We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 3 star hotel in superb location!”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitzbuhel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
chester
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great 3 star hotel in superb location!”
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The hotel is situated just 5 minutes from Kitzbuhel town centre and 2 minutes from the Hanenkamm gondola. It is situated very close to the electrified railway line so consequently has some train noise. However even on the balcony of the rooms any train noise does not impose on conversations. Even with the windows open at night there is very minimal train noise in the bedroom and as important the hotel doesn’t suffer from vibrations from passing trains. All windows are double glazed so when the windows are closed no train noise can be heard at all.

The hotel is traditional Austrian in style, design and furnishings with just 25 bedrooms. It is owned and managed by Klaus and Veronika on an individual level that is not provided in larger impersonal hotels.

The hotel has a very pleasant garden that includes tables, chairs and loungers in which to relax and to take in the splendid views to the Kitzbueler Horn and the Hanenkamm mountains - weather permitting.

The hotel has a lounge area that is separated from bedrooms and dining area by a key pad door that requires the access code to be used after 22:00 hours.

Bedrooms are adequately sized whilst the bathroom is small but contains a toilet, basin and shower. The bedrooms consist of 2 ‘larger than average’ single beds that can be pushed together as a double. Each bed has its own duvet that is a very high tog rating recognising that this is predominantly a winter skiing resort. This bed arrangement is common in Italy and Austria and provides flexibility for same sex occupancy. In addition each bedroom has a table, 2 comfy chairs and bedside cupboard along with a large double wardrobe. Piping hot water is available all day long and the shower pressure is superb with pressure and temperature very easily controlled. Some bedrooms have a balcony but this is an extra charge but was well worth the extra cost we paid (£8 per night).

Breakfast consists of cooked bacon, scrambled eggs and beans along with various choices of cereal, tinned fruits, yogurts, nuts, etc. A wide choice of breads, rolls, jams and marmalade are also available. In addition there is a choice of cold meats and cheese along with various fruit juices, albeit these are made from concentrate.

All meals are available at set times – breakfast from 07:45 to 09:30 and even late comers to breakfast had a full choice as there was always plenty of availability even later. The breakfast buffet is also available for guests to make up their own packed lunches. Cartons of juice, wafer biscuits and a choice of apples were also available to supplement the sandwiches.

Dinner is served from 18:45 to 19:30 and all guests are allocated a specific table for meals. This means that some guests have to share a table, particularly where couples are paired up onto tables that seat 4 people.

Afternoon tea, coffee and cake are available free of charge every day (although Crystal’s brochure indicated this was only available 3 days a week).

Main course evening meals are chosen at breakfast from the 3 choices whilst a vegetarian dish was available as one of these 3. Evening meals consisted of soup, followed by salad, followed by a pasta dish, then the main course and finally a desert. Once a week there is a buffet stlye meal and on Sundays a special dinner is served.

All guests are provided with a €2 a day allowance towards drinks. This €2 buys a glass of good quality house wine or a small beer or soft drink. Water is also provided at each table with dinner.

A free sauna is available on the top (3rd) floor from 14:00 to 19:00 each day. In addition there is a separate relaxing area (also within the apex of the roof ) with tasteful relaxing music playing in the background. There is no lift in the hotel although help with carrying luggage up to the bedroom was provided on arrival.

The hotel offers weekly wine tasting sessions for €18 per person and this includes 2 glasses of different reds, 2 glasses of different white wines and a sweet wine along with background information on the wine production in Austria – none of which is exported!

Klaus and Veronika are very helpful and will provide information on any aspect of your holiday. The daily breakfast menu includes helpful tips about the day’s weather along with activities in Kitzbuhel for that day. Wireless internet is available but you have to provide your own PC to utilise this.

Room keys are on a very large brass fob and these are left on the key tray at the bottom of the stairs which means that there is a degree of trust that other guests will not take your room key. No safes are provided for the storage of valuables – either in the room or at reception.

  • Liked — location/views
  • Disliked — small bathroom/shower
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    32
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
68
202
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Booked this hotel for a 4 day break with Crystal holidays, 3 days before flying. One of those last minute decisions which proved excellent in every way. The food served at this hotel is plentiful... I can guarantee you will not be hungry here. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of fresh bread,cheeses hams, porridge, scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh coffee (or tea)fruit, etc etc. After breakfast you are encouraged, by the owners, to help yourself to whatever you want for your lunch and provide bags for you to pack your lunch into, also offered are, drinks, fruit, biscuits,as well as fresh rolls ham cheese etc...all at no charge! If you are around the hotel at 3.30 onwards cakes and coffee are put out for you to help yourself to, again no charge. Evening meal is served from 6.45 - 7.30 (usually 5 courses) with a choice of main course. We were also given a 2 euro drinks token each to spend at the hotel whenever we chose. So pack your boots and go and enjoy Kitzbuhel, it is a very pretty town with plenty of pavement cafes and designer shops. We bought a 3 day pass which we used on the cable cars, quite pricey but well worth it as the views and walks are stunning at the top. We had a wonderful break and found the Edelweiss a very welcoming spotlessly clean hotel.

  • Liked — Excellent food, good position
  • Disliked — We would have liked a balcony but for what we paid we couldnt grumble
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erandim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We have just spent a week at the Edelweiss Hotel in Kitzbuhel booked as a late deal with Thomson and we can recommend this hotel without hesitation. The hotel is situated in a quiet area surrounded by fields, close to the Hahnenkamm Gondola station and the Aquarena swimming complex and is a short walk from Kitzbuhel town centre.

When we arrived at the Edelweiss, we were welcomed by Veronika and shown to room 209, a large family room (even though we are a couple), close to the railway line. Some Trip Advisor reviewers have written that the noise from the railway line can be a problem especially at night, but we can honestly say that train noise was never a problem for us, and I am a light sleeper.

Breakfast was served between 7.45 and 9.30 and we sat at the same table everyday. There was an extensive range of cold food/fresh fruit/tinned fruit/nuts and also hot porridge and freshly cooked boiled/scrambled eggs, bacon, baked beans and toast. You could also choose from a variety of fruit juices together with tea and coffee.

The hotel supplies fresh rolls and a variety of fillings including hard-boiled eggs, cooked meats, cheeses and salad, which you make into a packed lunch yourself after breakfast and put into the plastic bags they supply. You can also choose a soft drink and packets of chocolate wafer biscuits. This packed lunch saved us a fortune.

Between 3.30 and 6.00 every day, you could help yourself to unlimited tea, coffee and cake. As the weather was in the 90’s last week when we were there, it was very pleasant to sit out in the hotel gardens and have afternoon tea in the sunshine, especially when we had been walking up the mountains for hours. There are also plenty of sun beds to relax on in the gardens.

Dinner was served between 6.45 and 7.30, which is quiet early when you’re on holiday. For the main course you had a choice of 1 of 3 dishes, picked from the menu, which was on the breakfast table in the morning. The menu also showed the day’s weather and information of any events taking place in town that night. When you check in, you are given a 2 Euros a night complementary drinks voucher to use with your dinner. This bought a small glass of beer, a glass of wine or a soft fizzy drink, including diet coke.

On the top floor, the hotel also has a large sauna/relaxation room, for guest use, free of charge, daily between 3 and 7.

The hotel bar shut at 10 o’clock each night, which is also quite early, however, you can sit in the lounge/bar area for as long as you like, although they also lock the inner door at 10 o’clock and you need to key in a 5 digit number which they give you, to get back into the rooms area. If you forget to take the number out with you, you have to wait in the lounge/bar area until another guest turns up with it.

There are very few negatives at this hotel. There are no safes in the rooms and no Internet access, which is also very limited and expensive in Kitzbuhel town itself. Maybe it’s better to just enjoy the solitude and forget the real world! We did.

We spent 39 Euros each on a 3-day variable Summer Pass, which we bought at the Hahnenkamm Lift. These gave us unlimited use of the 4 cable cars that were open at the time, (Hahnenkamm Gondola, Kitzbuhel Horn Gondola, Panorama Gondola and the Gaisberg Chairlift) for any 3 days out of 7. You could go up the lifts as many times as you liked on the 3 days you chose.

The pass also allows you 3 entries on any of the 7 days to the Aquarena Spa centre (the main pool, the pool fun and 2 flumes, which are great fun and the sun-bathing gardens where you can eat your lunch) and unlimited 7-day use of the buses on certain routes, including Postbus 4004 to Aschau for the Gaisberg Chairlift at Kirchberg and Postbus 4010 to Mittersill Markplatz for the Panorama Gondola at Pass Thurn Breitmoos. (The bus stop signs are a yellow with a green H).

We took the passes back at the end of our stay and got 2 Euros deposit back on each of them. These passes are exceptional value for money, especially as you can walk the paths at the top of the mountains where they take you.

We also went to Innsbruck by train on a special ticket, which costs 28 Euros return for 2-5 people, instead of 34.40 Euros each. The quickest train leaves at the second Kitzbuhel station on the other side of town, at 09.30 and takes 1 hour 20 minutes. The train we returned on left Innsbruck at 16.10 pm, with 1 easy change and stopped at the Hahnenkamm Station, a short walk back to the Hotel Edelweiss. When you buy this ticket, you need to show the guest card with your name on it that you are given at the Hotel Edelweiss when you check in.

We couldn’t have had a better holiday. The hotel and food cannot be faulted. The weather was hot, the chairlift/gondola rides were fun and the walks in wonderful scenery at the top of the mountains were breathtaking. It was a pleasure to get back to the Edelweiss Hotel in the late afternoon and relax with coffee and cake.

It’s no wonder that many people staying at this hotel return year after year.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank domidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Returned less than 24 hours ago, what a great week we had, firstly the owners and staff are quite exceptional.
Location you would be pushed to beat this hotel.
I do not normally write reviews however due to a couple of negative reports regarding the railway line that is close by I feel compelled to write.
You can hardly hear a train the goldfinches make more noise enough said!!!!!!!!!
Will return to this hotel over the coming years without doubt.

Many thanks Klaus&Veronika&Staff

  • Liked — Everything, lounge in particular superb
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank poppysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We stayed in the Edelweiss for a week a Easter. The hotel waswarm and comfortable, with a pleasant bar/lounge area that served ice cold beer. You are given a 2 euro per person per day bar tab so there is no need to carry a wallet. You run th tab up and settle on check out.
The food was excellent, with salad bar, soup and starter every day and choice of main course, followed by a sweet. There is a varied afternoon tea every day. Breakfast was pleniful, with both hot and cold buffet and you could pack up lunch from breakfast.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, however, our room in the roof had a extremely low ceiling, which you hit your head on in the shower/toilet.
The staff were polite, smart and friendly and were an absolute pleasure.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaydon, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

Our first Christmas holiday we have spent away from home, it was excellent. Klauss, his family and hotel staff went out of their way to make the celebration something to remember. The christmas eve dinner was fantastic and everyone was made to feel like part of the family not hotel guests. Once again well done a 5 star holiday.

  • Liked — A small comfortable hotel where you are made very welcome with good food and wine.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stonedcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We stayed here for a week as part of a Crystal Holidays package in August.

Overall the hotel is excellent for a 3 star.

It is a small hotel with about 22 rooms, a very small bar/lounge area and a larger dining area. There is no pool but there is a sauna for an extra charge. It is a 5 to 10 minute easy walk to the town centre

The staff are helpful, very friendly, and have good English.

The breakfast buffet is varied and generous, with the option available to take some as a packed lunch for free. We booked half-board and did not have to eat out any evening. The dinners are excellent with 5 courses as standard (soup, salad, starter dish, main course, desert). You are limited to 3 options for main course each night, but with 5 courses and second helpings of soup and salad readily available there is never a night that you could leave the table hungry.

Our room was clean but basic. Also it was quite small - though because we got a last-minute, low-cost package we expected as much. It is also very plainly furnished, and the views were not good. The hotel is beside a rail line so light sleepers might want to bring ear-plugs or request a room at the opposite end of the hotel from the line. Trains operate throughout the night but not frequently.

Kitzbuhel is a pretty town but with a 3 or 4 hour walk you've seen it all. The mountains and lake around it are beautiful, and that is the real reason for chosing this location.

For most of the time we were there the evenings were very quiet in the town. Shops close at 6pm and the bars and streets were relatively empty.

The one exceptional night was the Jahrmarket which is an annual summer festival in the town. For this they barricade entrances to the town centre and then charge eur7 entrance. Inside, folk and brass bands entertain the crowds who are mostly dressed in traditional attire and throwing down food, wine, and beer. It's an interesting spectacle but it is more an event for the town and locals than an attempt to wrangle money from visiting foreign tourists.

I wasn't too pleased with on-site information provided by Crystal Holidays. There are local services they tell you about as though they were passing on useful tourist information, but which are obviously money earners for them. For example they recommend a bike rental company that is clearly more expensive than others in the town!
Also, we booked two excursions with Crystal while we were there and were not overly happy with them. They are not great value and if you have the time and inclination I would recommend that you first investigate alternative ways to get around the area (local bus / train etc).
We went to Salzburg and for eur30 we got a coach journey to and from the city with 4 hours to explore the centre - not enough time to take it all in. Similarly on a trip to the glacier near Gross Glockner we had just 2 hours there to get lunch and visit the glacier. It takes at least an hour to walk to the glacier! Also on this trip were 2 unnecessary coffee stops at unattactive locations in what was a blatant till-ringing exercise.
That said, both locations are well worth seeing.

Overall we were very happy with the holiday and would go back again. The hotel was excellent and the area is beautiful. We would just avoid the Crystal excursions if we could.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ArkRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.5 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.9 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
0.8 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Marchfeldgasse 2, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#7 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing