We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel majoring on gourmet food and relaxation”
Review of Weisses Rossl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weisses Rossl
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
London,UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel majoring on gourmet food and relaxation”
Reviewed 11 May 2009

My single room was very comfortable , nicely furnished and with the benefit of a balcony, albeit with a town rather than mountain view. More than adequate for a ski trip, plenty of wardrobe space, a little light on drawer space though.
Hotel has a very well-equipped spa area with a pool and relaxation areas (although time restrictions on childrens' use of the pool were not enforced, a little irritating).
The hotel staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful.
The food - choice and quality - is absolutely excellent and nothing is too much trouble.
Excellent location for the town; the ski lift is a bit further than they like to admit though - and uphill toboot. More like 15 minutes' walk for non-athletic ladies! Despite the excellent heated bootroom facilities at the hotel, I'd recommend using the inexpensive storage at the ski shop at the lift station. The railway and bus stations are also situated at the lifts so, unencumbered by ski kit, one can consider the hotel to be in an excellent position.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limehouse_Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Selected this hotel as the only 5* in the town centre. It is very comfortable and stylish without the opulence and stuffiness one often encounters in 5* establishments. The staff are friendly and professional (particularly in the restaurant), the half board option is excellent - though as mentioned elsewhere extras are pricey. The spa facilities are comprehensive and the single rooms we had were spacious and comfortable.

Couple of tips - the hotel is right in the centre and doesn't have a shuttle to the lifts - hire and leave your kit at the lifts if this is an issue as the walk is around 10-15 minutes slightly uphill. The Andy's Airport Taxi service to/from Salzburg is reliable and reasonable.

Two excellent (though all were good) mountain restaurants are the new but rustic Bärenbadalm and the very old and rustic farmhouse Gasthof Hagstein.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Stayed in a Horn room with balcony. Gourmet dinner is superb. Thought we would tire ot if but it was interesting enough to keep us stimulated every night for a week. Breakfast similarly excellent. Very attentive staff - although there were few guest when we there - could not do enough to help. True five star service. Spa an amazing place.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth Staffs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

I have stayed in many 5* hotels in my time and having 4 children i always slightly worry that the chosen hotel will be able to cater for them but i needn't have worried, the Weisses Rossl was wonderful, the rooms are large, beautifully clean and we had an ajoining room so our children were in a room of their own. The bathrooms are lovely an have corner baths and walk in showers and the rooms have mini bars and balconys, bath robes, slippers, toiletries and fresh towels twice a day. The spa is lovely, the pool warm, with excellent sauna and steam rooms and i had a facial which was as good and professional as i would have expected for a 5*. The food is lovely and you can really dress up or be a little more casual. The best thing about this hotel is the staff, nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff. they organised a baby sitter for our children, and an early dinner for them so we could enjoy evening meal without the children, they are so relaxed but professional, some hotels are just a little irritated with children but in this hotel, they were wonderful with them.This is a place that would suit any family or couple but there are no major things for children to do in the hotel but swim, so if your looking for activities for the kids, this isn't for you. But on saying that Kitzbuhel provides a horse an carriage ride by day or evening, there is an aqua park 5 mins away, the glazier provides snow play and there is a lovely park with swings etc so we found loads for the children to do. The hotel is perfectly appointed in the town and nowhere in Kitzbuhel is noisy. It is true to say that some of the rooms are a not near reception, for me this was a bonus but i guess not for others! Kitzbuhel itself is a gorgeous little town and the locals are hugely proud of it, there are plenty of little shops, but be warned, it isn't cheap. I will go back again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Like a previous contributor, We were 'upgraded' because the Schwarzer Adler was undergoing a major refit. The hotel was very comfortable with fine rooms (though ours was a long way from the reception area) and a very well appointed spa (though many of the rooms were not at the advertised temperature, presumably because there were so few guests). The food was excellent, though there wasn't much choice and it was very 'nouvelle cuisine' in style i.e. small portions).

The real problem for us was the complete and utter lack of a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. It was not a relaxing holiday feel. The service was very formal and, at times, fawning but the staff were cold and distant and did not make us feel at ease. The prices of 'extras' such as wine and water were also very high. I think 9 Euros for a bottle of sparkling water is extortionate, even for a 5 star hotel !

Call us inverted snobs if you like but a transfer across to a different 4 star with more affordable extras and a bit of atmosphere would have been better.

'Upgrading' is not always the best thing that can happen.

  • Liked — Spacious and luxurious
  • Disliked — Formal and lacking atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Crispandeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

The Weisses Roessl is an absolutely fantastic place to stay! Definitely worthy of its 5 star status.
We were originally booked (on a package holiday from the UK) into the sister hotel Schwarzer Adler; but were changed to the Weisses Roessl due to redevelopment work.
We might have expected that we would be treated "differently" than the usual clientel of a 5 star hotel, but nothing could have been further from the truth. We had fantastic rooms - by far the biggest I have ever stayed in; the staff were incredibly friendly from the doorman to management - always wishing us a good day on the way out, and asking how it went on the way back in.
Facilities were superb - pool and spa area are stunning (slight criticism that the water in the pool/jacuzzi could have been a bit hotter!). The food was out of this world - here we had a slight difference to the "usual" guests in that we only had a 5 course dinner instead of 7 courses! Buffet for salads/starters, then soup, then 2 choices of main course - 1 meat/poultry and 1 fish, then dessert, then cheese/pastries/fruit. All to a fabulously high standard. The drinks were pretty expensive (bottles of wine started at about £25 and went a long way up; water £6.30 a large bottle) however we were immediately offered iced tap water the first night, which was then provided automatically each night free of charge. Breakfasts were rolls, bread, pastries, meat, cheese, salad, fruit, cereal, yoghurt and with cooked eggs, bacon and sausage several times during the week. English (and other) newspapers (1 day old) were available in the lounge area.
Overall, it was an amazing place to stay!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

Given the very high standard of Austrian 4 star hotels, a 5 star needs to be something special. The Weisses Rossl is one of only two 5 star hotels in Kitzbuhel, and its outstanding in all respects.
This was my second visit, having stayed their a number of years ago when it was ‘just’ a 4 star. Since then the hotel has had a major renovation and extension , including a extensive Spa area and many new bedrooms (the hotel is now under the same management as the excellent Schwarzer Adler Hotel, which is now undergoing an extension).
It goes without saying the public areas, rooms, swimming pool, saunas and gym are of the highest standard. In common with most hotels in the Tyrol, you can stay on a package that includes dinner. The dinners consisted of a buffet for appetizers, salads, fruit & cheese courses, with fixed soup and dessert courses, and a choice for main course. The variety, preparation and presentation of the meals was outstanding. Breakfasts are the typical Austrian offering, which includes everything you could possibly want, and then some!
The hotel staff were extremely helpful, always greeting you by name, and were very prompt with any queries etc.
This has to be one of the best hotels in Austria.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Johann-Strauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gamshof
Hotel Gamshof
#18 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Greif
Hotel Goldener Greif
#21 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Resch
Hotel Resch
#17 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
0.1 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#16 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Tenne
Hotel Zur Tenne
#14 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weisses Rossl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weisses Rossl

Property: Weisses Rossl
Address: Bichlstrasse 5, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Weisses Rossl 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Weisses Rossl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisses Rossl Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing