We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Classic Austrian Retreat!”
Review of Hotel Bruggerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bruggerhof
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Classic Austrian Retreat!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic week at this Hotel with a large group of guys.
The Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Facilities very good and excellent value.
Food was varied and a high standard catering for most tastes.
The wellness centre really added value not to mention much needed daily relaxation.
It's a short taxi into the town centre or a free shuttle that operates in the morning and afternoon.
The only negative worth a mention was the pipe smoking and cigarette smoke in the bar area. It was not a major problem as you can move to the lounge area to avoid the smog and would only really bother the most sensitive anti smokers or asthmatics.
All told this was an excellent stay and I intend to return ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britabrawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    30
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
36
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Fantastic hospitality, food and facilities at the Bruggerhof. I recommend the hotel to everyone.

The standard room we had in the annex across the other side of the front car park was ideal, because it had its own ski room, so no scrum for the skis in the morning. The room was large and comfortable, although we never used the balcony, because it was winter. We didn't use the shower/bath either, because the wellness facilities were fabulous - they've got to be the largest in Kitzbuhel outside of the public Aquarena.

Klaus was great driving the courtesy minibus; Eric and the other waiters, waitresses and cooks served top quality food and drink with a smile.

It's in a great location IF you don't want the Kitzbuhel nightlife, which was fine for us because after skiing and 2 hours in the wellness we we ready for food and some beers over a game of cards in the bar.

There's a ski hire shop in Reith where you get great equipment, but you need a Maestro card to get the Bruggerhof 10% discount. And the buses to Reith are not that frequent.

If we go back to Kitzbuhel, we'll definitely go back to the Bruggerhof.

Room Tip: The front of the annex had great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaiWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautiful lake district england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

having read the previous reviews unfortunately or maybe fortunately after my bro-in-law had booked our ski holiday we were fearing the worst.... however on arrival, which was delayed from the airport we were welcomed by the propreitor who told us that they had kept the kitchen open especially for us so that we could have the evening meal ! our rooms were fine, clean ,warm and spacious enough. In the morning after breakfast, Claus took us into kitzbuhl, dropping us in the centre, rather than near the lifts ( he's not allowed to take us closer,apparently) which meant about 2-300 metre trek. this was also the pick-up point ;-( we'd booked with Crystal ski and we went on the 'pub crawl' which was actually quite good but did show how lacking in apres ski kitzbuhl is, i personally disagree with the reviewer who thought 'the Londoner' was okay, its not its poor, lacking in atmoshephre and the 'live entertainment' was a joke, there seems to be about 6 bars and we failed to find any really worthy of a visit, nearest was tessa rossa which had a welcoming barman and wifi.
So back to the hotel, i really think that they should provide an intro sheet for various things to help people avoid hiccups. in no order would have things such as.

if you are bothered by the smoking in the bar there is a sitting area opposite which is available, we quite liked the owners pipe smoke but we weren't keen on the large german who smoked a fat cigar every night after dining, but you're in austria and all the bars are like that.

in the sauna, while people may be nude its not complusary but you must sit on a towel
(we got unceremoniously pulled out by the non english speaking attendant,
we didn't know what we'd done wrong.
try to arrive for meals as its put out, or be prepared for good but ambenient fare,
their bain maries don't keep it hot.
another tip we found later in the week is to catch the ski bus @ 8.44 in the opposite direction which takes you to another ski lift which saves walking and is a lot quicker than going into kitzbuhl centre.
we never actually caught the ski bus back and we did find that the hotel bus finished way early at 5pm to be able to have an apres ski drink with no way of arranging a later pick up.
taxi's are unususal as we were charged 15e from the hotel to town which he explained as 3e x 5ppl, but coming back was 8e at 01.30am, which you may think goes against our 'no bars' in town remark but we tried our best to make it better than it really was.
my summary would be, overall good but suited for keen early to bed skiers than anyone looking for a more all-round holiday.

Room Tip: we got one at the back looking over the sport hall, obviously the front would have a better view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

In common with other reviews on this hotel I have mixed views. The staff, in particular, Kirsten, the Receptionist, who speaks good English and also Claus who was very friendly, are pleasant, helpful, efficient and welcoming however despite paying a supplement for a Standard room with balcony we were allocated a very inferior room whilst it would appear the best rooms are kept for guests other than those travelling from the UK. This was the case for all but one couple holidaying with a particular travel company from the UK staying in this hotel and although my husband and myself were offered alternative accomodation it was in an unattractive Annex and was most definately not the hotel accomodation which we had paid for. Besides it is never pleasant to start off your holiday with a complaint! Otherwise the standard of cleanliness in the rooms was very good and the smell of cigarette and pipe smoke wasn't nearly as bad as we had expected from other reviews however the dinners were pretty basic and choice limited especially for vegetarians, salad bar excepted, although the staff were happy to accomodate changes to the menu if requested and the breakfasts were fine ( fresh fruit juices would be much appreciated though! ). Location is another problem. Although we are keen walkers and often choose to stay in a quieter location the distance between the Bruggerhof and the town of Kitzbuhl is too far to get around easily and after a day on the hills the last thing that you want to do is walk, pleasant though it is, for 40 mins back to you your hotel especially if you're carrying bottles of water etc. This meant that we were restricted to using the courtesy bus however the times could be extended as the latest one we could get back was at 5p.m and therefore after our return and any time spent using the Spa facilities we had only dinner to look forward to as it was too dark to walk and too far from town to engage in any social activities without incurring the extra cost of taxi fares. The swimming pool and spa were excellent, the only negative being that the people staying in the adjacent campsite could also purchase passes to use the pool etc so there was no exclusive use for hotel guests. I can understand why this is offered but I would imagine that during peak periods that the pool etc could get unpleasantly busy. We also found that the noise generated by campsite users, including traffic movement, although not bad did sometimes intrude on the peace and quiet of the hotel. In general I would not recomend this hotel because of it's isolated location as much as anything else as you do not get so much from your holiday as you might otherwise do staying elsewhere .

Room Tip: You want a "suite" rather than just a room which varied considerably in presentability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bovaglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were a little worried after reading some of the more recent reviews on tripadvisor but we needn't have been. The hotel is 2 miles from Kitzbuhel but you can walk to the town along footpaths in less than 35 mins but there are much nicer walks into town through the campsite at the back of the hotel which leads right onto the side of schwarzsee lake and then various footpaths take you right into town close by to the church. Walking this way is at least another 1/2 mile but we didn't time it because we often stopped just to take in the scenery. The hotel offers a free shuttle into the town at 8.30 & 9.30 am but you do have to request it. We asked for a lift into town on our first morning and then walked after that. If you wanted to be collected in town in the afternoon you had to pre-book in the morning. This I feel could have been better as the only 2 times were 4.30 & 5.30 pm which was too early for us but we were happy to walk anyway. The bar area can be smokey but most of Austria is like that. I'm quite sensitive to smoke but I could not smell it in the dining area or bedroom and that's all that mattered to me. I ran around the lake in the mornings, ate breakfast and then left the hotel before 9.30 am not returning until after 6.30 pm for a quick sauna/swim then ate supper at 7.30 pm, walked around the lake at 9.00 pm so there wasn't time to sit in the bar area anyway. I made full use of the pool and saunas and the hotel provides an extra towel, bathrobe and slippers for the pool. We had room 122 at the front of the hotel which had dual aspect windows and a balcony. Room was immaculate with comfortable beds, ample storage and a safe. The food was not in the least bland. The chef has worked at the hotel for over 22 years and we enjoyed and looked forward to every meal. This isn't England and they present and cook foods differently to us and I'm always glad of the change. Breakfast was the usual bread rolls, ham, cheeses, spreads, cereals etc, but there were also nuts and seeds, fresh fruit salad a small toaster and hot bacon, sausage and egg to choose from. Beer 1/2l eu3.40 and 1/4l white austrian wine eu5.40 was fair. We walked everyday but booked a trip to Salzburg on Friday via our rep Kim Snow from Crystal (excellent service). We were picked up from the hotel at 9.15 am and dropped back at 5.30 pm for a cost of eu33 each. I would reccommend both the Bruggerhof and Crystal holidays. We stayed from Sat 26th May to Sat 2nd June 2012.

Room Tip: We had room 122 at the front of the hotel. Opposite the main road but with excellent views dual aspe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgedoorsscores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I had a very nice stay at the Hotel Burggerhof but I have mixed views on this hotel.

The good points and there are many:

Hotel staff and owners are very welcoming and helpful
Hotel has outstanding countryside/mountain views unlike anything you would see closer to town
Hotel spa are is 5 star plus new and faultless with lovely mountain views
Hotel rooms (only if you are in the main part of the hotel there is an older part) are spacious
Hotel is very clean
Hotel bar prices are reasonable
Hotel is well priced given the outside space, mountain views and spa facilities
Hotel is in a very peaceful quiet setting so I had a great night sleep

Not so good points:
Not enough transport/isolated
The hotel is a very long way from town with approximately 1 bus per hour which stops running at around 5pm. After that taxis are the only option at approx 12 euros each way. It is a very long walk into town over 30 minutes and it's lovely once or twice but you wouldn't want to do it with skis, kids, equipment, in the dark or after a few beers! So unless you have a car be prepared to spend a lot of time hanging around for buses, hanging around the hotel as there are no buses or taking expensive taxis. This hotel is isolated after 5pm which is great if all you want to do is ski, spa and go to bed early, read and relax.

Poor common ways and full of smoke and the smell of it
After dinner there is literally no where to go in this hotel unless you are retired and don't mind being over powered by smoke. The layout of the bar is such that the bar area is small and it only takes a few people for it to seem crowded. Unfortunately for guests the owners of this hotel hang out in the bar constantly, their presence is the only atmosphere, they smoke constantly and it seems to attract lots of retired people that smoke constantly too so. So all in all it is rather like being in a gentlemans smoking club with zero atmosphere. I guess this is fine if you don't mind smoking and are of retirement age but younger people, couples and families that don't smoke will find that after 5pm when the buses run there is nothing to do and it's an expensive escape! There is plenty of space in the hotel so this could be a really easy fix, all the owners have to do is that the smoking, hanging out and friends off line and into a different space and create a more atmospheric non smoking space for younger people, families and guests.

The smell of smoke in the hotel is so bad it is present in the rooms and in all the bed linen and towels too, which is a shame as it is spotlessly clean and the linen is always fresh.

Limited evening menu, bland and salty
The food in this hotel was ample and plentiful and fine given the price. The breakfast was fine. However the dinner menu was limited, the food was EXTREMELY salty all the time and totally bland. I am not exaggerating when I say that out of 7 dinners there were only 2 that we found enjoyable and it was worse than 7 days of bad school dinners. Fortunately I ate a good lunch, and they had a great salad bar so ate salad most nights. Again this is an easy fix for the hotel, they need to increase the options for main course, increase the quality of the ingredients, use new recipes and decrease the salt. I had a slightly funny tummy during my entire stay at this hotel and I can only put it down to the food. I guess you get what you pay for and overall the food is representative of the price but with a few changes in the kitchen this hotel could score much higher on this front as the restaurant space is lovely.

So would I go back to this hotel?
Yes if I had a car and therefore had the ability to get about easier and to escape the poor restaurant food every night and the uninviting bar. And yes if the owners changed the cook and improved the bar area I would even go back without a car. Otherwise sadly I wouldn't even go back for a budget holiday as the food, bar and no transport combined are too much of a compromise for me and the hotel is cheap but not that cheap. Instead I would choose a cheaper budget hotel in town and pay to use spa facilities elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front or right side of the main building for stunning countryside and mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chalicec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I spent a week at the Hotel Bruggerhof during February half term with my family and my sisters family. Kitzbuhel is fabulous for skiiers and boarders of all abilities and ages, even if half tern the slopes were empty and we were lucky to have brilliant snow conditions. The ski school was fab.

The hotel is outside of Kitzbuhel, but the hotel lays on a shuttle bus to get you to the slopes in the morning and pick you up after a day on the slopes. We were in the annexe, the rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable but need a refurb as 60's decor and our bathroom door didn't close.

Wifi available but you can only access it in the bar / reception which was very smokey, from the owners smoke!!

Meals : breakfast was lovely good variety, eggs & bacon, cereals, fruit, pastries, etc,but coffee was horrible. Dinner was 5 courses lovely food but you were rushed through within an hour, it ststes meal times 6:30 - 9pm but he waiters shift finishes at 9pm so if you arrive at 8pm for a relaxing evening you will be finished all 5 courses by 9pm!! When asked if we could have longer gaps between courses we were told get here earlier.

The wellness centre was lovely and well used by all guests.

Had alovely holiday would go back to Kitzbuhel but would probably stay in Kitzbuhel but would cost more,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Kitzbuehel
Alpenhotel Kitzbuehel
#22 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seebichl Hotel
Seebichl Hotel
#24 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#19 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
1.6 mi away
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
#7 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bruggerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bruggerhof

Property: Hotel Bruggerhof
Address: Reither Strasse 24, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bruggerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bruggerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruggerhof Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing