We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms at a scenic location”
Review of Hotel Eagles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eagles Inn
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Innsbruck
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We went to relax there for the weekend and did not ski or do any other activities The view of the Alps was excellent and the rooms were really big. It gives the feeling of being in a chalet. We did not dine there since they had limited vegetarian options. One must have a car to stay here otherwise getting around is certainly a problem. We are not native german speakers so the basic conversationa and service was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank As02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eagles Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

When I book hotels and B&Bs I always try to go a little off the main street and try to find something a little out of the ordinary, preferably with a beautiful view. “Out of the ordinary and with beautiful view” is the definition of Hotel Batzenhaüsl in Igls, Austria. We were looking for a great place to spend a few nights in the mountains of Austria, close to Innsbruck but without living in the center of that busy town. I booked through Booking.com for an amazing 72 Euros per night which is great for what you get for your money.

Igls is only an enjoyable 15 minute bus ride down the mountain from the center of Innsbruck and you will enjoy every minute of the ride. The bus goes from the center of the village about every 15 minutes, so transportation to the city is both easy and very cheap. Igls itself is a quaint village with a number of cafés and restaurants as well as shops, so even if you choose to stay there and enjoy the scenery, you can’t go wrong!

The hotel itself is up the hill and around the corner to the left of the center of town-which means a little off the main road, but still a short walk to the bus stop. Look for the hotel with the most beautiful flower boxes you’ve ever seen and you’ve found it! There is plenty of free parking, even under-roof parking, but it’s wise to let them know ahead of time that you will be needing a parking space.

The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and very welcoming. Ruben (who speaks great English) at the reception told us everything we needed to know…even how to get into our room, which could be a little tricky if you don’t understand the lock system. We also got to meet Angelica, who was also very sweet and helpful.

There is a small elevator, so you don’t have to lug your bags up the stairs. At this point it is important to let you know about how to choose your room. If you want a beautiful view, but don’t mind a little noise from traffic, ask for a double room with a balcony on the front of the building. If
you are sensitive to noise, ask for one facing the woods on the back side. The rooms are all very large and even though the décor is a little dated, they are VERY light, clean and comfortable and you have everything you need for a relazing stay. Besides our bed, with typical Austrian bedding, we had a small sofa(pull out extra bed) and chair, coffee table, desk and chair, large wardrobe and a minibar and tv. Plenty of room to move around and store clothes and belongings.

The spacious bathroom was also very well-equipped with bathtub/shower combination, large sink with even larger mirror, toilet and even a bidé. There was an extra plus with a magnifying make-up mirror, hair dryer and warmed up towel dryer.

The first floor also had several cozy lounge/pub rooms and a sun balcony besides the spa area. We didn’t have the time to use it, but there is a whirlpool bath you can book as well as a Jacuzzi and sauna. Just a beautiful place to relax if you have the time.

Now on to the food. The restaurant is really FANTASTIC. They really put effort into serving modern gourmet food at reasonable prices while keeping to Austrian traditional ingredients. We ate there on two occasions and the chef, Ricardo knows what he is doing. The somber server, Vladi is a perfectionist in the dining room and added to our dining experience. You can order from the menu or get a 4-course fixed price dinner and I’m sure you will enjoy whichever you choose.

The breakfast is just as wonderful. The breakfast room is light and cheery and there is a beautiful buffet with a great choice of cold cuts and cheeses, fresh fruit, breads and buns, yoghurt and breakfast cereals and müsli and also some warm dishes and beautiful soft-boiled eggs as well as the usual coffee, tea and juices. Just fill yourself up and you are ready for a busy day! If something is missing, we just asked the server, Ajdin and he fixed it in a jiffy!

There are always down-sides and I brought up a few of these with Ruben and they were, even though not anything that would annoy some people, a little irritating to me. The first was that the internet Wi-Fi didn’t work in our room so we had to sit in the cozy reception area to do our Skyping and e-mailing and also the fact that they allow four-footed friends in the breakfast room. The latter was not pleasing at all, especially when the owners threw scraps of food on the carpets for the dogs to eat. In my opinion, for both hygiene and allergy purposes, animals of any sort should not be allowed in dining areas. Because of this, which is easily corrected, I lowered my rating a little.

All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Batzenhaüsl, so when you are out and about in the Innsbruck area, just pass by the usual Hotel Post or Sport Hotel and try something off the beaten path that will give you pleasant memories of the “real” Austria!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have beautiful views but a little noise from traffic, while those on the back are...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in two different rooms
The rooms are excellent the quality of fixtures and fittings are very good
The views and the location could not be beaten on the first floor there is part of the hotel that has not been modernised and worth a look
Staff are welcoming and caring
breakfast is good

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmpottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent a single night in the Suite, which we had booked for a very reasonable price on Booking.com. Check in was smooth and efficient, and our room was large and spacious - as you would expect from a suite. It had a bar fridge, lounge suite, very large bath room etc although we were expecting a balcony or a view at least, and had neither. The room was very quiet which we appreciated, and I was able to utilise the bath robes that were supplied upon request. Sleep quality was good, quiet with good beds / pillows etc, and the bath was fabulous. I was hoping to make use of the gym (of which there is only a couple of cardio machines located in the steamy hot spa centre - not sure what the logic is there?!) in the morning of our stay and got up and ready to go to the gym, only to find the door still locked at around 8am. I was not able to use it during our stay, and so we headed to breakfast instead. Breakfast was terrible! The worst we've had in two months of travelling Europe. There was barely anything left by the time we arrived at 9.30am - despite being told breakfast was open until 10am daily. There was no eggs left, no coffee to be found, no staff, no bread left etc. It was shocking! Perhaps it may be better if you go as early as possible?! Overall our stay was average and I would probably not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were very impressed with an extremely friendly welcome. Almost as we were the long waited family.
The room was big, nice and with a great view. The cleaning is excellent with not a stain allowed.
Only really bad comment: The internet connection on the room is in practice not-existing. If only the hotel would put up one or two more routers the hotel is unconditional recommended.
Expect a sleepy village (during summer) with a lot of hiking opportunities and adequate public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Igls,it was only a 5min drive fom Innsbruck. We got upgraded on arrival and paid the rate of a double room.we stayed in a suite which was nice having another sitting from our sleeping toddler. We didn't have a view but the room was quiet and the curtins were complete block block out. The breakfast was not the greatest with no hot food and breakfast service was run by the receptionist. This hotel was good value for a large room,would consider staying here again. There is limited car parking which is tight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedgie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I only needed a room for the night on our way back from Italy last summer and decided that Hotel Batzenhäusl, situated close to the motorway, would serve that purpose. We had a warm welcome, the hotel is situated in beautiful, quiet surroundings, and the room was very comfortable. There was only one menu available on Sunday evening, but for 20 Euro we enjoyed the most delicious five-course menu, beautifully arranged and served.
We are looking forward to staying there again, and especially we are looking forward to eating there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIRAJelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gruberhof
Hotel Gruberhof
#36 of 74 in Innsbruck
206 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baerenwirth - Hotel
Baerenwirth - Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patsch
148 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#31 of 74 in Innsbruck
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pension Zillertal
Pension Zillertal
#38 of 74 in Innsbruck
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonnenhof Igls
Sonnenhof Igls
#25 of 74 in Innsbruck
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
#5 of 74 in Innsbruck
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eagles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eagles Inn

Address: Lanser Strasse 12, Innsbruck 6080, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Innsbruck
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#22 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: £76 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eagles Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In December 2015 Family Ultsch reopened the Hotel Eagles Inn. With passion and creativity we try to bring back the special charm of this beautiful historic house! Step by step we are making the hotel a place of well being for you! After a little break in early spring we start again in April 23 with freshness and vitality (with many specials and offers for the summer season! The Eagles Inn and the village of Igls is a beautiful place to spend your holiday: the beauty of nature, charming locals and the city of Innsbruck are waiting for you! The sun plateau on which the village of Igls is located is surrounded by magnificent and tranquil mountains, only 5 km far from the town center of Innsbruck. The Eagles Inn allows you to enjoy unequalled views of the mountain chain Nordkette which makes the area of Innsbruck so special. The Hotel Eagles Inn lies at the foot of the mountain Patscherkofel which is known for its skiing and hiking area. The tasteful design, a friendly and bright restaurant (opening spring 16) and the charming ambience of the artfully designed, wood-paneled "Stuben" (Tipical tyrolean living/dining room) make up the special charm of this Hotel. With the public transportation you can reach the city center as well as the Nordkette within a few minutes. Enjoy the nature without missing the proximity of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eagles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batzenhausl Hotel Igls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing