We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Good Hotel - FACT”
Review of Chalet Strasshofer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Strasshofer
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is a Good Hotel - FACT”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed in 2006 returned 2011. The rooms have been decorated and the staff are friendly, there is a safe at reception for valuables. I walked up and down the stairs 10 times every day to stretch off my tired ski legs. I will be staying there again next time because the food is good the city centre location is ideal for the piste and ots not too noisy, get a room at the back of the hotel with a balcony for wonderful views

Top Tips
If you are on a tight budget use the local Billa for lunch and snacks
Internet access is 6 euro per hour and works well or use McDonalds in town for free.
Go on some excursions such as tubing or night skiing
The Hahnenkham ski lift is open Friday night for a romantic meal at the top or just an evening ride to see the town at night

The Town goes crazy for the Hahnenkham Downhill ski racing (Thi, Fri Sat Sun usually mid/late Jan ) so avoid if you want quiet or go then for the atmosphere depending on your preference

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanpmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
17
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Booked Allocation on Arrival with Inghams and arrived in Kitzbuhel. Was really pleased with the Hotel ...

We had a lovely attic room, with a comfortable bed and sky TV and clean and nice to see no smoking in the room. The attic room was three flights up but if you're not up to walking about is Austria really you're best choice of holiday.!

It is a about five minute walk to the main cable car, but if you don't book a ski-in/ski-out hotel, surely that's what you expect. Beauty of Kitzbuhel is that you can book lockers in the Intersport hire shop just by the cable car, ski or just small lockers. We opted for small lockers at just 2 euros a day so we could have comfort walking back to the hotel at the end of all day ski-ing. The slopes are great, we were really lucky with the weather, even though there'd been no fresh snow fall, pistes were lovely.

Evening meals in the hotel were nice and served up. I'm quite fussy but had no problem eating up what was served. All in all we had a lovely time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cejedison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband, son and I travelled with friends who also had a teenager. After reading some of the reviews on this website, we were worried what we would find. However, upon arrival we were met by the owner's wife - a little formal but perfectly friendly, the rooms were large, comfortable and warm with a spotless en-suite and balcony and the food was of good quality and varied. There was no lift, but then again if you are skiing all day, a few stairs at the end of the day won't hurt you! The slopes were a 5 minute walk (you can leave your boots and skis at the cable car station) and the hotel is in the centre of this very picturesque town. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I return to Kitzbuhel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ib2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We had a week holiday here in June. Hotel is wonderfully central, basic but clean and typically Austrian decor. Food was quite basic but we certainly did not go hungry and this is a three star hotel so as far as we're concerned you get what you pay for! I found it quite sad that the owners weren't more welcoming; this is a family run hotel in a great position in Kitzbuhel, thought the waitress had a great sense of humour so come on owners lighten up and appreciate your guests!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank timmac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Hotel clean .Food basic and scarce.Good location.Made feel as if you were a nuisance.Find somewhere better it should not be difficult.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tipperary123999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kitzbuhel hotels

Wexford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a week last january with a group of 7 people, The location of the hotel is the only thing i could complement. the food is very average, with small portions. The rooms are ok, there were 3 single beds in our room as requested, but they were very small, really only for kids. there was no shower curtain for the shower in the bath so any attempted to shower lead to a very slippy and dangerous bathroom floor. The biggest problem however that I had with this establishment was that a new shirt that I had paid 120euro for was stolen from my room while we were sking, The room door was always locked when we were not there, and no signs of forced entry were obvious but the shirt was taken from a pile of clothes in the wardrobe, the cleaning staff were in the room everyday. The lady manager was in no way interested in the fact our room was robbed, was quiet dismissive of me and directed me tto he police, which was also a journey to avail. Our friends both had 50 euro taken from there rooms while out sking as well, in both cases some money was left behind, from reading other reviews here it seems this is a common trend at this hotel. I could never trust this hotel again.. The hotel was the only downside to a great weeks skinging in Kitsbuhl.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WexfordMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This is a central hotel, very Austrian in decor and service.It's very attractive and well-maintained. We were allocated an apartment in the hotel's carpark (sounds grim, it wasn't!) because we had children with us and it was spacious and clean with a lovely eating area outside - it gave us much more freedom to cook and buy in food, rather than having to eat out each day. We ate in the hotel too and the food was plentiful, varied and traditional. Staff were very pleasant and friendly, as were the guests, with a good mix of European nationalities staying there. Convenient for the shops, bars, cafes and supermarkets and a short walk to the leisure centre, cable cars, play park etc. A good value, authentic hotel, which I would happily recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stop-and-stare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Tenne
Hotel Zur Tenne
#13 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landsitz Romerhof
Landsitz Romerhof
#29 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Weisses Rossl
Weisses Rossl
#27 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Resch
Hotel Resch
#17 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Reisch
Sporthotel Reisch
#10 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Strasshofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Strasshofer

Property: Chalet Strasshofer
Address: Im Gries 14, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Strasshofer 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Strasshofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasshofer Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing