We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly family run hotel”
Review of Erika Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erika Hotel
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I must say we were rather apprehensive having read the previous review. We had booked a junior suite direct with the hotel because most trip advisor clientele were enthusiastic but we need not have worried. This is an excellent hotel!

Our room was large with slightly 1990's decor, but everything worked and was spotless. The bed was very comfy and we did not find the lack of air-conditioning a problem - just open a window and let in the cool mountain air!

The family who own the hotel are ever present and very friendly and helpful. Facilities are good with a better than average gym and excellent spa area which includes a steam room, two saunas and hammam. This was always working during the advertised times of 3-7pm.

An afternoon tea is provided and is free. The breakfast buffet is excellent with freshly cooked eggs and bacon if you want it. The five course evening meal was also excellent and included a choice of 3 main courses (one of which is vergitarian) and and a comprehensive salad buffet. Service was first class.

We had free use of the garage with a named reserved space which was a nice touch.

It may not be the best hotel in Austria as a previous reviewer has said but it must be one of the best 4 star hotels in Austria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Staying in one resort for one week was a first for us so it was important to get the hotel and its setting right after 15 years of 2 centres.When we arrived only the barman was their to greet us and it was only 8-00 pm not a great start and even then he was reluctant to show us to the room.In the room it was a reasonable size plenty of space for clothes but no fridge bearing in mind Austria was in the middle of a heat wave.Went down for dinner ;not much left on the salad buffet at that time and the meals as in most of the 2 weeks were a little bland and repetitive to say the least i suppose you had the salad buffet to go back to.The first nights sleep we were woken at about 6-15 am by barking dogs this was a regular theme with the owners ;they had 2 dogs who went everywhere the kitchen ;the dining room etc.The first breakfast was like the rest really plenty of choice ; fruit ;bread ;yoghurts; eggs ;bacon. and continental breakfast plenty of choice and well served by the staff.The first full day we went up the Kitzbuhelerhorn and walked down so on our return decided to do a warm down in the small gym i was shocked to discover someone had been on the bike left seat all over the floor and the seat and the handles of the bike [ disgusting].Having cleaned the mess up i did a 30 minute warm down ready for the sauna and a swim ;sadly the sauna and steam room where not on .When the question was asked of reception they told us we had to ask for those facilities to be put on.When you pay for facilities you expect those facilities to be working [ the steam room wasn't put on once in a two week stay.Even then i had to ask for the sauna to be put on.As for the staff most of them where helpful we had one waitress for the 2 weeks except for the last 2 days when the service and standard of service took a nosedive.On an evening we discovered you could get a free glass of Austrian wine red/white or beer or even fruit juice which was a nice touch sadly one evening we were presented with one glass of each in a red hot glass no surprises then they remained un touched.our final night the best food was saved till last a wonderful meal served and washed down with a world class bottle of Austrian Zweigelt [red wine].Sadly our new waitress decided to thrown the wine on to the table instead of the glass ;quite clearly the young lady looked nervous pouring the wine and opening the wine.Still the wine and food were great.I read reviews claiming this hotel to be a 5 star [no way] or even the best hotel hotel in Kitbuhel[no].One final thought the hotel put on a wine tasting for the guests to sample Austrian wine from the different regions.
Only one glass was used for the white wine no bread was served with the wine and no water either to clear the glasses of the previous taste of a different grape.All in all a pleasant stay good staff ;sad about the dogs barking every morning very early we certainly didn't need an alarm clock a 4 star rating yes but 5 star no way.We made the best of the 2 weeks as we know Kitbuhel well and enjoyed all the festivities ;would i stay at this hotel again-unlikely

Room Tip: book a room at the back to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank koverto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just returned from two weeks in the Erika and are already planning our return visit.
The Schorers and all the staff couldnt have been more warm, welcoming and helpful.
The room was fantastic with great views we could see both the Kitzbuhler Horn and the Hanhekamm!
There is a set menu as a previous reveiwer mentions, however there is choice within it and in the course of two weeks we never had the same menu twice, quite an acheivement. I am vegetarian and found plenty of interesting and innovative food - the spicy banana soup is to die for!
The facilities are great with three pools in total, although we were never brave enough to try the outside 'bio' pool other guests did whilst we were there and really enjoyed it.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, single, couple or family as the facilities, food and welcoming family atmosphere will meet all needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have just had a week in this hotel in Kitzbuhel. We had 1 or 2 issues with it. Firstly the week we were there the weather was very warm, but no air conditioning in rooms, and if there was in the dining room it was never used. The food we had was well cooked and well presented but it was a set menu, surely in this day and age a choice could have been available. Also the second day we were there we were informed at breakfast that if we wanted an omlette it would be an extra 2 Euros!! Why? Surely making an omlette is no more work than frying a couple of eggs, which they did at no extra cost. The best thing about the restaurant was our waitress Adelina, she was a gem, nothing was too much trouble and she was so friendly, she was a pleasure to know. In the information book it said you could pay you bill daily if it was better for you. When we tried this we were told it was easier for them if it was left until the end of the week. We insisted as it was better for us to do it dauly. On the Saturday night we had a problem with children running around, up in the lift, then running in a circle around the corridor. These were the grandchildren of the owner! I am sure guest's children would not have been allowed to do this. Finally, two dogs roaming around, which belonged to the owner (it was a dog friendly hotel) they tried to get in to the dining room. Not everyone likes dogs, friendly or not. The hotel was lovely and clean, and the afternoon tea was very gratefully received.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Well worth a 5* rating. The warmth of the welcome from the owners and entire staff team is matched by the comfort of this hotel. We enjoyed very pretty gardens and conservatory, high quality pool and spa and a well furnished bedroom. The food was plentiful and cooked to a very high standard.
We really enjoyed Kitzbuhel. The hotel gave easy access to the town centre two summer time cable car lifts which accessed fabulous views and a range of great walking. I hope to return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

friendliest hotel owner and staff I have met in an Austrian hotel. All the waitresses were happy and smiley . only 5 minutes on foot to the town centre free taxis in the morning to the lifts. food good especially afternoon teas. great pool area and unlike a lot of hotels it was warm enough to swim in ,selection of saunas to choose from. Only negative was the carpet in our room was getting a little worn. would stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank archiem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This really is a first class hotel and we have never stayed in a hotel and had such great service from everyone working in an establishment from the owners and their employees. We arrived around 8:45 in the evening and Uschi Schorer the owner ushered us straight through to our room and told us to have our meal before checking in as we were tired and hungry. Though the room was wonderful, I found the noise from the road to be slightly annoying ( I am a very light sleeper and it wouldn't normally affect the average person). The next morning we asked if we could move rooms - we could not believe that the owner straight away took us to the other side of the hotel and showed us to our new room without even a hint of annoyance! This was room 43 by the way and we found we had a deer and its young ones walking up to our balcony or peering through the window waiting to be fed and stroked!!!!(this room backs into the mountain). Again the owner said we should take apples from the breakfast spread to feed them! The place itself is around 10 minute stroll to the Hahnenkamm or there is a free taxi service in the morning which takes around 5 minutes. This is good because you are slightly out of the noisy centre.
The hotel has a fantastic sauna area with 2 large saunas one with 60ish degrees and the other 90ish degrees. There are also a number of steam rooms and 2 small swimming pools. Oh and there is an outside natural plunge pool with small waterfall - 'invigorating' - if you dare!!!!!!.
The food at breakfast is fresh and plentiful and the waitress will cook you a fried egg 'sunny side up' and perfect every time! The bread is delivered every morning and is yummy! Evening meals were a set menu of 4 courses plus an amply stocked salad and cold meat bar each night. The food was served hot and always looked appealing - sadly I am no connoisseur of fine food but we always thoroughly enjoyed the dishes and also the translated menus were a source of amusement and talking point! There is also a chilled area with ice cream and various cut fresh fruit if you dont fancy the dessert or you have children with you - I believe they will cook simple food for your kids if they are fussy eaters like my kids were! One other plus point is that between 3 and 5 o'clock they lay out a spread of cakes, cold meats and sometimes soups and even a chilli con carne one day along with tea, coffee and juice which is great after a long day skiing, walking or shopping and all for free!
This has been a quite detailed report as I have really never stayed in such a welcoming and friendly hotel as this - if your looking for a quality, well run hotel in Kitzbuhel seriously think of choosing this one - and it has its own locker room for your skiing gear and will supply you with walking shoes and maps etc if your going in summer. Just Brilliant!

Room Tip: 43 is a quiet room with a chance to get friendly with the deers and 24 had great views over to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonnyconcrete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.4 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.8 mi away
Seebichl Hotel
Seebichl Hotel
#21 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#19 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bruggerhof
Hotel Bruggerhof
#37 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erika Hotel

Address: Josef-Pirchl-Strasse 21, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#9 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#12 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: £266 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erika Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Erika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erika Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing