We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Strasshofer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Strasshofer
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Typically we read the previous tripadvisor reviews after booking. We hoped that some people were too fussy & that all would be fine. Everyone mentioned steps & so we planned for 100+ step ups per day (Although going to this sort of destination I would expect that people are looking to be active anyway). On arrival we were directed to our room on the same floor of the reception. Ha ha! We did investigate the other floors just to see what the fuss is about & came to the conclusion that if you book a ski/walking hoilday in this sort of location then you really should be able to cope with stairs. It is fortunate that the "Back door" steps leading to the other side of town are actually really useful as the walk round can be a bit of a pain. If you don't fancy the walk around but are still looking for a short cut, walk past the Strasshofer car park & one of the next rights will lead to a lift that exits in a bar that you can walk through & get to the oh so chic high st. The food was simple in some ways in perfectly fine in others. The price we paid ment that we were not expecting 5 star cusine but I (As a fussy eater when it comes to greens - bleuk!) wasn't left hungry & a vegi chap we got talking to was very well accomodated. The portions are good and so we were again pleased. The staff were as pleasent as we needed them to be. Helpful when we needed them to be helpful & not intrusive. I would totally recomend this hotel unless you are of a particular nature or a fusspot. Our room was small & perfectly formed & the decor is certainly a sort of sacrificial chic (In keeping with Kitzbuhel). We overheard an other couple complaining about the Strasshofer on departure but feel that their issues were very missplaced. NB: 3 pieces of meat in gravey may not be a stroganoff for some but it's tasty all the same - some people just love to complain!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurtieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
17
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Had a twin room on the top floor with some friends in the Apartment out the back, 149 steps between the rooms. That said, we were both about the same number of steps away from the dining room.
Food was basic but quality was ok. They had imposed a dress code for the dining room (no shorts and no ski gear), understandable in the evening but a bit sill for breakfast.

Rooms were good standard for skiing but a lack of headroom on the top floor but to angle of the roof cause a couple of bumps! There was a boot and ski room so no need to tackle the stairs with all your kit. The hotel seemed to be further away from the lifts than the Inghams brochure suggested but on the plus side, its right in the pedestrianised centre of town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone_Kicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I feel compelled to write my 1st trip advisor review in light of the previous reviews.
We too booked via Crystal and then looked at the TA reviews and thought what have we done.
This was our 1st time to Kitz and won't be are last.
We use a tour Operator as we live in Newcastle and with the lack of cheap flights and our location to that airport we have no option but to buy all-in.
We were directed to this Hotel as well as they had no "under occupancy" charges on our 2 kids of 9 and 7.
We had a room with a twin and a bunk bed and this was clean and the bathroom was and looked new. The food was local rustic fresh food, enough after skiing. No companints here. Breakfast was ideal as with kids we were 1st up. Cereals/toast and eggs etc. What more do you want.
The Management were fine and obliging in every request we made.
Use the lockers at the hill station @ 40 euros a week and don't carry your skis every day.

Look to summarise, if your looking on doing Kitz on a budget, having good basic food, ideal location, clean basic accomadation look no further.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Our group of 10 stayed at the Strasshofer for 2 weeks. This was my partner and my first time,but the rest of the group has been going there for years. We were on the third floor with a balcony. Yes, alot of steps, but I looked at it as good exercise! The room was comfortable, but could use more drawer space. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom on the small side, but had a large shower and very modern. The meals were good with plenty of food and a decent variety. The hotel has an excellent location. We were there for the race weekend, so the old town transformed from a quiet place to filled with thousands of people, then back to quiet again. It was a very festive, party atmosphere during that weekend and alot of fun. I didn't notice till we were back in the states that I had money (US dollars)missing...at least $60. That was extremely disappointing...so beware!! That was the only downside of the trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phleb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Stayed at this hotel in Feb 2009 and the location is excellent - in the middle of the pedestrian precinct and close to ski lift. However the rather unfriendly staff made you feel rather intimidated and scared to speak too loudly to other holiday makers. We had 50 euros taken from our room and when I spoke with Mrs Strasshofer, to say she was not interested is an understatement - her staff don't steal and no point completing a complaint form because they don't have any and don't get complaints! I find that very hard to believe. I would recommend this hotel probably on the location alone. It was clean and the food was okay but have had better in Kitzbuhel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axeldogScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Nice hotel - Pity about the attitude of owner - Spoilt a nice hotel - Small room with sloping roof , could not stand up at bed head end - Would recommend but watch your wallet

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antiquejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Arrived on Sat 8th Aug after being slightly delayed, we were met by the Lady Owner who as someone else mentioned in a previous review does not seem to know how to smile. We were told to go to our rooms and then come down immediately for dinner as they had been waiting for us. (not our fault but made to feel it was).
The waitress was always extemely pleasant and helpful but Mrs Strasshofer came across as extremely surly and did indeed create an atmosphere when she came into the dining room and no matter how pleasant you tried to be it fell on stony ground (not just my view but also of several other guests there at the same time).
The food was adequate, no more no less, eg: I do not call three pieces of meat in gravy with rice goulash by any standards, we were only there for 7 days and had pork on three occasions. The meals were very uninspiring one evening for dessert we were presented with a small slice of shop bought swiss roll. The salad buffet was also basic, cucumber, tomoato, lettuce and beetroot with only the occasional potato salad. I have stayed in other hotels in Austria from 2.5 to 4.5 star and the salads have been superb.
They advertised a luxurious breakfast buffet which I and my friends seemed to have missed, again very uninspiring with cereal, bread, toast and jams and a very small selection of cold ham and cheese, not even a boiled egg to be had.
Having said that the hotel is immaculately clean, our rooms were very comfy and you cannot get a better location.
The stairs could be a problem if you were not aware just how many there are. We were on the 2nd floor (which is really the 3rd as reception and the dining area are on the 1st floor) and we had to walk up 56 steps to our rooms. On departure we were told that the transport would pick us up at the rear of the hotel and when we checked it was down yet another two flights of stairs which would have meant well over 80 stairs to lug your cases down. We (and everyone leaving that day ) opted to go out of the main entrance and down the street to an alley leading to the back of the hotel which was a lot less painful.
We hope to go back to Kitzbuhel but certainly not to the Strasshofer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gamshof
Hotel Gamshof
#18 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Eggerwirt
Gasthof Eggerwirt
#29 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Resch
Hotel Resch
#17 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Greif
Hotel Goldener Greif
#19 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Mellon
Villa Mellon
#45 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Schmidinger
Pension Schmidinger
#32 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Strasshofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Strasshofer

Property: Chalet Strasshofer
Address: Im Gries 14, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Strasshofer 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chalet Strasshofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasshofer Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing