility in the in-house bistro are a clever offer for visitors of Innsbruck. Our multi share rooms are bookable up to 4 persons. The congress & fair ground, the university, the hospital, all major shopping malls and the new funicular to the Nordkette are all within walking distance. Wether you traveling on business, holidays or short break ... clever sleeping with basic style! Our team at the front desk welcome you from 7:00 am till 10:30 am and from 3:30 pm till 09:00 pm. Outside opening hours, you can access your room by using your credit card at the Check-in-point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Basic Hotel Innsbruck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing