We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel where you get what you pay for...”
Review of Chalet Strasshofer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Strasshofer
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
HAMPSHIRE, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel where you get what you pay for...”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have just returned from another very enjoyable ski holiday in Kitzbühel. This year we decided upon a very good value package holiday with Crystal. The comfortable family-owned (for over 100 years!) 3 star hotel is located in the middle of the town’s pedestrian area & amongst all the shops, cafes, (even McDonald’s) plus bars, restaurants & the swimming arena. It appears to host mainly guests from the UK, of the main holiday companies, Crystal/Thomson & Inghams.
It is a good 10 minute walk (in normal shoes, not ski-boots) to the Hahnenkammbahn, so unless you are fit, or a hardened skier, it is well worth leaving your skis & boots in the Intersport lockers underneath the gondola (from 3 euros a day). Incidentally, Intersport are very helpful for ski equipment rental – we always use them when renting. There is also a ski-bus service from right outside the hotel.

I am going to clarify some facts and info. which is also available on their own website, in ski brochures & on the internet, which is worth noting, together with some of our experiences:

NO LIFT – the hotel is very old and there is no lift. I think we drew the short straw (or paid the least money!) and were allocated rooms on the top floor (When booking I had asked THOMSON/CRYSTAL to request Room 12, which is on the 2nd floor). When arriving Gabbi (the owner’s wife) checked us in and gave us keys to our 5th floor room! (Some reviews mention the size of the rooms on the top floor, which are angled in places). I queried this, to be told “it is a 3 star room!” Anyway, up/down 50 steps plus landings, from top to bottom, a minimum of 8 times a day is good for fitness! Other rooms on lower floors and in the adjoining chalets are bigger.

ROOMS – well-cleaned and comfortable. We had a bath, in what looked to be a new bathroom, with a 5ft 6” long bath (fine for small people) & a shower attachment, but no curtain. Hot water was always available. There was a 14” Philips TV on the wall (like the one I used to have in 1995!) with approx. 10 stations + BBC World Service. The double glazed door to the small balcony provided the light to the room. This was our room, which was one of the smaller ones. There are others!
INTERNET – there is a chargeable wireless-lan service which is available in certain areas of the hotel, but not your bedroom. (which other guests & I found to be frustratingly inconsistent) Cost: 20 Euros per week.
(Free internet is available at McDonalds & Intersport Kitzsport at the gondola)
PARKING – there is a small car park at the rear of the hotel. Cost: 8 Euros per car per day.
BREAKFAST - 3 choices of cereal & 3 different jams; fresh rolls and bread for toast & a small selection of fruit. Just one person usually serving ALL of the tables, so hot drinks arrived when they arrived . Breakfast from 7.30am included hot scrambled eggs, but if you were down later you could be unlucky and not have any! I agree with some other reviewers, which also extends to the evening meals: adequate but not extensive.
DINNER – soup, small salad buffet, a choice of 2 main courses plus a dessert, daily.
Always hot. The order in which people were served amused us! Whether you were first in, or last in, it didn’t matter. With just Gabbi & Anita serving all of the guests (probably because it was end of season?) you were given the courses when they were ready! A bit disappointing that the advertised weekly farmer’s buffet was cancelled, without notice or reason. There was no draught beer left by the last night! Good for the hotel owners, not so good for those of us wanting a cold draught beer!


Another reviewer has made a very good point, which we totally agree with: basically, you get what you pay for! If you want 4 or 5 star accommodation/service then pay for it! The Top 10 Kitzbühel hotels are listed on Trip Advisor and they are all very good. But, staying in this excellent resort can be expensive and the Top 10 hotels are often fully booked, especially during high season.

HOPES & EXPECTATIONS - was this hotel good value, in terms of what we paid? Of course it was! We paid £ 396 each to Crystal for a 1 week end-of-season holiday, including flights, transfers to resort, a clean & comfortable hotel room, small breakfast and a meal in the evening… especially when flights only were costing £ 250 - £ 350 into Salzburg, Innsbruck and Munich!

Room Tip: If travelling with a UK Holiday Company your request will likely be ignored. If travelling independ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJCOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
17
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for a week in late March 2013. Perfect setting right in the centre of Kitzbuhel. We stayed in an adjoining chalet flat which was ideal for our teenage son, so we had plenty of space. The steps climbing up to the hotel from the chalet were a perfect pre ski warmup exercise! Staff were lovely and very accommodating. We would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSkiMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have just returned from this pretty hotel in the centre of Kitzbuhel. Location is great
right in the middle on one of the main streets with all the pastel painted building facades.
Our room was apartment 2 which was large with a good modern bathroom .Its location in an annexe down steps may prove difficult for the old or unfit,(NO Lift in Hotel) but by the end of the week the trek up to breakfast did seem easier.The owner Gabbi was welcoming and helpful with advice and the small bar next to the restaurant was ok for a pre dinner drink,smoking seemed to be on the balcony so didn't waft through to the dinning areas.
Breakfast was adequate but not extensive but found all the evening meals for the week to be
enjoyable and filling .Waitress service at our table from Annita was good at all times.A larger selection of wines with dinner would be my only request.
If skiing book a locker up at the cable car base station Intersport,so don't need to walk in boots or carry your ski's through town but it is possible from this hotel and ski storage area in hotel.
Normally would not pick a three star hotel but was surprised by the good service and food
and due to its great location would recommend this hotel highly for a ski trip.If you want a swim
or massage facilities the aquamarena complex is only 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eldentooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Booked lads trip last minute with Thomson's. The staff are a bit frosty, however, apart from that the rooms were clean, lots of space with plenty of storage for your clothes. The food was fantastic, plenty of it, Typical Austrian. However, there was only just enough room at the table for 6 chaps which took a bit of careful planning when geting up for refills at the salid bar.

The location is perfect - 10 mins walk to the lifts, 2 mins away from all the great pubs in town.

Having checked with the lads we all agree that it was great value for money and if you try hard enough you might even get a smile out of the staff !!

Room Tip: Room 10 on first floor is brill if there are three or four of you sharing. Plenty of room for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed for two nights for a Wedding and was absolutely surprised at the quality of both service and amenities for a hotel of this grade. Kitzbuhel certainly has a lot to offer for a small town in the Alps, but for what its worth the Strasshofer was fantastic. The location was second to none, great views of the surrounding hills and mountains, and great staff. Would easily stay here again if on a budget. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel has views of the mountains which can be viewed from your balcony or bed throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just come back from a week in strasshofer hotel in kitzbuhel and we have had a great time great location lovely double room with four poster bed food was good and anita in the dining room could not do enough for us,lovely girl,kitzbuhel is a great location for walking and scenery

Room Tip: there is a special rail ticket that is not advertized but you have to ask for and you can travel abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The only excellent thing about this hotel is the location. The food was average and you only had one choice for the evening meal which was only between 7pm snd 8pm. I would recommend you try another hotel in Kitzbuhel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower floors and at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gamshof
Hotel Gamshof
#18 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Eggerwirt
Gasthof Eggerwirt
#30 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Resch
Hotel Resch
#17 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Greif
Hotel Goldener Greif
#20 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Mellon
Villa Mellon
#45 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Strasshofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Strasshofer

Property: Chalet Strasshofer
Address: Im Gries 14, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Strasshofer 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Chalet Strasshofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasshofer Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing