We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Edelweiss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitzbuhel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

The Edelweiss seems to be a permanent fixture in Crystal Holidays' special offers section. Back in June we decided to give it a go.

First impression was OK, neither luxurious nor rustic. It's tucked away near the edge of town beside the railway track, but as reviewed elsewhere train noise isn't an issue. Town is an easy 5 minute stroll beside the tracks (to the gondolas) or down the hill. Check in was courteous; however throughout the holiday there was a humorous 'sparring' between the guests and male staff, which might seem rude to some, but which seemed to be the Austrian sense of humour. In fact we found staff friendly and helpful at all times.

Our room was small and not particularly well organised, with 2 single beds head to head and a poorly lit, plastic 'all-in-one' prefab bathroom; however it was clean and comfortable. Sneaking a look in other rooms when we could, it was one of the worst rooms. It had a great view up the hills from the balcony.

Food was mostly OK, neither great nor poor, tho' there was a fair bit of variety, amounts were generous, and guests could pack food from the cold breakfast buffet to take for lunch. The Crystal brochure seemed to suggest there was free drink with the evening meal *and* a daily amount that could be used at the bar, in fact there is only the daily amount. I'm pretty sure the hotel didn't intend to mislead, but be aware.

Kitzbuhel is one of the better bases in the area - prettier than many of the towns and with not one but two cable systems operating in the summer. The '3 days in 7' passes are very good value - they give free access to the Kitzbuhel swimming pool complex, and to buses, on the 3 chosen days.

The star rating is based on a 'Neutral / average' experience at better than average value.

  • Liked — Lcation, value, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The size and layout of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    32
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
68
202
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

We stayed there from 6- 13 August 2008. The hotel is small but the friendliness of the staff and beautiful location make up for this. The value for money is excellent with a good standard of breakfast, free packed lunches, afternoon coffee and cake and a 4 course meal most nights.
We will definitely going back there and we have stayed in bigger hotels in Kitzbuhel with more facilities e.g Tiefenbunner and Jagerwirt but we much preferred the friendly family feel in this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank swcma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

Booked last minute having stayed in Kitzbuhel previously but not this hotel. Typically Austrian Mountain Hotel with wood walls and ceilings, small bar, nice lounge and dining room. Bedrooms we had not massive but adequate and clean. This Hotel offers Half Board but really its more like full board as you are encouraged to pack up your picnic lunch and they serve afternoon tea & cake in addition to the full breakfast and 4 course dinner.
Most guests are retired but we took our kids who were welcomed but not many other kids stay here.
Location is at the bottom of the main Hahnenkamm lift car park so very handy for ski lifts and the bus stop and only an easy 10 min walk into centre of town. This Hotel is next to the railway line but we were never bothered with noise from the goods trains, passenger trains are very quiet.

  • Liked — Great Staff & Location
  • Disliked — Not the biggest rooms but adequate
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank malhamdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

Having read the previous reviews I though the hotel sounded very good and it does have some good points. It does seem however that the common thread is that nobody actually goes there unless they get a last minute cheap deal. And unless you are getting a cheap deal I would definately go somewhere else.

Good points first, very close to the Hanenkamm Gondola.
Very clean, lots of hot water and a nice garden area to sit and relax after a long day walking. Having the chance to make a packed lunch was very good, saved time and money. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

Bad points for us was the room itself, very dark, painted terracotta, which was depressing. There was not a light bright enough to read by even with the main light on (which was a joke)and the the two bedside lights and the bathroom light it was still a struggle to read! If you go take a tourch, seriously.

The food wasn't great, after a couple of days it was quite boring the same breakfast every day, beans bacon and scrambled egg.
Of course there is the usual bread cheese and jam too.
Every night exactly the same salad was served the cook must have no imagination what so ever. Again thought it was nice for 2 days then after a week couldn't wait have something at home.
The beds were not at all comfortable. No safety deposit box.

This is a 2 star hotel trying to be a 3 star!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SELBY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

I have tonight returned from a weeks holiday in the Edelweiss hotel, a hotel which was booked after reading countless good reports from other trip advisor members.
The holiday was a late availability booking but the choice of hotel in Kitzbuhel was mine, there were a number of options with very little difference in price between any of them.
I read every review and was therefore aware of location near to the railway line and was still impressed with everything else what was said about the hotel.

The room we were allocated was small and quite dark but adequate, a little lacking in things which I may have taken for granted in the past, a hairdryer, a safe and a chest of drawers for instance. We was however close to the railway line facing the station, the electric trains were quiet I agree and were hardly noticable. The goods trains of which there were quite a few. were however noisy, these trains also tended to run early in the morning sometimes before 7am carrying large loads of timber, lorries, and most mornings a full load of around 250 Smart cars.
The main reception area and lounge is a very nice area, plenty of comfy seats to sit and relax in, well decorated and finished with wood fixtures and fittings. The dining area again was well presented, and infact one of the highlights of our holiday was the people we were seated with for our meals, a really nice couple who we shared a lots of laughs with.

The hotel is spotless and a credit to the staff.

I have however a big complaint and one which appears on very few reviews.
The food was a tremendous let down.

Breakfast was adequate, concentrated fruit juices cereals, cheeses, hams, bread, tinned fruit, fresh apples, porridge and a hot selection of scrambled and hard boiled eggs, bacon and baked beans. As other advisors have said many of the guests were taking advantage of a free packed lunch making sandwiches from the buffet, cartons of soft drinks wafer biscuits and apples being also made available free of charge.
Tea, coffee and cake was available during the afternoon for guests in the hotel.
The evening meal entrance was between 6.45 and 7.30pm, fine if you are in the hotel by 5pm, but when away from Kitzbuhel on trips etc. for the day the entrance times are a little tight.
The food options presented at breakfast time for the evening meal was very limited, and not very appealing. The farmers buffet was nice and easily the best meal we had in the hotel. I do not however find fish fingers, spare ribs or a spinach dumpling which was the choice of main coarse for our last evening meal very appetising. This was the straw that broke the camels back in my opinion. A look of despair on the faces of our table was all that could be said for the menu.
I have never had creme brule served in a coffee cup either until last night.
There was always soup, a warm starter and salad choice to start the evening meal with. The main coarse was served with no choice of hot fresh vegetables from the buffet, either chips or boiled potatoes were served on the plate straight from the kitchen.
A bar credit for 2 Euros per person for a drink with the evening meal is also offered by the hotel. The credit was deducted from your final bar bill at the end of the stay.
A 10pm closing of the bar was not a problem as the town bars are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
I would not stay at this hotel again solely because of the food, the breakfasts were predictable, and the evening meals very poor.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food And Very Basic Rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LELY119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

The hotel is situated just 5 minutes from Kitzbuhel town centre and 2 minutes from the Hanenkamm gondola. It is situated very close to the electrified railway line so consequently has some train noise. However even on the balcony of the rooms any train noise does not impose on conversations. Even with the windows open at night there is very minimal train noise in the bedroom and as important the hotel doesn’t suffer from vibrations from passing trains. All windows are double glazed so when the windows are closed no train noise can be heard at all.

The hotel is traditional Austrian in style, design and furnishings with just 25 bedrooms. It is owned and managed by Klaus and Veronika on an individual level that is not provided in larger impersonal hotels.

The hotel has a very pleasant garden that includes tables, chairs and loungers in which to relax and to take in the splendid views to the Kitzbueler Horn and the Hanenkamm mountains - weather permitting.

The hotel has a lounge area that is separated from bedrooms and dining area by a key pad door that requires the access code to be used after 22:00 hours.

Bedrooms are adequately sized whilst the bathroom is small but contains a toilet, basin and shower. The bedrooms consist of 2 ‘larger than average’ single beds that can be pushed together as a double. Each bed has its own duvet that is a very high tog rating recognising that this is predominantly a winter skiing resort. This bed arrangement is common in Italy and Austria and provides flexibility for same sex occupancy. In addition each bedroom has a table, 2 comfy chairs and bedside cupboard along with a large double wardrobe. Piping hot water is available all day long and the shower pressure is superb with pressure and temperature very easily controlled. Some bedrooms have a balcony but this is an extra charge but was well worth the extra cost we paid (£8 per night).

Breakfast consists of cooked bacon, scrambled eggs and beans along with various choices of cereal, tinned fruits, yogurts, nuts, etc. A wide choice of breads, rolls, jams and marmalade are also available. In addition there is a choice of cold meats and cheese along with various fruit juices, albeit these are made from concentrate.

All meals are available at set times – breakfast from 07:45 to 09:30 and even late comers to breakfast had a full choice as there was always plenty of availability even later. The breakfast buffet is also available for guests to make up their own packed lunches. Cartons of juice, wafer biscuits and a choice of apples were also available to supplement the sandwiches.

Dinner is served from 18:45 to 19:30 and all guests are allocated a specific table for meals. This means that some guests have to share a table, particularly where couples are paired up onto tables that seat 4 people.

Afternoon tea, coffee and cake are available free of charge every day (although Crystal’s brochure indicated this was only available 3 days a week).

Main course evening meals are chosen at breakfast from the 3 choices whilst a vegetarian dish was available as one of these 3. Evening meals consisted of soup, followed by salad, followed by a pasta dish, then the main course and finally a desert. Once a week there is a buffet stlye meal and on Sundays a special dinner is served.

All guests are provided with a €2 a day allowance towards drinks. This €2 buys a glass of good quality house wine or a small beer or soft drink. Water is also provided at each table with dinner.

A free sauna is available on the top (3rd) floor from 14:00 to 19:00 each day. In addition there is a separate relaxing area (also within the apex of the roof ) with tasteful relaxing music playing in the background. There is no lift in the hotel although help with carrying luggage up to the bedroom was provided on arrival.

The hotel offers weekly wine tasting sessions for €18 per person and this includes 2 glasses of different reds, 2 glasses of different white wines and a sweet wine along with background information on the wine production in Austria – none of which is exported!

Klaus and Veronika are very helpful and will provide information on any aspect of your holiday. The daily breakfast menu includes helpful tips about the day’s weather along with activities in Kitzbuhel for that day. Wireless internet is available but you have to provide your own PC to utilise this.

Room keys are on a very large brass fob and these are left on the key tray at the bottom of the stairs which means that there is a degree of trust that other guests will not take your room key. No safes are provided for the storage of valuables – either in the room or at reception.

  • Liked — location/views
  • Disliked — small bathroom/shower
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

Booked this hotel for a 4 day break with Crystal holidays, 3 days before flying. One of those last minute decisions which proved excellent in every way. The food served at this hotel is plentiful... I can guarantee you will not be hungry here. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of fresh bread,cheeses hams, porridge, scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh coffee (or tea)fruit, etc etc. After breakfast you are encouraged, by the owners, to help yourself to whatever you want for your lunch and provide bags for you to pack your lunch into, also offered are, drinks, fruit, biscuits,as well as fresh rolls ham cheese etc...all at no charge! If you are around the hotel at 3.30 onwards cakes and coffee are put out for you to help yourself to, again no charge. Evening meal is served from 6.45 - 7.30 (usually 5 courses) with a choice of main course. We were also given a 2 euro drinks token each to spend at the hotel whenever we chose. So pack your boots and go and enjoy Kitzbuhel, it is a very pretty town with plenty of pavement cafes and designer shops. We bought a 3 day pass which we used on the cable cars, quite pricey but well worth it as the views and walks are stunning at the top. We had a wonderful break and found the Edelweiss a very welcoming spotlessly clean hotel.

  • Liked — Excellent food, good position
  • Disliked — We would have liked a balcony but for what we paid we couldnt grumble
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erandim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.5 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Kitzbuhel
0.9 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
0.8 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Marchfeldgasse 2, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#7 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing