We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such attentive hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitzbuhel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
bmth uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Such attentive hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Klaus and Veronika put so much effort into looking after their guests at this lovely friendly hotel. The service is exceptional and they are always around the dining room having a friendly chat with guests making everyone feel welcome. The buffet breakfast has a wide choice and sandwich bags are provided for guests to make a packed lunch to take out. When you get back in the afternoon you can help yourself to a mug of tea or coffee and piece of cake to keep you going to the evening meal at no extra charge. The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the railway station and Hahnenkamm lift. There is also a regular bus service to other local villages with mountain lifts so it is a great centre to explore the area.

Room Tip: Fast free wi-fi in public areas. Rooms on righthand side of hotel have views of both Hahnenkamm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    32
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
68
202
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay and we wondered why it had taken us three years to return. This hotel offers value for money and excellent food with a choice for dinner packed lunches and tea and cake in the afternoon. Klaus and Veronika are excellent hosts and very knowledgeable giving us great advice for walks etc . All staff are friendly and helpful and our room was very clean with just a little notice from the train station which didn't bother us too much.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cacton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaydon, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having just returned from another holiday at the Edelweiss, which we have visited regularly for 12 years, we are amazed at how much energy and effort Klaus and Veronika continue to put into making their guests holiday an enjoyable one. The information they give on the back of the daily menu is invaluable and a tip is to keep them during your stay as a guide to what is available. One day Veronika suggested a trip to the local history museum at Mittersill,, a nearby town we had previously visited but did not know about the museum, it was so good we visited it twice.
It does not matter how many times you return they will always advice you of new things to do.
The whole holiday was as usual fantastic well done to all at the Edelweiss.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonedcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just back from a weeks stay at this hotel. The owners Klaus and Veronika make you feel very welcome. both have a friendly chat with you in the morning at breakfast and in the evening. The hotel is only 300yds from the Hahnenkamm station from which you can go to Zell am see, Worgle, Kufstein, Innsbruck, which are connected by a frequent train service. The evening meal is 5 course , soup, starter, salad, main
course and dessert. Each night the food was superb with a vegetarian option on the main course. The room which I had was on the first floor, was very clean with a nice powerful shower and a nice balcony with a side view to the top Hahnenkamm cable car station. Being on the edge of town it is so quiet and peaceful at night. Kitzbuhel also has some very nice shops which offer good quality products. If one is into wristwatches you can even buy a watch from Schroll which has Kitzbuhel on its dial.

Room Tip: Was able to get wifi on the first floor which was above the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDWARD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is excellent.My brother and I did choose it from TA reports,and the fact that a Thomson Holidays Package was available,saving the hassle of car hire from Saltzburg airport.
The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk downhill to the centre of Kitzbuhel,short-cutting along the station platform,the trains not causing any real problems.

Our room was spacious enough,as it was a family room,with a view over the town and beyond.
We found the hosts very attentive, as were all the staff,and they actually changed our original plans for the 10 days we stayed there.

It was our intention to purchase a 9 day all singing all dancing bus and lift pass, until we mentioned this to Klaus,the manager/owner,who suggested that we went along to the towns organised walks,which are provided free by the Austrian Tourist Board on Mondays to Fridays,normally starting at 8.45 from the station car-park.We ended up going on these organised walks six days of our stay.

There are two daily walks,and you choose which one you prefer,depending on ability,the guides are professional guiders,and will help you decide.Depending on where you are going,you share the cost of a minibus,which can be anything from six to 12 euros return,but the beauty is that the guide sorts return transport as well,and so linear walks are the norm.
Sometimes ski lifts are used,which can be a little more expensive.Numbers can vary,our walks had from 8 to 18 people on them.

We met people on the walks who revisit Kitzbuhel just to go on these walks,one guy from Manchester had been on 264!,as you get a booklet stamped with the walk details each time you go on one with them,

Food at the hotel was great,five course evening meals,pleasant breakfasts,and the best thing is that you are quite expected to make up your packed lunch from the breakfast buffet,they even provide a bag,drink cartons,wafers...AND IT IS ALL FOR FREE!

Another nice touch is the complimentary afternoon tea/coffee and cake available each mid afternoon, and an allowance of 2.20 euros per person for the bar each day.

The sauna is a good size,and as it is upstairs,you get a lovely view out of the window whilst relaxing in the heat!

Klaus and his wife are both keen walkers,and can advise in detail if you prefer to do your own thing,but beware if Klaus says "it's easy".

Book it.!!!!!!...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the first time we have stayed here and it really is as good as all the wonderful reviews. There is not much more we can add. Brilliant hotel , great location and Klaus and Veronika incredible hosts. Klaus even trundled my suitcase down the drive in the pouring rain himself for the return transfer . We have been to Austria many times and and we have never experienced such hospitality. And to mention it the food was first class , the room clean and comfortable with a large balcony and views over the mountains. As Arnie says -- I,ll be back

Room Tip: The hotel has fields on 3 sides and a railway line on the 4th we asked for a room on the western sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Superb hotel. Superb location. Superb food. Superb hosts. This is what a holiday is all about... Can't think of anything which could be improved.....will definitely be back! This is our second visit and it didn't disappoint.
We have only visited in summer but by all accounts it's a great location for winter if you want to ski..being near the Hahnenkammbahn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank veekayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.5 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Kitzbuhel
0.9 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
0.9 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Marchfeldgasse 2, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#7 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing