We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok... here we go.”
Review of Hotel Zur Tenne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zur Tenne
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

decent quiet hotel, well located for skiiing. restaurant staff excellent, great breakfast even for a ravenous celiac on a skiing holiday. they have a small infra-red sauna which in my experience elevates them a great deal as its a rare but relevant offering for a hotel in an area where serious injuries commence with ruining travellers health. 2 types of patron - stuffy, arrogant germans characterised by plastic surgery as much as laughable self importance. people, wearing fur doesnt make you special. at least now i know where the bad rap comes from when people make fun of germans. second patron the rich russian, yes they do rather stand out a bit BUT while they get a bad rap, their self awareness may be a little rough around the edges and they spend money like water on things mere mortals cannot afford, i didnt mind them - they were pleasant and quiet. unlike the german men who woke the village every night when the bars closed, singing, hooting and even fighting. note to self - never try to run away from an attacker wearing your skiboots on COBBLESTONES.

would i stay here again? probably not. our train departure was 1 hour after we were due to check out and despite the extremely quiet, snowless weekend, sunday departure and week long residence the guy at the desk refused to extend a crucial hour so i could nap prior to leaving - which i needed after waking every night to aforementioned midnight morons. so, son and self left our gear in the lobby, wandered around the village until departure, went off to board the train only to find that having originated in italy it was late. we spent 2+ hours lying in the sun on the platform waiting in hope and eating gummi bears by the fistful. was tired by the time we got home - possibly the gelatine/ sugar overload - definately not what one expects after a relatively expensive week away. the guy at the hotel desk may have been critically stupid when it mattered most but the train, well, my beloved germans rose to the occasion and made it back almost on time - was well impressed with the train journey and the very kind, helpful people we met along the way. (kitz village excluded for its restaurant & service staff who wear bad attitude like a red badge of courage while serving food well below global par). does the highly rated kitzbuhel fill my heart the same way less convenient, uber-chilled wengen does? not even close. which is really too bad, because it is very easy to get to and could be so great.

Room Tip: rooms very warm in winter, make sure you know how to turn down the heating so you arent sleeping wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in December on the Mercedes Benz Bavarian Road Trip plan. The hotel was fully decorated and quite lovely. Our room was large with a carved four poster bed...large dining area inside the room with fruit with greeting from the hotel. Plenty of room for skis in designated closet and plenty of area for group socializing before or after your ski day. Dinner in the restaurant was one of my favorite meals of the entire journey. Breakfast buffet was very good had a large variety, fresh hot was hot and cold was cold which is always nice! I have nothing negative to say about it other than it was a National Holiday and the city was shut down so we were unable to enjoy the lovely community..not the hotels fault! The decorations for Christmas were lovely adding to the already wonderful charm. I would definitely return .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hortonms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am only reviewing the restaurant. I came to the restaurant twice with business clients and we absolutely love this place. We ordered traditional Austrian food and all the dishes were very tasty. The service is top notch. The prices are rather steep though. The restaurant is relatively quiet and the atmosphere is suitable for business dinners. My business clients were very impressed with the hotel in general and we are happy to have hosted them there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stray_vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Hotel Zur Tenne is located on a beautiful and cozy main street in the city center of Kitzbuhel, and just a few minutes' walk from the ski-lifts. Rooms are spacious and quiet, however, those old rumpled pillows need to be changed. Excellent breakfast and quite decent dinner in the restaurant. Absolutely outstanding staff, special thanks to the boys in the lobby bar and bellboy, who supported me with my broken hand. The only, but significant disadvantage is the absence of free wifi. Considering the price of a room, it is shameful to ask money for wifi use, while the public computer is so slow that it is unusable. I really hope that these problems are going to be fixed. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sten-Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel Zur Tenne was just perfect for a last minute, impromptu stop between Munich and Salzburg. It's a smaller, boutique hotel but doesn't feel like one. The rooms are spacious with lovely, comfortable decorations. My friend and I had a room overlooking a quiet, snow-covered street in the charming village of Kitzbuhel.
The floor where our room was located also had a spacious common room for reading and gathering. The morning breakfast in the atrium is divine and not to be missed. The hotel also has a very good restaurant, as well. Patrons can choose between a formal dining room or the more casual tables in the bar area. Just a warning, though. Folks are allowed to smoke at the bar & tables and it was overwhelming while trying to eat.
I fell in love with Kitzbuhel and with this hotel. I shall return because one night was not enough.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

There may not be as many business visitors in Kitzbuhel as there are skiers and tourists, but on a recent business trip I thoroughly enjoyed the location, ambience and hospitality of the Zur Tenne. No problems with the essentials of completely professional staff and comfortable, quiet rooms. In addition, the staff's friendliness and the cosy furnishings combined to help me switch off at the end of a busy day. A kettle was provided for my tea habit upon request.

There is a terminal for free internet access but it isn't as convenient as direct access. That costs extra and I'm not in favour of that in any hotel these days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryWatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel, rooms were beautiful, staff outstanding!!!! We were close to the slopes and the town was like stepping back in time. Beautiful archetecture. A once in a lifetime adventure!!! So excited to go to Baden before we head to Italy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoltinJoeOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.6 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
0.6 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
0.5 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Tenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Tenne

Address: Vorderstadt 8-10, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: £168 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zur Tenne 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zur Tenne, sister property of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof in Munich, is located in the heart of Kitzbuhel's old town. 51 Spacious rooms and suites are decorated in a cosy country house style, many of them include an open fireplace. 4 Conference and banqueting rooms with daylight and a total capacity of 400 guests offer the perfect framework for creative meetings, unforgettable parties, events or presentations. Awarded with one toque and 14 points by Gault Millau, the restaurant offers culinary delicacies for everyone's taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Zur Tenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Tenne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing