We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but poor sofa bed let it down”
Review of Sporthotel Igls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sporthotel Igls
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very good but poor sofa bed let it down”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile


This is a reasonably good hotel. We had a large room with lobby area and balcony. We requested a high room with mountain view but sadly did not get one, we could just about see the mountain from the balcony, otherwise no view to speak of. We ordered a triple room, the third bed was a settee bed and it was a bit scrappy and very uncomfortable for a tall adult. We would not recommend this option given the poor quality sleep our daughter had.

The room was very clean and the bathroom large with shower above the bath. There is a tv in the room but no kettle or coffee, we did request a kettle but then realised there were no cups to drink from. There was fruit in the room when we arrived but no welcome drink as mentioned by several people. The windows are double glazed and we heard no outside noise although there was a fair amount of noise from the room next to us.

We thought that the breakfast was very good, variety, courteous staff and plenty to choose from. We did not eat an evening meal in the hotel although it is possible to do so. There is also a swimming pool but we did not use it.

We would recommend given that staying in Igls is very pleasant and there do not seem to be a lot of better alternatives.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    117
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
76
113
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is our second time we stayed at the Sporthotel. The hotel is good. I have seperated the review into different sections below.

Restaurant: The waiters and waitresses were great particularly Patrick, Maria her husband and their son Marco. They all spoke excellent English. Foodwise, the breakfasts was poor for a 4* hotel. The fruit didn’t seem to be fresh and they didn’t offer English Breakfasts. We did not have any lunches there however we went to the Pizzeria a couple of times which did amazing pizzas. The evening meal was ok however please read my tip about eating in the nicer restaurant in the hotel.

Bar: I have to say the bar was fantastic! All the bar staff do great cocktails. The Pianist was also great and was the ‘character’ in the bar!

SPA: The SPA has great facilities however the décor is somewhat dated and could do with some improving. The Cocktail evening is very good and very informative. It was great to be able to discuss with experts about the different treatments and information for general skin advice.

Rooms: The rooms were good, particularly the older ones which had much character. Our cleaner were also very good and kept the room spotless. The quality of sleep was also very good and we all had lovely beds and linen.

Location: Ok, so it isn’t exactly doorstep skiing in Igls, however they have a public bus that runs every 10 minutes that takes you to the ski lift. The Village also has a cable car however it is a good 5 minute walk. When comparing it to other hotels that are higher in Austria, I’m sure you will notice a big increase in price. The hotel isn’t far away for a day trip to Innsbruck which we found very convenient if you didn’t want a day skiing.

Room Tip: If you like a laugh with the waiters, ask for Patrick to serve you! It's also worth visiting th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed at the Sport Hotel half a dozen times over the past few years. It is always a delight to arrive. The staff are very helpful and help set a little of the old world charm that the hotel has.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped while the bar and restaurant are both very pleasant places to spend an hour or 2. The pool and spa are both up to standard and there is something quaint about the tunnel connecting the car park to the main part of the hotel. Igls is a great alternative to Innsbruck, close enough to be handy but with a nice relaxed atmosphere of an Austrian village.
We will be heading back again this year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here in October 2013 for 4 nights with my partner after not being able to book in to a hotel just up the road, was not disappointed!

Our room was clean and spacious with a balcony on the 3rd floor. Generally quiet at night although the Saturday night we could hear music from a local bar which went on quite late - but certainly not offensively loud. Service was top notch with a free drink of wine or juice on arrival, and also a free complimentary bottle of red in the room! We were half board so breakfast and dinner included, the food was superb with a great breakfast selection and a 5 course meal every evening + a salad bar and selection of cheeses.

Pool and spa area was superb although it wasn't until we arrived that we discovered the spa was 'naked' only, a little shocked but we go over it. There's also a nice little relaxation area just outside the spa area where you can sit relax and have a drink.

Hotel had super fast wifi throughout.

Would recommended and probably return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Try to be on the left side of the hotel, on 3rd floor, for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesPrince1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

First class with first class facilities, but note the Spa Centre Staff can be off hand if you do not use their facilities. the Restuarant was very well managed and the food excellent, do not expect to lose weight while staying here. Breakfasts nothing was too much trouble and the Dinners had plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Be on a high floor to avoid overlooking roofs of the nearby houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I had a 3 day visit to Innsbruck planned, and instead of staying right in the city, decided to stay in Igls, a small village 20 minutes (by Tram) away. We chose Sporthotel, and were absolutely delighted with this extremely comfortable hotel. From the first time we contacted the hotel months before our visit, the hospitality of the staff was evident...and NOTHING disappointed. Our room was lovely, the breakfast and dinners (we book 1/2 pension) were delicious. The spa was intimate and the massages we enjoyed were world class (and quite reasonably priced). All in all, we rank our stay at Sporthotel up there with our best travel experiences. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonnecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. From arrival, with a free glass of bubbly, to the time I left, I could not fault this hotel. My room, which was in the older part of the hotel, was spotlessly clean, & kept that way, too. The bed was very comfortable & the room temperature was able to be controlled well. There was an abundance of hot water for washing, showering, bathing etc. A good choice was provided for breakfast. One of our small group had a birthday whilst there & a bottle of bubbly, candles etc were on the breakfast table away from other guests. We ate in the restaurant one evening & found the prices moderate & the food appetising. The bus stops right outside the hotel which is very convenient for getting into Innsbruck & travel on the buses is cheap, too. All the staff were cheery & very helpful. I could not fault this hotel & will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.3 mi away
Sonnenhof Igls
Sonnenhof Igls
#22 of 75 in Innsbruck
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon Alpina
Bon Alpina
#21 of 75 in Innsbruck
294 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#35 of 75 in Innsbruck
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
#5 of 75 in Innsbruck
423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baerenwirth - Hotel
Baerenwirth - Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patsch
140 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 75 in Innsbruck
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Igls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Igls

Property: Sporthotel Igls
Address: Hilberstrasse 17, Innsbruck 6080, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#15 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Igls 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sporthotel Igls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Igls Hotel Igls
Sporthotel Hotel Igls
Igls Sporthotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing