We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great location, 5 star treatment”
Review of Weisses Rossl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Weisses Rossl
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great location, 5 star treatment”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our family of 4 (including teen and preteen) stayed here for 5 nights in adjoining double rooms and loved it - the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. This became very important as I had inadvertently misstated the date of our departure; the desk manager helped resolve the issue so that we were able to enjoy our day and stay an extra evening, even though the hotel was fully booked. We appreciated the problem-solving and helpfulness.
The hotel staff overall is very friendly, rooms are clean and amenities refreshed daily; we loved having the large corner bathtub as well as walk-in shower in the room. The restaurant is excellent both for food quality and service. The pool and spa area is large and the water in the pool is appropriately warm, which is nice for a change from COLD pools.

The hotel has a good ski equipment room and the walk to the Hahnenkamm gondola is only about 6 minutes... although somewhat uphill. It was a little exercise to start the day, after the hearty buffet breakfast.

The only complaint we had was with the smoking in the lobby - we were surprised that this was allowed and although we spent little time in the lobby, the smoke actually drifted into the dining room so that it became uncomfortable towards the end of dinner. Next time I would request a table in the larger room further away from the lobby for this reason.

Overall, a lovely hotel, great staff, wonderful location and we were lucky to have sunshine and good snow, so we were very happy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Californiadreamer227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights in a single room in the fourth floor.
Hotel is pretty close to the ski resort (3 minutes walking distance).
Breakfast is good, so is dinner.
Personnel always friendly.
Do prefer to stay in the single rooms near the pool (-1 floor) if you are travelling alone, as they are more spacy.
Spa is really good and relaxing after a long day skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain_gwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Ideal location & excellent food, if not a little too much... Best breakfast I've had the pleasure of eating. Not sure how this rates for value though as booked by other half and other reviews suggest the sister hotel might be a better option.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_NW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynyard
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I booked this via the resort site and reckon the price was more than fair. Staff were exceptional throughout. The ambiance was nice and the Spa is really superb. I wish I could figure out what all the rooms are actually for in the Spa area - kind of lost in translation (and I did sit in one room for a while and then realise it was a cleaning cupboard.....).

It's seconds from the lovely centre of Kitzbuhel and 5 minutes or less from the Hannenkham lift so effortless for skiing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The Weisses Rossl is one of the two Harisch hotels in Kitzbuhel, the sister hotel being the much better designed "Schwarzer Adler" Hotel 100m down on the same road.

Kitzbuhel itself is a lovely authentic medieval town, with a large ski area of 60 ski runs and 170 km of slopes interconnected by brand new lifts. We had hired instructors from the Red Devil ski school who were brilliant and dedicated and who went the extra length to make sure we would make progress.

The Weisses Rossl hotel is a 7-10 mins walk from the main gondola. The gourmet menu from their restaurant is excellent, although the wine card is a bit limited both on Austrian and French wines. The restaurant staff is very friendly, but unfortunately it does not make it up to a 5* hotel and here are the main reasons:

- the rooms can be a bit old fashion, the flooring squeaky, and the TV sets very old, I could barely read the buttons on the remote. The rooms at the front can be very hot and very noisy if you leave the windows open. No information available on room service (I still don't know if they have one), no newspaper available in the rooms (neither complementary, nor charged for).

- we asked if we could book a massage at the spa, and were told it was fully booked. When we went down to the spa on the day we had requested the massage, it turned out that the spa was actually unattended. There is a nice little swimming pool but there is actually no staff dispensing treatments, it was all empty and dark, and I would have much preferred them to be honest with us about it instead of telling us that the spa was overbooked.

- we booked a 3 day half board package but chose to opt out 1 evening to go to the Neuwirt, the 2 toque Michelin star restaurant of their sister hotel. The food was sublime, the wine list very good. At the time of booking the hotel, we were told we would receive a 25€ "voucher" to opt out of the dinner at the Weisses Rossl and go a la carte to the Neuwirt instead. Upon check out on the last day, this information was first dismissed, and we were finally given the 25€ discount after haggling, which is an embarrassment you don't want to go through if you spend 500€ on a dinner (at their sister hotel).

- Usually hotels in ski towns always have clear weather forecast sheets on their front desk (weather today in town, on the mountain, wind factor and forecast for tomorrow). Here no information was displayed. When asked about the current weather, the staff would turn to the webcam from the mountain relaying some vague information with no details. It is a shame given the detailed information is available on the town website and it would be no effort to put it on a sheet for the guests.

We will definitely go back to Kitzbuhel but to their sister hotel instead. The design there is smart, there was a pianist in the bar and the guests joined in with the songs, it was the perfect atmosphere you want for a ski holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Unrivalled service and all staff charming. Food very high quality although the dining room is far too bright and lacks the quality and style of rival 5 star hotels. Bar very pleasant but if you want fun and a more contemporary style then the Schwartz Adler is superior. Spa good although not all facilities working.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

A good, recently refurbished high end hotel. Great bar, cool cocktails and fabulous cuisine in both restaurants. Fantastic pool and spa. Rooms are as sumptious as you would expect but do not blow you away. Overall an excellent choice but one has to pay for it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probablynotajudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Tenne
Hotel Zur Tenne
#12 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Resch
Hotel Resch
#17 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Reisch
Sporthotel Reisch
#10 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weisses Rossl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weisses Rossl

Property: Weisses Rossl
Address: Bichlstrasse 5, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Weisses Rossl 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Weisses Rossl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisses Rossl Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing