We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst stay to date”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugendherberge Reichenau
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My worst stay to date”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Appereantly the building was built in 1976 for the Olympic Games and it shows, because it hasn't been renovated much since then. The first thing that really bothered me was that the e-mail was stating the check-in is only possible after 5pm, but at the arrival the receptionist told me I could've already check-in before 5pm. You have to pay a few extra bucks for the sheets and for some reason you have to leave your ID card as a deposit for the keys. The rooms itself are really basic, small and filled with old furniture. I also got a broken locker so I had to get a new one. The toilets and showers are ok, but there is no soap or towels. There is a Wi-Fi in the hostel, but unfortunately you have to pay 3€ for a 24-hour username and password, which I found really outrageous. Most of the staff is not exactly too friendly, although the last day of my stay there was a pretty friendly guy, who even set up the breakfast more than an hour early and let us have it, which was great because I got up really early. With that being said, this is a really basic and a little overpriced accommodation, but unfortunately there aren't many good alternatives in Innsbruck.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaserslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
4
5
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bari, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

-The guy in reception at night in July 14th asked me to give him 50 € as a deposit for the key of the room, something really incredible that has not ever happen to me till new. Also, he said me that breakfast was till 10 am, but the next morning it was over about 9 am.

-The girl in the morning of July 15th, saturday, a blonde haired one, is really nasty and unkind. I wanted to claim to her but she did not let me to explain anything, shouting me and in a hurry all the time. She just said me that her timetable in the work had just finished and she was leaving the hotel to go home. She refused to give me any full to make claims.

-I am really disappointed with this hostel, mostly for this unpolite girl, and really do not want to come back ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert_Vlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Innsbruck hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I've stayed in hostels all over Europe and this must be one of the worst. Sure it's clean and tidy, but I would rather be made to feel welcome than made to feel clean!
The customer service is appalling - the staff genuinely couldn't care less about you or your stay - and that's if you can find the staff, they aren't even there between 10am and 5pm. Curfew starts at 10pm and after being told there was night staff, I came back to find no one and had to wait 45 minutes before some other clients could let me in.
It's also expensive, at 21 euro a night it's toward the more expensive end of hostels, but when they add 3 euro for a hostel card, 3 euro a day for Internet (which doesn't work in the rooms), money to use the cooker and then more money for a drink at breakfast - it's almost cheaper to stay at a hotel.
All in all a very poor experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Captainfantastic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This hostel looked like a concrete monsrosity from the outside but was nice inside. the room was very small for 6 people, there was only 4 of us in it and it was a squash. the lockers are very thin and we couldnt fit our cases in them. the showers and toilets are clean and v. close to the dorms. the breakfast was nice and there was plenty of it. the kitchen was well equipped but 20mins cooking time on the hob cost 50 cents. the washing machines were very slow and there was only one for the whole hostel which could only be used in the evening so you have to get there quick if you want to wash your clothes.
when you have eventually found the bus stop o, its very easy to get to the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb1Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 June 2004

A very big hostel. Stayed on top floor very nice views of the mountains in a very clean and spacious room. Hostel is completly shut during the day so bring a padlock to lock your baggage away in the open luggage room. Take some spare change down to breakfast with you as you have to pay for a drink with your breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel BinderS
Hotel BinderS
#59 of 73 in Innsbruck
271 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Gruberhof
Hotel Gruberhof
#38 of 73 in Innsbruck
203 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pension Zillertal
Pension Zillertal
#37 of 73 in Innsbruck
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sommerhotel Karwendel
Sommerhotel Karwendel
#44 of 73 in Innsbruck
79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pension Bistro
Pension Bistro
#52 of 73 in Innsbruck
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
Goldene Krone
Goldene Krone
#36 of 73 in Innsbruck
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugendherberge Reichenau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugendherberge Reichenau

Property: Jugendherberge Reichenau
Address: Reichenauer Strasse 147, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Jugendherberge Reichenau 1*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jugendherberge Reichenau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing