We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with excellent kitchen and beautiful spa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schwarzer Adler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schwarzer Adler
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
reet, belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with excellent kitchen and beautiful spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed for three nights in this modern hotel in the center of Kitzbuehel. Although the hotel is located within walking distance of the 'Hahnenkamm' bergbahn, it is better to leave your ski's and shoes in a locker over there :-) Our room was located at the front side. Because of the traffic on the main road it was not possible to sleep with open window.
The quality of the food (both at breakfast and dinner) and the beautiful spa and swimming pool are the main reasons to choose this hotel. We also enjoined our evenings in the bar, with live music by Vlady.
We would certainly stay here again, but probably in another room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fr0764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    62
    28
    7
    15
See reviews for
50
128
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stay away from this hotel, especially if you are a family. The hotel has two swimming pools, but children below 16 years of age are only allowed access to one of them between 10 and 16:00, i.e. not at all if you are in Kitzbühel for skiing. The staff in the SPA department can only be characterized as rude. I was told to leave the swimming pool together with my 11 year old daughter at 16:00 even though there no other users- Otherwise the hotel’s standard is as what you can expect for a 4 star superior hotel (they claim 5 star, but officially only 4 star), but nothing more. So for a family there are much better options than this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked this hotel directly through the hotel website and from the moment we hit "reserve" the amazing experience started. We received our confirmation immediately for our Deluxe Studio room (what a treat!) and the spa services we added on. Having a few questions about our spa appointments, we emailed the hotel and within 24 hours had heard back. Upon arriving after a long day of driving we were greeted by the bellman who promptly took our luggage and parked our rental car for us.
The front desk staff could not have been nicer and spoke perfect english.
The room we booked was absolutely stunning and one of the best I've ever seen. Large, with wall to wall windows looking over the darling town of Kitzbuhel. All of the eating, drinking and shopping recommendations were perfect from the front desk.
We spoiled ourself with a spa afternoon and it really was divine. It felt like we had the entire spa to ourselves - facials, massages and body scrubs - oh my. The spa at the Schwarzer Alder really knows how to do it right - the North American spas should take note.
Our room was very quiet, beds comfortable, exceptionally clean and with a large, spacious bathroom. Plenty of closet space - I could see myself staying at this hotel for weeks at a time and hope to be back in the future.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the Deluxe Studio - you'll never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you want steak and chips, don't stay here. The food is an outstanding example of haute quisine. The dinner set menu consisted of a starter, soup, a salad bar (30 dishes), a main course, pudding and cheese (if you have the room), every one of which was a delight to one's palate. If you did not like an item on the menu, there was no hesitation in finding you something equally good.

We stayed in the Superior Sonnbuhel Room on the first floor - the more luxurious rooms were higher up - but it was quiet, modern, very spacious and well up to a four star accomodation. In fact, we would suspect this hotel will soon get its fifth star and a michelin star for its food.

The hotel is NOT in the pedestrian zone, but on the main road, so try and get a room away from the front. Equally, it is a bit of a trek to the ski lifts (particularly in your ski gear when it will take you a good ten minutes uphill) but the frequent 'Ringbus' will pick you up, at the back of the hotel.

The pool on the roof was an experience, but is not a hot tub and the air temperature was minus 18degC when we stayed. However, this was more than made up for by the main indoor pool, the Spa, the two saunas and the fitness room - all included.

Kitzbuhel is a town that is full of fashion shops and very little else. Equally it does not have much night life, but would we go back to the Schwarzer Adler Hotel again? Too right we would - for that fabulous food!

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony_g_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

So, this hotel is beautifully situated right in Kitz main pedestrian zone - close to all restaurants and bars and walking distance to gondolas. The rooms (even the "old" ones) are spacious and clean. The views are spectacular... the breakfast is plentiful and varied. The service is outstanding. The pool, on a clear day, is an absolutely breathtaking place to spend an afternoon with a libation and some reading material. In fact, EVERYthing about this hotel was top-notch. With ONE exception.... every morning, starting at about 6:30am, the trucks started rolling in... sometimes even earlier. From the garbage trucks, to the grocery store delivery trucks, to whatever, they were there - either on premises or across the street - for HOURS, loading garbage, unloading groceries, whatever. Perfectly quiet at night, but oh boy, watch out after about 5am...... OY! Everything else was outstanding (-:

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cefranzwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Have just returned from a week's stay in this fab hotel. The location was great - close to the centre of town but away from any noise. Food was excellent - we were on half board which we don't normally do as we like to try different restaurants. However I doubt that we would have experienced any better quality of food elsewhere. Even the breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice.

The spa and swimming pools were wonderful. The weather wasn't the best during our week with our fair share of rain so the indoor swimming pool, gym and spa were a great bonus.

The only negative I can comment on was the bed which was somewhat on the hard side!

I would definitely recommend a stay at the Schwarzer Adler.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, with very stylish decor, and the housekeeping, cleanliness and service are excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room did not come with a DVD player, but when we asked if there was a spare one available, it was brought up and installed for us within half an hour.

Unfortunately the hotel is situated right on a busy main road, which is very noisy. Our room was at the front, and although we appreciated the beautiful mountain view, we found the traffic noise troublesome at night, if we slept with the window open.

Our main problem with this hotel was the food. Breakfast is a buffet, with plenty of choice, and that we enjoyed. But all evening dining is "gourmet style" - that is to say, several courses consisting of minute portions, with a lot of attention being given to the artistic arrangement of the food on the plate, intricately folded napkins, etc. Whether you enjoy this type of cuisine, or find it irritatingly pretentious, is a matter of personal choice - but if you are the sort of person who looks forward to a square meal after a day spent hiking in the mountains, I wouldn't recommend dining at the hotel.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that the rooms at the front overlook a busy and noisy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank telsurreyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.4 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 50 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.7 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Kitzbuhel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
0.7 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwarzer Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwarzer Adler

Property: Schwarzer Adler
Address: Florianigasse 15 | 6370 Kitzbuhel, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#11 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Schwarzer Adler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a modest country inn to an award-winning boutique hotel: guests are drawn to Kitzbühel’s Schwarzer Adler for its traditional hospitality, modern architecture, and stupendous views across the entire city from the longest rooftop pool in the Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Schwarzer Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwarzer Adler Kitzbuhel Kitzbühel
Schwarzer Adler Kitzbuhel Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing