We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and a lovely Austrian Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bruggerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bruggerhof
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely location and a lovely Austrian Hotel”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a lovely traditional family-run hotel with stunning views all around. We stayed 2 weeks in August 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. We had a family room on the top floor that was a good size with two shuttered windows and a lovely clean bathroom with two sinks. We had half board and enjoyed most dinners. It took us a while to realise we could ask for something different when our son didn't like the 'grown up Austrian dish' so we asked for chips and you could even ask for pizza, or even ice-cream instead of the other deserts offered on the menu.

The downside was that the campsite is right next to the hotel and during our stay someone had decided to carry out some lumberjack work from 7.30 am on a few mornings. We felt sorry for the campers as they had decided to fell several beautiful firs right next to their caravans early in the morning and carried on chain sawing for several hours later. Surely they didn't need to do it right in the busy summer season! Our room was also near the kitchen (almost above it) so we were woken by the preparation of breakfast on several mornings.

On the good side, we thoroughly enjoyed using the indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi pools, but didn't make it to the sauna area, which looked inviting. The food was very nice, with some dodgy items served (that we weren't used to) such as aspic, but were perfectly fine if you like that sort of dish. The staff who served us were always polite, friendly and accommodating and you could eat as much as you liked for breakfast (lovely fresh bread). As we had a car we felt the location was lovely, off the beaten track and right next to the Schwarz See where you could swim in the dark 'healthy' water. We were able to travel around a lot and made use of the various cable cars in the area and thought Kitzbuehel was really quaint with it's coloured buildings and traditional Tyrolean style houses.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor faced the Wellness Centre so we could hear the breakfast being prepared ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOlliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    30
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
36
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We loved our week at The Bruggerhof!
We had a large room with lovely views of the mountains.
The staff were very friendly and made us very welcome.We enjoyed playing mini golf and pit pat.
The sauna, steam rooms and pool were wonderful!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melaniepile59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here last year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Pool area is lovely really relaxing. Walk around the lake is nice and there is a restaurant near lake which is nice. Hotel restaurant is slightly overpriced.

Really enjoyed our stay here, need to play pit pat as well and mini golf.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyf586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here in early July , and had a wonderful time. Traveled with Crystal SKi, and our experience with them was professional and thorough from beginning to end. Would definitely book with them again.
The staff at the hotel are very efficient, and helpful. My son lost his ipod on the premises, and they were very thorough in helping us find it. Quiet camping site at the back with easy access to lovely walks/hiking trips close to the lake Shwarzsee. The new swimming pool with wide range of saunas/steam rooms is in excellent condition with amazing view of the Alps.
THe breakfasts are buffet style, plenty of healthy choices.
Evening meals were a bit hit and miss, but the children loved it.
It's located abut 15 mins drive from the town of kitzbuhl -but there is excellent train /bus transport as well as hotel shuttle bus, so we didn't find this a drawback.
Caters for all levels of hikers/walkers/cyclists and plenty on site if you want to just kickback and relax;tennis/tabletennis/mini-golf. Wonderful location, good food, (children aged 10 and 7 )

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank niamh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked this hotel through Crystal Ski (a mistake as they're useless in every way) in January and had a great ski trip. We were in a room in a separate building from the main hotel, which was spacious and comfortable for the 3 of us, very warm and with a nice size balcony. The food is great and you get plenty (too much if we're honest). The wellness centre of the hotel is nice too and perfect after a hard day skiing.

We're told in the summer or when the lake is frozen over (warm weather had prevented this) then this part of Kitzbuhel is ideal. BUT the hotel was a *long* walk from the centre of town and buses are not regular enough, nor is it clear which bus you need to get unless you speak german. The hotel provides a free shuttle after breakfast and at about 4pm which is very kind of them. I would advise hiring a locker at the InterSport by the main cable car - I used this as my base so that I could walk to and from town in comfortable shoes. As for evenings, don't worry about missing out on the nightlife, there doesn't appear to be much of one in Kitzbuhel unless the Hahnenkamm races are on.

Aside from the location, prices in Kitzbuhel can be a bit excessive and the hotel isn't any exception. Beer was around €3.60 which wasn't too bad, but I remember my friend ordering himself two glasses of coca-cola that turned out to be €4.80 *each*. The only other negative aspect of this hotel was the strong smell of pipe smoke in the bar, which whilst there's something almost nostalgic about it for me, at times it could get a little too strong.

Overall we were happy with our stay and we would perhaps visit the Bruggerhof again, but certainly not with Crystal Ski.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raistrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

the pool is really really good & brand new 10m *10m. Sauna etc etc excellent. If you are skiing all day, fantastic to plop around in the pool, facilities in general good. Evening food "upmarket school dinner", reasonable choice. Breakfast plentiful, lots of "alpine" kind of stuff to chose from & some cooked stuff. Room comfy & clean, satellite TV a bit limited in English. Wifi good in the bar/lounge. Waiter Service of drinks in the lounge bar (on your room tab) excellent, especially if you can barely stand up after skiing. Decor a bit dated, or rather, retro in an Austrian way, some might say "authentic"
Staff friendly in an efficient "Austrian" kinda way. Courtesy bus driver very good (hint...tip him a bit & he becomes almost a taxi)
A pain in the B** having to wait for a ski bus. Having said that...normal taxi was a tenner (or less) & takes 6/8 people to centre of town
Heated ski room for boots by the way, boots dry & warm in the morning, bliss.
all in all a good experience DESPITE the location

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

do not stay at this hotel if your british,as you will not stay in the hotel you have payed for, you get to stay in there 1star anex ,the room given was not clean there dust above the bed, on the televison, there was sweets under the bed with other rubish from priveouse guest ,the ski room is a shower room would not leave my skis in there, myshed at home is cleaner,the food was ok ,the recptionist was very nice, the owners only spoke if they had too ,othere british guest felt the same way

Room Tip: make sure when booking your holiday your staying in the hotel not a 1star anex
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ss s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
1.8 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
1.8 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#20 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
283 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aurach Hotel
Aurach Hotel
#28 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bruggerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bruggerhof

Property: Hotel Bruggerhof
Address: Reither Strasse 24, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bruggerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bruggerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruggerhof Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing