We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice features and friendly, but a bit far” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bruggerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bruggerhof
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice features and friendly, but a bit far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked this hotel through Crystal Ski (a mistake as they're useless in every way) in January and had a great ski trip. We were in a room in a separate building from the main hotel, which was spacious and comfortable for the 3 of us, very warm and with a nice size balcony. The food is great and you get plenty (too much if we're honest). The wellness centre of the hotel is nice too and perfect after a hard day skiing.

We're told in the summer or when the lake is frozen over (warm weather had prevented this) then this part of Kitzbuhel is ideal. BUT the hotel was a *long* walk from the centre of town and buses are not regular enough, nor is it clear which bus you need to get unless you speak german. The hotel provides a free shuttle after breakfast and at about 4pm which is very kind of them. I would advise hiring a locker at the InterSport by the main cable car - I used this as my base so that I could walk to and from town in comfortable shoes. As for evenings, don't worry about missing out on the nightlife, there doesn't appear to be much of one in Kitzbuhel unless the Hahnenkamm races are on.

Aside from the location, prices in Kitzbuhel can be a bit excessive and the hotel isn't any exception. Beer was around €3.60 which wasn't too bad, but I remember my friend ordering himself two glasses of coca-cola that turned out to be €4.80 *each*. The only other negative aspect of this hotel was the strong smell of pipe smoke in the bar, which whilst there's something almost nostalgic about it for me, at times it could get a little too strong.

Overall we were happy with our stay and we would perhaps visit the Bruggerhof again, but certainly not with Crystal Ski.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raistrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    30
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
35
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

the pool is really really good & brand new 10m *10m. Sauna etc etc excellent. If you are skiing all day, fantastic to plop around in the pool, facilities in general good. Evening food "upmarket school dinner", reasonable choice. Breakfast plentiful, lots of "alpine" kind of stuff to chose from & some cooked stuff. Room comfy & clean, satellite TV a bit limited in English. Wifi good in the bar/lounge. Waiter Service of drinks in the lounge bar (on your room tab) excellent, especially if you can barely stand up after skiing. Decor a bit dated, or rather, retro in an Austrian way, some might say "authentic"
Staff friendly in an efficient "Austrian" kinda way. Courtesy bus driver very good (hint...tip him a bit & he becomes almost a taxi)
A pain in the B** having to wait for a ski bus. Having said that...normal taxi was a tenner (or less) & takes 6/8 people to centre of town
Heated ski room for boots by the way, boots dry & warm in the morning, bliss.
all in all a good experience DESPITE the location

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

do not stay at this hotel if your british,as you will not stay in the hotel you have payed for, you get to stay in there 1star anex ,the room given was not clean there dust above the bed, on the televison, there was sweets under the bed with other rubish from priveouse guest ,the ski room is a shower room would not leave my skis in there, myshed at home is cleaner,the food was ok ,the recptionist was very nice, the owners only spoke if they had too ,othere british guest felt the same way

Room Tip: make sure when booking your holiday your staying in the hotel not a 1star anex
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ss s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kitzbuhel hotels

Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic week at this Hotel with a large group of guys.
The Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Facilities very good and excellent value.
Food was varied and a high standard catering for most tastes.
The wellness centre really added value not to mention much needed daily relaxation.
It's a short taxi into the town centre or a free shuttle that operates in the morning and afternoon.
The only negative worth a mention was the pipe smoking and cigarette smoke in the bar area. It was not a major problem as you can move to the lounge area to avoid the smog and would only really bother the most sensitive anti smokers or asthmatics.
All told this was an excellent stay and I intend to return ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britabrawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Fantastic hospitality, food and facilities at the Bruggerhof. I recommend the hotel to everyone.

The standard room we had in the annex across the other side of the front car park was ideal, because it had its own ski room, so no scrum for the skis in the morning. The room was large and comfortable, although we never used the balcony, because it was winter. We didn't use the shower/bath either, because the wellness facilities were fabulous - they've got to be the largest in Kitzbuhel outside of the public Aquarena.

Klaus was great driving the courtesy minibus; Eric and the other waiters, waitresses and cooks served top quality food and drink with a smile.

It's in a great location IF you don't want the Kitzbuhel nightlife, which was fine for us because after skiing and 2 hours in the wellness we we ready for food and some beers over a game of cards in the bar.

There's a ski hire shop in Reith where you get great equipment, but you need a Maestro card to get the Bruggerhof 10% discount. And the buses to Reith are not that frequent.

If we go back to Kitzbuhel, we'll definitely go back to the Bruggerhof.

Room Tip: The front of the annex had great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaiWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautiful lake district england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

having read the previous reviews unfortunately or maybe fortunately after my bro-in-law had booked our ski holiday we were fearing the worst.... however on arrival, which was delayed from the airport we were welcomed by the propreitor who told us that they had kept the kitchen open especially for us so that we could have the evening meal ! our rooms were fine, clean ,warm and spacious enough. In the morning after breakfast, Claus took us into kitzbuhl, dropping us in the centre, rather than near the lifts ( he's not allowed to take us closer,apparently) which meant about 2-300 metre trek. this was also the pick-up point ;-( we'd booked with Crystal ski and we went on the 'pub crawl' which was actually quite good but did show how lacking in apres ski kitzbuhl is, i personally disagree with the reviewer who thought 'the Londoner' was okay, its not its poor, lacking in atmoshephre and the 'live entertainment' was a joke, there seems to be about 6 bars and we failed to find any really worthy of a visit, nearest was tessa rossa which had a welcoming barman and wifi.
So back to the hotel, i really think that they should provide an intro sheet for various things to help people avoid hiccups. in no order would have things such as.

if you are bothered by the smoking in the bar there is a sitting area opposite which is available, we quite liked the owners pipe smoke but we weren't keen on the large german who smoked a fat cigar every night after dining, but you're in austria and all the bars are like that.

in the sauna, while people may be nude its not complusary but you must sit on a towel
(we got unceremoniously pulled out by the non english speaking attendant,
we didn't know what we'd done wrong.
try to arrive for meals as its put out, or be prepared for good but ambenient fare,
their bain maries don't keep it hot.
another tip we found later in the week is to catch the ski bus @ 8.44 in the opposite direction which takes you to another ski lift which saves walking and is a lot quicker than going into kitzbuhl centre.
we never actually caught the ski bus back and we did find that the hotel bus finished way early at 5pm to be able to have an apres ski drink with no way of arranging a later pick up.
taxi's are unususal as we were charged 15e from the hotel to town which he explained as 3e x 5ppl, but coming back was 8e at 01.30am, which you may think goes against our 'no bars' in town remark but we tried our best to make it better than it really was.
my summary would be, overall good but suited for keen early to bed skiers than anyone looking for a more all-round holiday.

Room Tip: we got one at the back looking over the sport hall, obviously the front would have a better view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

In common with other reviews on this hotel I have mixed views. The staff, in particular, Kirsten, the Receptionist, who speaks good English and also Claus who was very friendly, are pleasant, helpful, efficient and welcoming however despite paying a supplement for a Standard room with balcony we were allocated a very inferior room whilst it would appear the best rooms are kept for guests other than those travelling from the UK. This was the case for all but one couple holidaying with a particular travel company from the UK staying in this hotel and although my husband and myself were offered alternative accomodation it was in an unattractive Annex and was most definately not the hotel accomodation which we had paid for. Besides it is never pleasant to start off your holiday with a complaint! Otherwise the standard of cleanliness in the rooms was very good and the smell of cigarette and pipe smoke wasn't nearly as bad as we had expected from other reviews however the dinners were pretty basic and choice limited especially for vegetarians, salad bar excepted, although the staff were happy to accomodate changes to the menu if requested and the breakfasts were fine ( fresh fruit juices would be much appreciated though! ). Location is another problem. Although we are keen walkers and often choose to stay in a quieter location the distance between the Bruggerhof and the town of Kitzbuhl is too far to get around easily and after a day on the hills the last thing that you want to do is walk, pleasant though it is, for 40 mins back to you your hotel especially if you're carrying bottles of water etc. This meant that we were restricted to using the courtesy bus however the times could be extended as the latest one we could get back was at 5p.m and therefore after our return and any time spent using the Spa facilities we had only dinner to look forward to as it was too dark to walk and too far from town to engage in any social activities without incurring the extra cost of taxi fares. The swimming pool and spa were excellent, the only negative being that the people staying in the adjacent campsite could also purchase passes to use the pool etc so there was no exclusive use for hotel guests. I can understand why this is offered but I would imagine that during peak periods that the pool etc could get unpleasantly busy. We also found that the noise generated by campsite users, including traffic movement, although not bad did sometimes intrude on the peace and quiet of the hotel. In general I would not recomend this hotel because of it's isolated location as much as anything else as you do not get so much from your holiday as you might otherwise do staying elsewhere .

Room Tip: You want a "suite" rather than just a room which varied considerably in presentability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bovaglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Kitzbuehel
Alpenhotel Kitzbuehel
#21 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
1.4 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seebichl Hotel
Seebichl Hotel
#24 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.8 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#19 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Kitzbuhel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bruggerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bruggerhof

Property: Hotel Bruggerhof
Address: Reither Strasse 24, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bruggerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bruggerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruggerhof Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing