We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy modern downtown hotel”
Review of The Penz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Penz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Classy modern downtown hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Penz one night last week. The hotel is a modern glass building among in historic downtown. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was functional, clean, average size and had a great view of the surrounding city and mountains. The open-air roof-top bar had exceptional views. The hotel's breakfast offerings were superior - with a vast range of interesting fruits, cheeses, meats and breads.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maineville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    218
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
109
257
39
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

A very good, modern hotel, situated very centrally in the old town. Smart and stylish, with very comfortable rooms, it is clearly a favourite with businessmen, but perhaps lacks a little something which would make it more personal. Reception staff were articulate, knowledgeable and very helpful. Their recommendation of the Ottoburg restaurant for our evening meal was spot on. A great location with stunning views, especially from the fifth floor restaurant and bar.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BristolJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I liked the modern design and high end finish to this hotel, though it was a little impersonal and most suited to business travellers. Service was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good, the buffet was beautifully presented with a wide choice, and the breakfast room is impressive, with mountain views on 3 sides.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheBristolJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level Contributor
124 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This place is top notch. From reception to room layout of the rooms to the cleanliness and the location, everything is first class.
The most amazing detail was the breakfast - imagine you are in the heart of Europe and you walk up to a buffet that has everything from seafood to a selection of fine cheese, eggs and cold cuts and then topped with an amazing selection of tropical fruits. I have never seen anything similar in Europe and have been to many places.... the buffet is in one word, "fantastic".
This is a jewel of a hotel and I am seriously considering spending some time here in the heart of Innsbruck, at the next opportunity.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the square with panoramic windows......and a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ewaldbiemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A slightly grumpy welcome on arrival. But our room was very clean, stylish and well designed. It is also well located near to the old town. Breakfast is very good, the hotel does not provide any other meals.

A couple of things worth bearing in mind. The common areas have a faint smell of cigarettes. And whilst the wooden floors are very stylish, it does mean you can hear the people in the room above walking about or people walking past your room. For this reason I'd recommend choosing a room as far away from the lift as possible, so as few people walk past your room.

One criticism. The breakfast restaurant reserves most of the tables with window views. However, no one was ever sitting on these reserved tables at any time. Basically the message this gives is "some guests are so much more important than you, we'd rather these tables were unused than you use them".

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CWTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Penz Hotel is a nice and very comfortable hotel in the Innsbruck city center. Close to the railways station and easy to reach by car, the hotel is a very good choice to stay some pleasant days in Innsbruck. The rroms are quiet and spacious, with a very modern and warm setup. The 5th floor roof is very good for an aperitif with friends or a relaxing after-dinner. But, what I like more when I come here, it's the great breakfast ... a very furnished buffet with any sort of food --- the choice of fresh and tasty tropical fruit is embarassing how wide it is. Besides that, you can find one ot the widest selection of jams, marmelades and honeys I ever found with sweet and salted breads. It's always a pleasure to go there and wish you the same experience,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Penz Hotel is a nice and very comfortable hotel in the Innsbruck city center. Close to the railways station and easy to reach by car, the hotel is a very good choice to stay some pleasant days in Innsbruck. The rroms are quiet and spacious, with a very modern and warm setup. The 5th floor roof is very good for an aperitif with friends or a relaxing after-dinner. But, what I like more when I come here, it's the great breakfast ... a very furnished buffet with any sort of food --- the choice of fresh and tasty tropical fruit is embarassing how wide it is. Besides that, you can find one ot the widest selection of jams, marmelades and honeys I ever found with sweet and salted breads. It's always a pleasure to go there and wish you the same experience,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 75 in Innsbruck
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 75 in Innsbruck
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#9 of 75 in Innsbruck
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 75 in Innsbruck
1,876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 75 in Innsbruck
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penz Hotel

Property: The Penz Hotel
Address: Adolf-Pichler-Platz 3, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#3 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
#4 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#6 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glass palace with panorama views: in terms of furnishings, The Penz, located in the heart of Innsbruck, is not much different than other 4-star hotels. That special something is to be discovered on the fifth floor, where the bar and restaurant offer spectacular views of Innsbruck by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Penz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penz Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing