We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special!”
Review of Erika Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erika Hotel
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2008

We first stayed at Hotel Erika four years ago when our children were 10 and 11. They declared it to be the best hotel ever so it was with some trepidation that we went back with them as teenagers - would it live up to expectations? I am happy to say that it did.

This is a family run hotel and has been owned by the same family for many decades. This gives it a very special and slightly quirky charm. It is a hotel with great personality and for that I readily forgive it a few oddities. The owners are very hands on and quite delightful, they have put together a well trained and very professional staff who make it a pleasure to stay here.

The buildings have been extended in different directions over the years which gives the hotel a rather eccentric layout. The family rooms we have stayed in are not huge but perfectly adequate, with sliding doors separating the main bedroom from the living room with its fold out beds. There is one good sized bathroom with a separate toilet.

The indoor swimming pool is adored by children as it is a good size and has a water slide. It is also open 24 hours.

The great success on both visits has been the food. The hotel does half board and it is to be highly recommended. There is also a substantial afternoon tea offered in the conservatory. The breakfasts and dinners are superb. Some of the food is buffet but it has been done with great care and thought and is of a very high standard.

The hotel is on the edge of town, about a five minute walk to the main shoping area. We were on a skiing holiday and chose to walk to the gondola where our skis were stored which took us about 15 mins, although the hotel does offer a complimentary taxi service to the gondola.

The only quibble we had was the lack of wireless internet. The hotel has only one basic coin operated computer which is in the bar. This is no good for booking onward travel!

But all in all we loved Hotel Erika and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Coopers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2008

Stayed in Erika last week

I don't think this hotel deserves it's 4 stars. I was quite disappointed to find out that:
- the evening service is very clumsy
- no room service available; no breakfast in the room
- very noisy (I didn't hear the road but the neighbors and people walking in the corridor)
- the bathroom was not very clean
- no shampoo in bathroom! had to wash my hair with soap!
- bath towels are a bit worn-out

The clear + is the breakfast buffet: very good choice and quality. Excellent home made bread

I guess it is a good choice if you only want to be near the center/ski slopes and are not asking for too much refinement/service

PS: I didn't test the spa

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

I am staying at this hotel now. We first visited it 14 years ago and it is still run by the same family . They have expanded the hotel a lot and I feel the meals are not as good as they used to be. I have to agree on things being spicy and there really is very little choice. Main course really is the only choice now and there used to be a table groaning with desserts. Now there is one plus a choice or icecream and fruit salad. Breakfast this morning they ran our of fruit salad and scrambled egg and I gave up waitinf However the place is still spotless. We have a suite which is lovely but get a good bit of traffic noise and it has been very hot some nights. With no air con thinner duvets would be good. The staff are lovely our waitress , Guta , is a gem and helped my husband to finish his dessert as he had missed a bit. !
Do use the train to visit local resorts like Zell am See and St. Johan and you can use the busses as well, There are lovely walks here but prpare for a day of unrelnting rain now and again. Locaö shops are very expensive so best just to look .
Austria is really lovely if you get the weather and this is a good hotel

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank eleanorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Erika for a week and really enjoyed our holiday. It is located next to the main road with runs through Kitzbuhel but we did not find this to be a problem, except when relaxing in the garden when we could hear some traffic noise. We booked a suite which was at the rear of the hotel, it was very comfortable and clean. We booked direct with the hotel rather than using a tour operator which was very straightforward.

The hotel is very 'Austrian' and family run and proud of it, although all the staff speak good English and there were many British guests in the hotel during our stay. There are many friendly family touches which you simply wouldn't get in chain hotels. I do agree with a previous reviewer though, that returning guests are treated with an extra 'something'.

The food is very good, it is not international haute cuisine, but includes many Austrian dishes. There are choices within the 5 course evening meal but not at every course. Breakfast buffet was a delight - so much to choose from.
The hotel has a good range of leisure facilities, 2 indoor pools, an outdoor pool, sauna, etc - not bad considering it has less than 50 bedrooms.
And finally, it is worth mentioning that free soft drinks are available during the day and from 3pm - 5pm there is afternoon tea too (no extra charge) which is very welcome after a days walking in the mountains!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2007

We have just returned from this hotel and were a little disappointed after reading all the good reviews here on this site. Yes they had lovely gardens but the hotel website and photos cleverly hide the fact that it is on a very busy road and is noisy. This is obviously more of a problem in the rooms nearest the road. Our room was smaller than we imagined but still nice. We also seemed to be the only room in the hotel which had air conditioning which was a blessing as the weather was very hot. However, other guests were complaining they could not sleep at night due to the heat in their rooms. The leisure facilities are really nice and the spa lovely. The food is good but the chef favours spicy things and even the carrot and corriander soup had what appeared to be chilli flakes in it and brought us out in a sweat! However, we noted that portion sizes did vary if the resturant was busy. We noted that on more than one occassion we had half the portions of other guests served before us for instance only one small fillet of fish rather than two or a pudding which had been obviously cut in half as they had run out. Since it is not the cheapest of hotels we thought this was a bit cheeky to say the least. Our advice would be to get to dinner early! Breakfast was good though, and the staff very friendly and polite. I think this hotel tends to favour those who go back year after year rather than the average guest passing through. On the whole we had a nice time but may try a different hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank shellyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Wonderful hotel with the some of the best staff we have ever had, The resturant with four courses each night is something to look forward to after a busy day ski-ing. Breakfast buffet had everything and more to set us up for a day on the slopes. The rooms are excellent so clean and well appointed. The owners made a real effort to ensure our stay was comfortable, loved the two pools. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank inclineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

We have just returned from a wonderful week stay at the Erica [--], where pets are allowed (our first time in this hotel).
The hotel is quite, beautiful and with a different style (like a small castle) when compared to the traditional Tyrolean chalets.
It is within easy walking distance of the city centre and pedestrian shopping street (about 5 minutes) and the ski area, 10 minutes by foot.
It is family run and the people at reception were always very friendly and helpfull.
The owners are very welcoming and always on hand to ensure that guests get the best out of their stay.
Our standard room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet, with an excellent big bathroom and double wash basins too.
The meals included in the forfait were excellent with plenty of variety and all of a very high standard, better than many other 4 star hotels in Austria.
The breakfast buffet was super and extensive with a lot of choices, supplemented by hot dishes cooked to order.
Refreshments (from 15.30 to 17.00) are provided in the form of a buffet when you come back in the afternoon, with coffe – tea – juices - cakes – speck - cheese ecct.
Moreover free soft drinks are available all the day from the buffet
A very sumptuous 4 course dinner was served in the pleasant main dining area with same waiter during all the week.
Excellent and well served dishes plus a big buffet with a lot of salad, fruits and ice cream too.
In the evening 2 big reading areas are available.
The facilities (free of charge) are excellent:
- a gym with a lot of machines,
- sauna, steam and turkish bath,
- solaruim with very comfortable water’s mattresses,
- a very pleasant and lovely garden with sunloungers, big terrace and patio too,
- 2 swimming pools (indoor), one with a very large jacuzzi,
- one small swimming lake,
- a player room for childrens.
At payment:
- a beauty clinic,
- a internet point.
Moreover you may rent free of charge:
- bicycles,
- hiking equipment,
- golf sets.
The hotel arranges free of charge every day hikes or cycle rides for the guests.
At payment golf days and excursions
A fantastic experience in our favorite hotel in the world,
We will definitely go back again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank ghega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.4 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.4 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
0.2 mi away
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erika Hotel

Address: Josef-Pirchl-Strasse 21, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#9 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#12 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: £281 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erika Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Erika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erika Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing