We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively suprised”
Review of Sporthotel Igls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sporthotel Igls
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Rijeka
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Positively suprised”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There is really not one bad word to say about this hotel. The location, cleanness, breakfast & stuff is very good. Price I have got for the room was a best buy, definitely. WiFI worked perfectly. The garage below the hotel very convenient. Just book it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regenerator101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    123
    49
    16
    5
See reviews for
80
120
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for five nights on a ski trip with my daughter in March/April 14. Everything about the hotel was welcoming, friendly and highly professional. My daughter has to eat a gluten free diet and I had e-mailed ahead to advise the hotel accordingly. The staff were all aware of this when we arrived and were all able to advise her as to which items on the menu she could eat. Gluten free food was provided as and when needed.

The Spa (Wellness) facilities are also of the usual high Austrian standard.

Brilliant place would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWINDON
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Spent a week here in February half term with my wife and son, was pleased to be upgraded to a larger room on arrival and welcomed with a glass of bubbly. Hotel is clean and tidy with plenty of staff on hand. Although we did not eat in the restaurant we had breakfast each morning and this was varied and plentiful with food constantly being replenished.
The hotel is in an excellent position for skiing, the closest lift just a hundred metres away.
The hotel spa is really nice but be aware the sauna, Jacuzzi area is a no clothes zone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGRIBBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Check in - no help with bags. We had large ski bags and suitcases. And the room wasn't ready despite arriving after check-in. The room itself had a threadbare carpet and old linens. The walls were in need of paint. The bathroom was old with tub grout that was supposed to be white but was black. There was mold growing in the soap dish. I asked to have the shower curtain changed because it had mold growing on it but that never happened. There was a bottle of shampoo, one bar of soap and a shower cap. Those were the amenities. The mini bar was never restocked while we were there. (five days) Breakfast was a buffet. The same food was put out each day. How do I know this? The bowl of canned fruit that looked fairly fresh on Monday was brown by Thursday. As was the "vat" of yogurt. There was a chef to cook eggs but you had to ask and then you had to wait. On Friday morning, there was a line because he only had one frying pan! With the exception of a nice girl named Maria, the waitstaff was surly and un-interested.

Room Tip: Don't choose one in this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 901JoanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile


This is a reasonably good hotel. We had a large room with lobby area and balcony. We requested a high room with mountain view but sadly did not get one, we could just about see the mountain from the balcony, otherwise no view to speak of. We ordered a triple room, the third bed was a settee bed and it was a bit scrappy and very uncomfortable for a tall adult. We would not recommend this option given the poor quality sleep our daughter had.

The room was very clean and the bathroom large with shower above the bath. There is a tv in the room but no kettle or coffee, we did request a kettle but then realised there were no cups to drink from. There was fruit in the room when we arrived but no welcome drink as mentioned by several people. The windows are double glazed and we heard no outside noise although there was a fair amount of noise from the room next to us.

We thought that the breakfast was very good, variety, courteous staff and plenty to choose from. We did not eat an evening meal in the hotel although it is possible to do so. There is also a swimming pool but we did not use it.

We would recommend given that staying in Igls is very pleasant and there do not seem to be a lot of better alternatives.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is our second time we stayed at the Sporthotel. The hotel is good. I have seperated the review into different sections below.

Restaurant: The waiters and waitresses were great particularly Patrick, Maria her husband and their son Marco. They all spoke excellent English. Foodwise, the breakfasts was poor for a 4* hotel. The fruit didn’t seem to be fresh and they didn’t offer English Breakfasts. We did not have any lunches there however we went to the Pizzeria a couple of times which did amazing pizzas. The evening meal was ok however please read my tip about eating in the nicer restaurant in the hotel.

Bar: I have to say the bar was fantastic! All the bar staff do great cocktails. The Pianist was also great and was the ‘character’ in the bar!

SPA: The SPA has great facilities however the décor is somewhat dated and could do with some improving. The Cocktail evening is very good and very informative. It was great to be able to discuss with experts about the different treatments and information for general skin advice.

Rooms: The rooms were good, particularly the older ones which had much character. Our cleaner were also very good and kept the room spotless. The quality of sleep was also very good and we all had lovely beds and linen.

Location: Ok, so it isn’t exactly doorstep skiing in Igls, however they have a public bus that runs every 10 minutes that takes you to the ski lift. The Village also has a cable car however it is a good 5 minute walk. When comparing it to other hotels that are higher in Austria, I’m sure you will notice a big increase in price. The hotel isn’t far away for a day trip to Innsbruck which we found very convenient if you didn’t want a day skiing.

Room Tip: If you like a laugh with the waiters, ask for Patrick to serve you! It's also worth visiting th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed at the Sport Hotel half a dozen times over the past few years. It is always a delight to arrive. The staff are very helpful and help set a little of the old world charm that the hotel has.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped while the bar and restaurant are both very pleasant places to spend an hour or 2. The pool and spa are both up to standard and there is something quaint about the tunnel connecting the car park to the main part of the hotel. Igls is a great alternative to Innsbruck, close enough to be handy but with a nice relaxed atmosphere of an Austrian village.
We will be heading back again this year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.3 mi away
Sonnenhof Igls
Sonnenhof Igls
#23 of 73 in Innsbruck
138 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#32 of 73 in Innsbruck
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon Alpina
Bon Alpina
#22 of 73 in Innsbruck
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Baerenwirth - Hotel
Baerenwirth - Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patsch
144 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 73 in Innsbruck
1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gruberhof
Hotel Gruberhof
#37 of 73 in Innsbruck
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Igls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Igls

Property: Sporthotel Igls
Address: Hilberstrasse 17, Innsbruck 6080, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#15 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Igls 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sporthotel Igls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Igls Hotel Igls
Sporthotel Hotel Igls
Igls Sporthotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing