We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better then expected”
Review of Hotel Zur Tenne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zur Tenne
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“better then expected”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at zur Tenne for the winter holidays and I can say that it was our best winter holiday ever.
The friendliness of the staff ,great service ,excellent food and the best location in town made worth the money .
Despite the fact that in 2 weeks we could ski only 5 days due to the strange weather :rain ,snow and again rain, we did not get bored for one second.We spend nice evenings in the hotel bar that is very lively and sought after by posh people ,austrian mainly ,afternoons in the winter garden with great view of the street with a nice cup of tea and delicious cakes.
Also we had long walks to the Schwartzsee a nice lake near town.
The hotel is sparkly clean ,the renovated rooms are very nice decorated in chalet style with quality furniture and materials.Many hotels have nice rooms an good location but I was really impresed by staff and the discreet and yet effective GM.
As I said friendly and inteligent staff,very pleasant people ,not need to ask something twice ,they don't forget anything and try to help in any way possible made the strongest impression on us.
Another plus ,with one exception all staff is speaking good english, not so usual for Austria or Germany at 4 star hotel.
Actually this hotel deserves in my opinion 5 star I think is a matter of formalities that they did not received yet this qualification.
Congratulations for the GM for having such a nice and effective team rarely seen in european hotel industry.

Room Tip: suites with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saschia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    30
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
50
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We only have eaten lunch at the hotel, but it is so wonderful. They have authentic austrian cuisine and a fantastic location on the walking street. Make sure to stop there if you are in Kitzbuhel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_traveler_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights in March. We paid 350 Euros a night for a room and felt somehow completely ripped off. Things that were for us absolutely incredible for a hotel that pretends to be the best in Kitzbuehel:
> We had a room close to the lift and heard it going up/down the whole night.
> The water temperature in the shower is not stable. It goes from your desired temperature to cold to boiling hot without warning: simply unacceptable! Even a 2 stars hotel in the middle of nowhere in Vietnam for example has a better water system.
> The door system for the wardrobe/cupboard has been designed in such a way that there is a 50% chance that your fingers get pinched when you close it. Both my wife and I have now some red/black marks on our nails.

To be fair, there are also some points:
> The location.
> The very friendly staff. On that point, it seems that the 'ground' staff is much more friendly that the management who seems very full of themselves (that's the polite version).
> The 'rustic Austrian' feel to the rooms.

So all in all, the hotel remains very expensive and absolutely not worth the price they are charging you for it. Told our story to some local Kitzbuehel folks. They told us that Tenne has been know 30 years or so as 'the place to be' in town, but that in recent years the reputation went down and the hotel now pretty much lives only thanks to its glorious past.

All in all, we do NOT recommend that hotel. You could easily get much better and cheaper just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BpkBambang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The nicest attribute of this hotel is the friendliness of the staff. Anticipation was clearly evident and their pleasant manner was almost without exception unforced. Location was unquestionably brilliant, not the greatest for skiing with a 500m clump each morning, but access to the centre made up for that. Worthwhile perhaps to take take advantage of the ski lockers at the cable car or the top of the Hahnenkamm cable car, the latter being the much cheaper option. The restaurants were warm, inviting, served well presented food and the service was impeccable, particularly in the evening.

Two points I would like to see a change on, no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, beds were slightly to firm for my liking. Probably a personal thing as we still slept soundly after a days skiing, and the pillows weren't our choice of style either. We probably could have asked for others but didn't bother.

Leaving the hotel was a dream, car delivered out front from free parking and the road leads directly out of the village.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My partner and I had had a long day skiing and so decided to find a room in Kitzbuhel to stay overnight. We noticed the Hotel zur Tenne while walking along the main street and thought it looked lovely so decided to ask if they had a room available. My boyfriend speaks fluent German but the friendly reception staff spoke some English too and we were relieved when they had a room for us. Quite expensive but Kitzbuhel is expensive generally and we did arrive without a booking so that was to be expected. The double room was huge, beautifully decorated and very clean - same goes for the spacious bathroom. The breakfast was amazing, loads of choice, friendly waitress and a lovely dining area (we ate in the conservatory which overlooked the main street). I would not hesistate to recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back if I am ever in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elegantly_wasted22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The hotel surpassed any expectations, the rooms were big and well luminated and ventilated. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way top make our stay even more comfortable. The breakfast is ample and fresh with loads of local varieties. The staff all spoke English. The Housekeeping was very attentive adn came to the room after everytime we used the room and fixed it up again. OVERALL GREAT.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Zur Tenne should not be classified as a 5 star hotel --- but off-season, the price is right and some of the staff are very helpful. The bathroom in our room had a terrible odor and this was one of the “newly renovated rooms”. It did not look or feel newly renovated. Make note of the fact that the hotel does NOT have air conditioning, so do not go in the dead of summer. The breakfasts were good, the location is great and the town is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.7 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.3 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Tenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Tenne

Property: Hotel Zur Tenne
Address: Vorderstadt 8-10, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zur Tenne 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zur Tenne, sister property of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof in Munich, is located in the heart of Kitzbuhel's old town. 51 Spacious rooms and suites are decorated in a cosy country house style, many of them include an open fireplace. 4 Conference and banqueting rooms with daylight and a total capacity of 400 guests offer the perfect framework for creative meetings, unforgettable parties, events or presentations. Awarded with one toque and 14 points by Gault Millau, the restaurant offers culinary delicacies for everyone's taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zur Tenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Tenne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing